1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Modding Q&A

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Oni Ryuu, Feb 1, 2017.

  1. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    The landmine unit was totally ineffective.
     
  2. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Is it worth changing the craters graphic to landmines and only allow minelayer units to create craters. I have no idea if craters can be set to a negative defence bonus but I know that they increase the movement cost and remove the terrain improvement. I know just building road will remove the craters but it’s another way to slow the enemy down. If anyone has any applicable information on craters I’d like to see how plausible this is.
     
  3. tom2050

    tom2050 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    Here was an old thread on craters, i read through it, most of it is accurate for C3C..
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/craters.101921/

    That is an interesting idea, :D to have a minelayer bombard do that and show a minefield. Although that minefield crater graphic wouldn't be functional to blow units up, it would slow down movement and acts kind of like pollution does. Along with that, maybe have the minelayer enslave an immobile "minefield" unit set to defense. If you give that immobile minefield unit the ability to pillage, it could pillage improvements, and I believe the AI will actively use it to do so.
     
  4. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Hi tom2050, thanks for the reference. I went through the thread and couldn’t find any practical information. Do you remember what kind of movement penalty it is for craters (set number, double terrain, uses all moves)? I’m fairly confident that we’ll be able to change the graphics but; the only way I can imagine altering the stats for craters is if they have a relationship with another (adjustable) feature of the game.

    It’s beginning to look like a job for more testing.
     
  5. tom2050

    tom2050 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    I think it just removes the road / railroad movement bonus, so the underlying terrain would apply. But if i remember, bombard will destroy a road first anyways. If you build a road on top of a cratered land, I cannot remember if that clears the crater or not.

    Yea, may need to test!
     
  6. tjs282

    tjs282 Un(a)bashed immigrant

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,508
    Location:
    ...just here for the job/ handouts/ woman
    In the epic-game, bombardment of an empty tile (or a tile with a redlined unit(s) if bombard=non-lethal) removes Rails on the first hit, then Roads+Mines/Irrigation on the second hit (leaving Craters if that flag is set for that bombard-unit), then Fortresses (possibly also Radar-towers, not sure) on the third hit.

    And yes, IIRC, re-building a road over the Cratered tile, also clears the Craters (same as for roading over town-ruins).
     
  7. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Thanks guys. I take it you didn't find any information on movement cost?
     
  8. Jorsalfare

    Jorsalfare Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    Kingdom of Norway
    Craters and ruins are just visual overlays on tiles without improvements. They doesn't affect the movement rate (or food/shield/gold production) for the tile. Building any improvement will remove the crater/ruins from that tile.
     
  9. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Thanks Jorsalfare. That's the info i needed but it means that we can't use this method for mines.
    I'm all out of ideas for now.
     
  10. Jorsalfare

    Jorsalfare Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    Kingdom of Norway
    Just an idea.... What if your landmine in addition to HN, immobility and invisibility has cruise-missile flag? With range=1 it would be able to target neighbouring tiles. It would be a one-shot weapon like a landmine, and would consume one whole movement point from the attacker, and possibly also inflict some damage. A stack of such "landmines" would severly hamper an enemy advance. I don't know if AI would build and use such a unit, though, but fuad posted some results of tests with an enslaved unit with cruise-missile flag, and he says AI uses them very well.
     
  11. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Having hidden nationality and zero health seams to remove the “defensive bombardment only” and “zone of control” features from the unit.

    The point is to stop, slow or restrict the movement of an entire (land based) army.

    Fuad’s missile is basically the same as the roadside bomb. I couldn’t find a role for them (other than as an impractical secondary unit) so haven’t included them In my game.

    A unit needs to be immobile but deployable, semi-permanent, able to damage several units (in 1 turn so no forlorn hope like with none ZOC artillery) and defensive bombardment only.

    I’m rethinking the idea to make fortresses and barricades negative tile bonuses.

    Fortress - Landmines
    Barricade - Devils Playground

    You can fill the map with then (land and sea, I think), they slow and weaken the occupying units, workers and military units can build them and they can be restricted to a resource.

    If anyone's willing to do the graphics this is the layout.
    upload_2017-5-1_10-35-27.png
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2017
  12. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Does anyone have any generic era splash pcx files? I'm still using paint and it alters the image when it saves usually messing with Civ transparency colours.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2017
  13. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,060
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    Not sure what you mean by "generic". But if you can post the images you want to use (RGB mode is fine) I can convert them for you.
     
  14. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    HI Blue Monkey
    Sorry, I meant Science Advisor (tech screen). The original Civ ones or any none-themed ones are fine; I just need them without guiding arrows. I’m not interested in adding my own tech arrows.
    If you’re still happy to help, I’ve attached the original Science Advisor PCX’s.
    Download
     
  15. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    I believe I do, or at least I have made a pretty convincing looking C&P hack.

    I'm traveling at the moment, and don't have access to my files, otherwise I would have sent it to you, but I do recommend either upgrading from paint, or adding a pallet modifying tool to your kit, if anything so you have a much greater control over the pallets rather than defaulting to the standard 256 color scheme.

    I personally use Irfanview, and I use that as the main pcx viewer. If I need to do anything specific with it, I export it to a .bmp file, export the pallet, do whatever modifications to the .bmp in paint and save, open it up in Irfanview, and re-import the pallet.
     
  16. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Thanks Bluemofia. That’ll be quite useful.

    I decided to make the landmine graphics. They’ll do until I know that negative stats work.
    upload_2017-5-2_14-53-16.png
    Download
     
  17. wuhjah

    wuhjah Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    511
    Maybe these can work until you get something more suitable. (I'm not sure whether your terrain buildings file was game ready or not. I didn't test it, but just set the palette in case that's what you were needing.)
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Hi wuhjah.
    I tested the graphics for the TerrainBuildings.pcx earlier without any problems. I haven't tested the effects of applying negative bonus stats yet.
    The blank science adviser screen is much appreciated.
    Thank you

    Edit: It looks much better now.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2017
  19. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Does anyone have a program or method to reorder your list of units (tech’s, buildings etc. would be nice) in the editor? It takes about 10 days to manually retype all of the information from scratch and it’s horrific.
    .
     
  20. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,857
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth

Share This Page