1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

New Features & Fixes

Discussion in 'Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL)' started by EmperorFool, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    I recently added a community mod to add 100% and 0% buttons for each :commerce: rate on the main screen (General : Min/Max Commerce Buttons). They are the outermost buttons (far left/right) in the screenshot below. When I get time to convert all the BUG buttons to theme-based, I'll add new images for them.

    Today I added an option (General : Gold Rate Warning) to display your :gold:/turn in yellow if it is negative but won't take you below 0:gold: this turn.

     
  2. dirtyparrot

    dirtyparrot Upholding Brannigan's Law

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,841
    EmperorFool, the City Planning tool looks great, but I'm a complete noob to modding. Quite frankly I'm surprised that I got the BUG mod installed. I don't intend on installing many other additional mods, but would really like to have the city planner tool. I feel like I'm over my head in this. I'll list the details below and hopefully you can give me a step-by-step instruction of how to do this.

    I've installed the BUG mod to my C:\Program Files\Firaxis Games\...\Beyond the Sword\Mods directory. So, obviously I need to load the Bug Mod from the game menu each time I want to use it.

    I've also installed TurtoiseSVN program on my computer as it appears that I need that as well, although I'm not sure exactly what it's for (seems like some type of updater).

    Once again keep in mind that I'm a complete noob in this. Thanks in advance.
     
  3. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,800
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    if you only play single player, I would install BUG under customassets in the 'my docs' BtS folder. That will give you BUG without the need to load it as a mod.
     
  4. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    See the first post in the Downloading thread for instructions on using SVN to get the latest version of BUG. Note that we are planning a 3.6 release very soon (1 week I hope), so you may just want to wait for a nice installer.
     
  5. dirtyparrot

    dirtyparrot Upholding Brannigan's Law

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,841
    For me that's fine. It's merely a minor inconvenience.
     
  6. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    You have two other options:

    • Set BUG to autoload with Civ in the CivilizationIV.ini with

      mod = BUG Mod 3.5.1​
    • Copy the Civ4 shortcut and append

      /mod="BUG Mod 3.5.1"​

      to its command line.
     
  7. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    I'm doing some code cleanup in preparation for the 3.6 release and found that I had added a few features to my DLL branch that didn't actually require the DLL, so I've moved them to the standard BUG branch.

    Fractional Movement Points

    The first one allows you to view the Movement Points left for the selected unit as a fractional value with a single decimal place rather than truncated to an integer.


    Stack Movement Points

    The second one is a lot more interesting: it shows you the minimum and maximum Movement Points left for all of the selected units as a range (always fractional, which I may change to have it use the above option).


    GPT on Financial Advisor

    The third one hardly warrants a screenshot, but heck, why go half-way?


    Gold Star for Active Player with Vassals

    Finally, when you have the Has Vassals column showing in the Advanced Scoreboard and you have at least one Vassal, your star is gold instead of silver so that you stand out better in the scoreboard.


    That's it. These features are in SVN right now, and you can look forward to a new release very, very soon.
     
  8. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,800
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    I've added a BUG Religious Advisor to the SVN. Here is a screenshot ...



    Note the following:
    • yellow box - shows the number of temples and monasteries that you have build across all of your cities for each religion
      • useful for cultural games as well as making sure you have monasteries before you nullify them
    • purple box - temples / cathedrals / monasteries / shrines for each religion - you need to hover over the religion in question (or select it) to update the table
      • prayer hands = temple
      • culture = cathedral
      • science = monastery
      • gold = shrine
      • I used the same icon codes for 'under construction, can build, etc' as used in the CDA
      • useful for when you are hunting for cities that are missing temples
    • table is sortable
    • click on 'zoom to city' (column 1) to open the city - also closes the advisor

    As per all things (well, almost all), this is optional.
     
  9. Yxklyx

    Yxklyx Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    869
  10. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,800
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    2 things to check ... look under the [custom]assets/python/screens directory for CvReligionScreen.py. If it is there - then you have the BUG version. If it isn't there - then it must not have made the daily build for today - wait until tomorrow :D.

    If it is there and it isn't showing up in game, check that you have it enabled via the BUG option screen.
     
  11. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,800
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    going to add ...

    Cities: x/y

    ... so that you can see how you have spread a religion through your kingdom. Will probably bump the top panel up a few pixels and also put a panel under the table so that it is clearer.
     
  12. Yxklyx

    Yxklyx Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    869
    Looks great! Very useful!
     
  13. Larklight

    Larklight Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    241
    Hey, I just downloaded BAT mod 1.1, but can't find the improved strategy layer. Do I have to download BUG separately or something?

    EDIT: sorry, and thankyou mystyfly.
     
  14. mystyfly

    mystyfly Knight of Cydonia

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,669
    Location:
    CH
    AFAIK, BAT 1.1 doesn't include BUG 3.6 (first release that contained the strat layer).

    Please post questions like this in the appropriate thread ("Questions about the BUG mod").
     
  15. tgvulcan

    tgvulcan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    wrong thread! sorry.
     
  16. Nials

    Nials Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    582
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Adding new resources would alter the game mechanics, I would think.
     
  17. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Please use the Requests thread for feature requests (better still, the SF.net Feature Request tracker) as this thread is for showcasing new features we have added.

    As for this one, BUG is about Unaltered Gameplay, and BAT adds artistic content to BUG. Adding new resources would alter gameplay.
     
  18. DaveMcW

    DaveMcW Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,489
    Thanks to the BUG team for finally defaulting the colored clock off! :love:
     
  19. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    I meant to do it for the BUFFY release, but I had too much going on at the time and missed it. :(
     
  20. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    I've merged in johny smith's scrolling Religion Advisor and his changes to the main interface to allow for more than seven religions and/or corporations. I haven't done the work on the Corporation Advisor yet.

    Could people who have merged BUG in with mods with more than seven religions give this screen a workout? You can specify which religions to show in the top area of the screen (all, founded, or player's) from the Advisors tab of the BUG Options screen.
     

Share This Page