1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

New Features & Fixes

Discussion in 'Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL)' started by EmperorFool, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. Cybah

    Cybah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,479
    Works perfectly. Thanks very much. :)



     
  2. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Just tested the new screen and seems to work flawlessly with the 11 religions I got in my mod. Also the new religion/corporation BUG option for city screen works. If needed, I can later test corporations as there's some RoM modmods that increase the corporation amount about 30 or so.
     
  3. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Thanks for the feedback. At some point I'd like to place buttons on the Religion Advisor to switch which religions are displayed (All, Founded, Player's).
     
  4. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    No screenshots for these as they are mostly functional

    • Alert when a rival's willingness to talk changes
    • Alert when a rival's worst enemy changes
    • Alert when a rival will trade their map
    • Worst enemy indicators now handle teams correctly
    • Changes to the Autolog path or file name take effect immediately
     
  5. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    I've added a minor new feature to BULL.

     
  6. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    I finally added something I've wanted for a long while, and it turned out to be relatively easy. As usual it took longer to tweak the position of the elements and add the options than it did to create the initial feature. :)

    When you have a stack of units selected you will see all of the promotions possessed by at least one unit in the stack. When more than one unit possesses a promotion you will see how many on a circle overlay similar to the Foreign Advisor's RESOURCES tab.


    I had been planning to merge in the feature someone else created that hides promotions that are implied by other promotions, but I'm not sure how to reconcile it with this feature for stacks.

    For example you have two units selected with these promotions: C1C2 and C1. Normally you'd show 2xC1 and 1xC2. When hiding implied promotions I see four options:

    1. Hide C1 because it is implied by C2
    2. Subtract the one C1 implied by C2 and show 1xC1 instead of 2xC1
    3. Only hide promotions whose counts drop to zero from rule #2.
    4. Don't hide implied promotions when stacks are selected.
    Option #3 requires further explanation. Since C1 is only implied by one unit but two units have it, it would show as 2xC1. If the second unit also had C2 then the 2xC1 becomes 0xC1 and would be completely hidden showing only 2xC1.

    My gut says that it's too confusing to merge these options and I should hide implied promotions only when a single unit is selected. However, the promotion list in the info pane gets really long only for large stacks.

    Please reply in the Development thread.
     
  7. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    When you hover over a Worker action that will remove a feature that has health effects, the help text will show the actual effects in nearby team-owned cities. This example shows the text for clearing a Jungle.


    This is a BULL-only feature. Feel free to discuss it in the Development thread.
     
  8. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    The normal view is very clean, but it can sometimes be difficult to tell which tiles may be improved, which are being worked, and--most importantly--when your city is working unimproved tiles. :eek:


    You can turn on Show Yields to help with this, but it makes the map look cluttered and detracts from the feel of the game. And it still can be tough to tell if you're working unimproved tiles.


    Hopefully this new BULL feature will help. It's actually two related features. The first feature shades the tiles controlled by the first selected city, similar to how all cities' controlled tiles are shaded when you select a Settler.

    The second feature operates on every selected city. It places a colored circle over each workable tile to indicate its working and improvability status:

    • None: City tile, unworkable tile, or unimprovable tile not being worked
    • Black: Improved tile being worked
    • Green: Improved tile not being worked
    • Yellow: Unimprovable tile being worked
    • Red: Improvable tile being worked
    • Cyan: Improvable tile not being worked
    Unimprovable tiles are those bare tiles on which no available improvement can be built at this time. For example, any Hill before Mining, a Forest before Replaceable Parts, etc.


    Now, this still needs a little adjusting. First, the black circles are a bit too hard to see. Since you don't need to take action for improved tiles the city is working, they shouldn't stand out, but they fade into the roads and get lost. I'm thinking a shade of median gray. I started with white to match the look of the City Screen, but they stood out too much and were hard to distinguish from the cyan (improvable) circles.

    Second, Forests are not handled consistently. I determine if a tile is improvable by checking the AI's best selected build which varies depending on circumstances. A Forest on a Hill will have a Mine as the best improvement while a Forest on a non-riverside Plains Flatland will have none. My thinking is to never consider improvements that would clear a Forest.

    Third, what about Jungle? Should they be highlighted as improvable via clearing?

    Please follow up in the Development thread.
     
  9. Gorey

    Gorey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA.
    I know that's an old post EF, but it looks like an awesome feature.

    IMO, it would be nice if it would just display the white circles that citizens are working like the city screen does, and nothing else. Maybe make them red if the tile is unimproved... but thats it.

    Circling tiles that aren't being worked just makes my head hurt from processing too much info.
     
  10. Lidd66

    Lidd66 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    I hate to dig up an old thread, but I haven't found this anywhere else.

    Is it possible to get the colored circles from the above pic in the city screen?
     

Share This Page