1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Launcher is awful

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by AlexandriaWolf, Apr 11, 2021.

  1. AlexandriaWolf

    AlexandriaWolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Female
    Ever since this launcher was foisted off on me my game crashes within a few turns! It's maddening! Is there any way to get rid of the thing?
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2021
    ashar26, Socrates99, Bonci and 5 others like this.
  2. Kwami

    Kwami Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,118
  3. Yzman

    Yzman Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    The bypass works like a charm. I had the same issue with game crashing randomly and after I bypassed zero issues.
     
  4. BD123

    BD123 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    I just don't understand why they felt the need to change the launcher... launchers are hated anyways and it's not like the previous one was unworkable unlike this new one
     
  5. Galvatron

    Galvatron Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    320
    Is that why my game had been crashing constantly? I've enjoyed a period of impressive stability up to now...
     
  6. Miserable Old Git

    Miserable Old Git Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2021
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    I've reported it as a bug.
     
    nzcamel, Bonci and AlexandriaWolf like this.
  7. Abaxial

    Abaxial King

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    980
    Gender:
    Male
    It's essentially conceitedness - pushing the 2K identity, when all people want is to get into Civ 6 ASAP.
     
  8. Hellenism Salesman

    Hellenism Salesman Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2020
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Macedon
    I'd tolerate a new launcher, if it worked properly. For me, I can hardly even play the game, because the launcher refuses to open. Clicking on Civ 6 is now always a gamble.
     
    AlexandriaWolf likes this.
  9. raen

    raen Coat of Arms

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,445
    Location:
    Portugal
    I bypassed it (as well as entry videos) mainly because of the speed in testing mods.

    Configured the Bypass once and never had problems.
     
  10. AlexandriaWolf

    AlexandriaWolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Female
    Many thanks @Kwami , I will definitely try this out! I don't necessarily hate launchers (tho I resent the extra time to get into the game they invariably cause) but when they crash my game and when I see that there's at least FIVE instances of the stupid launcher running when I open my task manager... I get a little livid. This was really poorly done.
     
    nzcamel and Hellenism Salesman like this.
  11. Galvatron

    Galvatron Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    320
    Is that what's happening? I saw that too, but I didn't understand what was happening there.

    Holy site, Firaxis, fix your QA. This doesn't happen with any other game.
     
  12. Duke William of Normandy

    Duke William of Normandy King of England & Unofficial Welcoming Committee

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3,164
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rouen, Normandy
    It's actually 2K who has the launcher, so you'll have to ask them that. :p
     
    EarendilTheMariner and Gorbles like this.
  13. SammyKhalifa

    SammyKhalifa Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,015
    Pardon my ignorance but what purpose do they serve? Just a platform for ads or is there some actual reason? Seems like a waste of programming time even if there weren't any issues
     
  14. Galvatron

    Galvatron Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    320
    My game just froze again, so apparently this wasn't my problem.
     
  15. AntSou

    AntSou Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,953
    What is this new launcher people are talking about? When did it happen? I've uninstalled the game due to work so I can't check it myself.

    Is it no longer the launcher showing Xcom and Chimera Squad?
     
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  16. Hellenism Salesman

    Hellenism Salesman Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2020
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Macedon
    For most of us, there's a new 2K launcher that looks completely different.

    It also flat out doesn't work sometimes. Fun :p
     
    nzcamel and AntSou like this.
  17. Kwami

    Kwami Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,118
    There was another update yesterday of ~70MB. Did they fix the new launcher?
     
  18. shaglio

    shaglio The Prince of Dorkness

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    3,533
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lawrence, MA, USA
    This was on Twitter yesterday:

    Firaxis Games Retweeted




    Sid Meier's Civilization
    @CivGame



    Launcher Update: We just released an update that addresses many of the launcher issues and are continuing to track down remaining ones. We are working around the clock to fix all of these issues and get everyone back to uninterrupted gaming! Thanks for bearing with us.

    9:31 PM · Apr 13, 2021·Twitter Web App
     
  19. Duke William of Normandy

    Duke William of Normandy King of England & Unofficial Welcoming Committee

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3,164
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rouen, Normandy
    Can anyone test this out without the launcher bypass?
     
  20. Piranga

    Piranga Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    163
    I just downloaded new updated. Moments into my game I am now having my first freezing/crashing problems.

    Looks like I"ll be checking out that "bypass launcher" thread.
     

Share This Page