1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

NEW Native Set

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by coffee junkie, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. coffee junkie

    coffee junkie Tech Hippie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Europe
    Really ? Is it because it is a Colonization unit ?
     
  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,614
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    No, that happens with Civ4 units too.
    The basic problem is that the .nif name is hardcoded in the .kfm, and that the game tries to find that .nif. If it can't, you'll get such problems. If python exceptions are not activated, this normally manifests in missing/wrong action buttons for the units.
     
  3. coffee junkie

    coffee junkie Tech Hippie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Europe
    I'm stupid. Of course !!! :wallbash::wallbash::hammer2:

    I know that. Where did I put my head ??? I don't want to know. Guys, you are great ;)

    My apologizes StrategeOnly. I pick the Natives folder from Ethnicae structure and forgot that all related unique animations are in a specific folder inside the mod .............. :mischief: please, don't say anything ... I know ... I don't live on earth ...

    Repacked the Natives with all animations included and the corrected ArtDefine included. So you can follow it for your own structure ...

    EDIT : re-uploaded and available now.

    Thank to you for pointing me my mistake !
     
  4. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,475
    Here is a BtS example:
    Code:
    		<UnitArtInfo>
    			<Type>ART_DEF_UNIT_ETHIOPIAN_OROMO_WARRIOR_ORANGE</Type>
    			<Button>,Art/Interface/Buttons/Units/ICBM.dds,Art/Interface/Buttons/Beyond_the_Sword_Atlas.dds,3,10</Button>
    			<fScale>0.44</fScale>
    			<fInterfaceScale>1.0</fInterfaceScale>
    			<bActAsLand>0</bActAsLand>
    			<bActAsAir>0</bActAsAir>
    			<NIF>Art/Units/Unique_Ethiopia_OromoWarrior/Ethiopian_OromoWarrior_Orange.nif</NIF>
    			<KFM>Art/Units/Unique_Ethiopia_OromoWarrior/Ethiopian_OromoWarrior.kfm</KFM>
    			<SHADERNIF>Art/Units/Unique_Ethiopia_OromoWarrior/Ethiopian_OromoWarrior_Orange.nif</SHADERNIF>
    			<ShadowDef>
    				<ShadowNIF>Art/Units/01_UnitShadows/UnitShadow.nif</ShadowNIF>
    				<ShadowAttachNode>BIP Pelvis</ShadowAttachNode>
    				<fShadowScale>1.0</fShadowScale>
    			</ShadowDef>
    			<fBattleDistance>0.35</fBattleDistance>
    			<fRangedDeathTime>0.05</fRangedDeathTime>
    			<bActAsRanged>1</bActAsRanged>
    			<TrainSound>AS2D_UNIT_BUILD_UNIT</TrainSound>
    			<AudioRunSounds>
    				<AudioRunTypeLoop/>
    				<AudioRunTypeEnd/>
    			</AudioRunSounds>
    		</UnitArtInfo>
    
    The nif and the kfm are named differently, but there is also an Ethiopian_OromoWarrior.nif present in the folder, therefore it works.

    When executed, the kfm looks in its folder if a nif of the same name is present. If it is, all is right. It doesn't matter if that nif is really used or not.
     
  5. coffee junkie

    coffee junkie Tech Hippie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Europe
    I know SaibotLieh .... I know all this. But I'm stupid sometimes. As I already said, thank you guys : you are great. You are here when I'm away in the clouds. :lol:


    Guys, if you have to crown the most "fool in the clouds" member of CiivFanatics, please ... choose me !
     
  6. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN

    Yeppers that did the trick thx guys, i am making a brand new civ of my tribe of this area, these are really good representations, thx.

    EDIT: OK you forgot to put back in the Javelineer unit.

    EDIT EDIT: If you have current or newer buttons would be nice also to include them, and again thx.

    EDIT EDIT EDIT: Also liked all the extra warrior nifs and worker ones also, etc, you had there also.

    EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT: In your nif the Cuirassier was Native_Mounted_Warrior1 but in the new one you put it withOUT the 1, but in the definitions you still had it as a 1 there, JFYI.
     
  7. coffee junkie

    coffee junkie Tech Hippie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Europe
    Thanks again to The J and SaibotLieh ...


    You don't need the maliskirmisher animation since the tags in the xml call the one from the game, so no bad anim problem.



    no problem, I can add them in a next repack



    Going to che check asap.


    :coffee:
     
  8. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Just got the same error with the Galley, as above pic2??
     
  9. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
  10. Dumanios

    Dumanios MLG

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,881
    These units are great, even if a little confusing. I've used a bunch of these guys in my mod, with the archer from before as the Native America/US Archer, and the longbow looking dude from this pack as the Native American/US Longbowman.
     
  11. coffee junkie

    coffee junkie Tech Hippie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Europe
    Since I repacked them, and added the missing anims, it should work fine.

    About the galley : didn't have time to check yet. Will do asap. No need to double post the same sentence. I won't hurry more ! :lol:


    Happy new year ! :)
     
  12. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    OK, now its the 8th, so i figure i can "re-post" anything on the galley yet??:mischief:
     
  13. LunarMongoose

    LunarMongoose King

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    731
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    So the Galley in this set is STILL broken... Anyone have any updates? Heh.

    (Terrific work otherwise, btw. :))
     
  14. donalpanko

    donalpanko Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    These are awesome
     
  15. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,258
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    Horrendously late to the party, but a workaround for the galley is to rename 'nativeboat.nif' to 'EE2_WhalingBoat.nif' and adjust XML references as necessary.
     
    Leoreth likes this.

Share This Page