1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New patch 20 December

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by comatosedragon, Dec 20, 2016.

  1. snoochems

    snoochems Prince

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    My apostles don't heal. No matter the territory .
     
  2. LDiCesare

    LDiCesare Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    France
    I disagree.
    I don't think they will lose a large chunk. Most games have an average playtime of what? 100 hours is a lot for most games. If you play 100 hours of most games, it usually means you're happy with it. For civ, you have barely scratched the surface. But most casual players will be more than happy to play 100 hours, buy a new DLC and do something else. The time of fun per buck is good.
    However, Civ has the potential to hook you for thousands of hours. Civ IV certainly did for me. Civ V and VI definitely not. But why would Firaxis cater to someone who wants to play 1000 hours of a ame they buy once when they can have a game that is played by 9 other persons for 100 hours only, for the same resource cost?
    They simply don't have any incentive to make a challenging game. OVer 100 hours, players explore and discover, they are not in challenge mode. The first time you meet an opponent, you're afraid and happy you managed to push back his army. Then you move on to something different, and you don't realise that you were not actually ever in danger. Unless you play a lot. And players who play a lot don't bring money, so the company will not lose a large chunk. They will lose a small, vocal minority, and even then this minority can still realise that the game isn't as good as the previous versions, but it's still a decent use of their money.

    Firaxis has never been able to provide a good AI. I'd love to be proven wrong, but considering that a simple "if you're 6 to 1, go and suicide some units against the city" would make the AI way mroe challenging, I don't think it's technical limitations that stop them. Tactical AI is low on their priority because the AI appears to be threatening when it has a lot of units, and that's enough for most players. It doesn't have to actually be a chalenge for them to sell the game.
     
    oedali likes this.
  3. Magil

    Magil Monarch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    There is going to be a threshold however where even the "casual" player as you describe will realize they were never in any danger. The more incompetent the AI--the more obviously stupid mistakes it makes--the lower the threshold.

    I do agree with you that being an "easy game" isn't likely to end up making Firaxis less money, unless the game gets a lot of bad press as a result. Seems unlikely at this time. It pains me to see the AI get progressively worse with each passing game, but I doubt Firaxis will do much to change it. I just have to hope they release the full modding tools soon so the more willing (more able?) will change that part of the game.
     
  4. oedali

    oedali King

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    840
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    What frustrates me most is that the AI was made very competent at combat in Civ 5, especially with the VP mod. All the devs had to do was copy/adapt that into Civ 6. The underlying game files are supposedly virtually identical. Instead they ignored all that progress and totally went back to square 1...
     
  5. PurplyIcy

    PurplyIcy Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    That's so BS, as if getting good production wasn't hard enough before. I thought one of the reasons districts were made was to encourage players to strategically place their cities together in certain ways for the most efficient output? Now there is no point in settling cities closer together since the benefit of gaining better land and resources from settling afar far outweighs the bonuses you get from just having one regional building nearby.
     
  6. bladex

    bladex Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    they nerfed cutting too...
     
  7. Athmos

    Athmos Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    236
    Since release, apostles and other religious unit heal only on holy sites or tiles adjacent to holy sites.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  8. bitula

    bitula Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Hello there!!!

    I stopped playing a month ago because of the last build bug. Anything else I can probably tolerate and patiently wait (I even got used to 1UPT), but this one is game braking. I was completely perplexed: since Civ 1 there has been never such a brutal bug, you always saw what you just built and based on that could make a decision what to build next, this is essential part of any civ game. So long story short: could someone confirm for sure, that this bug is fixed. Because related reports here in this thread are a bit ambivalent…
     
    KrikkitTwo and narmox like this.
  9. RealAntithesis

    RealAntithesis Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    239
    It wasn't fixed in my game, which I continued from before the patch. I still mostly had the second to last thing that was built being displayed as last built.
     
    Zuizgond likes this.
  10. bitula

    bitula Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Thanks for the info. Well it’s possible that the bug is connected to saved games. So can someone confirm that this bug is fixed for newly started (and with saves and reloads made in newly started) games. I would gladly start a new game if this bug is fixed.
     
  11. 2evster48

    2evster48 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    London, UK
    I started a couple of new games specifically to check this and it's definitely not working. Completion announcement still shows the second to last thing and the game, for me, remains unplayable with this bug - it becomes impossible to properly manage your cities if you have more than a couple. Come on Firaxis this must be an easy fix!
     
    player1 fanatic, narmox and Zuizgond like this.
  12. Cymsdale

    Cymsdale Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Spaghetti code possibly. That's an explanation, not an excuse.
     
    narmox likes this.
  13. bitula

    bitula Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    386

    Amazing! I don’t understand how could Firaxis do this. Don’t testers have eyes on their faces? Oh well then no CiV6 fun for Christmas. I hope it is not an indicator of a bad omen for the complete game though…
     
    narmox, Jussiut and Zuizgond like this.
  14. Stringer1313

    Stringer1313 King

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    859
    I still like 1UPT. Makes me actually have to think about how to attack cities rather than just moving a blob of units towards the city. They shouldn't throw out 1UPT just b/c the AI can't handle it. They should just make other adjustments, like reducing the effectiveness of ranged --- I'm still enamored with the idea of making ranged all but useless if a unit has less than 75% health, or giving AI an even higher combat bonus and maybe even more HP on higher difficulties. Not hard.
     
  15. Baba Yetu VI

    Baba Yetu VI Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    149
    So, the new patch gives us culture bomb? Is that so? Too good to be true, I love culture bomb!!!
     
  16. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,829
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    Only when playing Poland, I guess...
     
  17. Gbest

    Gbest Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Maybe I'm wrong, but it seems now the AI settles more cities, at least early in the game. Turn 100, standard speed, Emperor difficulty, Rome has 6 cities, China 5 and India 5.
     
  18. Gumbolt

    Gumbolt Phoenix Rising

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,388
    Location:
    UK
    I think some of the critism here of Firaxis is a bit unfair. You would expect them to fix the big issues first. One of these was the games constantly crashing due to certain bugs. Some are now reporting this is fixed. This is no way the final patch here. I expect other patches to follow in next few months.

    Makes sense to clear up the issues that are causing their 2k support staff most work.
     
    whyidie, jollywonk and nzcamel like this.
  19. Soduka

    Soduka Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    289

    Of course there will be more patches, how else will they ready the game for more DLC? Civ 5 was their testing ground for piecemealing out what used to come in reasonably priced expansion packs and it was successful. Really I'm morbidly curious how far they'll go this time now that they know people will buy anything. Will they go full Paradox Interactive? We'll find out.
     
    Jeckel likes this.
  20. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,829
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    Surely a patch will come out with the other 2 DLCs, most probably at the 90 day mark (January 21st),
    when the Aztecs go freely into the base game...

    We'll see what that brings...

    And maybe then SDK will be rleased for the modders to get to the AI...
     

Share This Page