1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

noob question

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by Crusader2010, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. Crusader2010

    Crusader2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Hello. Is it true that in order for a city to benefit from a tile resource (e.g. elephants -> building elephant workers), that city needs to work that tile?

    I'm asking this because (to me) it make much more sense for it to provide all of its benefits to ANY city once the resource is linked by road. In other words i'd like to see an "empire-wide" benefit (as long as a road connection exists). From city to city as well.

    In this case, probably, in order to balance things out, forts and later upgrades should not "capture" resources anymore.

    Is this something feasible?
     
  2. Noriad

    Noriad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    (deleted because I misunderstood question)
     
  3. Crusader2010

    Crusader2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Thanks for the explanation. Didn't know it actually works like this, just wanted to see if something similar to CIV 5 is possible, but in a more streamlined manner (i.e. happiness resources provide the bonuses empire-wide, but i think this is true in CIV 4 too, unless there is a more "enhanced" resource type, like elephants actually allowing for a different unit type, etc).

    So the answer to my first question is "yes" :) thanks!
     
  4. Harrier

    Harrier Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,420
    Location:
    UK
    I may be wrong - as I am relatively new to this mod. But unless they have changed the base Civ4 requirements! :blush:. The answer is no.

    You just need to build the improvement and a route to the city, to get the resource. The tile does not have to have a city worker on it. The city worker just adds the tile yields to the city.

    Why do you not want forts to capture resources?

    If there is a resource in Artic type terrain, that is not suitable for a city _ a fort is ideal.
     
  5. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,085
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    The city does not have to work the tile for the nation to get the resource. The requirement is an applicable improvement and owning the territory.
     
  6. Crusader2010

    Crusader2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    That i saw is true, i.e. i do get the tile yield. But, for example, in the case of elephants, i cannot build "elephant workers" unless the tile is also worked by the city. Again, i do get +:health: from any special tile that has it when i connect a road and such.


    So, is it something wrong with those elephants or is this intended? :confused:
    This is what i meant by an empire-wide availability; once i improve "elephants" i'd want to be able to build elephant workers in every city (as long as all of them are connected by mud path/road/etc), not just in the nearby city. And i simply cannot do that; got some cities further away that can only build dog workers for example.

    The idea about forts not capturing resources was just something to *maybe* balance this out a little (can forts be changed to only capture arctic tiles for example? or any combination?).

    Again, unless this was unintended, the empire-wide benefit would make the game a bit like CIV 5 in the sense of the possibility of trading resources that you have many of (not sure this is possible yet, but to me it is quite interesting), in exchange for something you need.

    Hopefully i was clear enough this time :mischief:

    EDIT: another question: is it possible to move items up and down in the city production queue? can this queue be improved by mods?
     
  7. B.I.B

    B.I.B Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    In in the instance of mountable critters (f.ex. Elephants) you not only need the resource but also a chain of buildings in C2C to build the units.

    It goes something like this:

    A city has elephants within its tiles, or a herd. It can then build an elephant farm which leads to being able to build an elephant trainer which then allows for the units to be built.

    However, a city that only has the resource elephenats, beacuse somewhere in the empire an elephant resource has been improved, can build the national elephant breeder which allows fo the trainer to be built and then the units.
     
  8. Crusader2010

    Crusader2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Then it's strange that i couldn't build that national elephant trainer (i suppose this can be built only one time? i.e. only one other city will benefit from being able to build elephant workers?). I'm going to check this tonight nonetheless :) too bad i cannot end the turn because the game crashes.
     
  9. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    In C2C: to make the buildings which let you produce the units (elephant workers, elephant riders, all the other elephant units that come later, horsemen and the other horse units, etc.) you need to either have the resource in the workable area of the city or have the special herd building in the city. You don't actually have to work the plot, it just has to be within the workable radius. The herd buildings can be built by subdued animals.

    So to spread elephants to more cities send out some hunters, subdue some elephants, and then use them to build the elephant herd building in some more cities.

    Also, a bit into the game (with some late ancient or early classical tech, I don't remember what tech it is or exactly when it comes up) you can build a building that lets the city produce trained elephants, and other buildings for other trained animals, which can also be used to make an elephant herd building in a city just like you can with the subdued animals. So you can eventually spread the animal resources around via the herd buildings built by the trained animals, after which you can build the trainer buildings and such. This works for several of the animal types.

    Edit: for horses and elephants there are national wonders, one for each.
     
  10. Crusader2010

    Crusader2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    @God-Emperor: thanks for the info. I guess that explains it - couldn't find any elephants to subdue on my continent; i'll take a look at the techs and see what needs research :)
     
  11. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    By the way, you can upgrade any normal worker to an elephant worker by moving it over near the city with the elephant trainer and upgrading it there. If you have upgraded it to another type of animal assisted worker you can't switch types (although the differences between them are small - they used to be identical but I think they have some differences now).
     
  12. Crusader2010

    Crusader2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Unfortunately i did not see the option to upgrade a dog worker when moving it near the city that has an upgraded type; i'll try to test it tonight though, but i guess i need to get rid of the end turn crash that i got after upgrading to 7890; gonna try some older autosaves :( it is kind of too cumbersome to start a new game from the beginning right now (i really want to test later eras) :)

    Thanks!
     
  13. Crusader2010

    Crusader2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Ok, just checked the buildings. The city with the elephants tile has the elephant farm, and there is another city in which i've built the national elephant trainer. No other city can build it though, and the only way left to get elephant workers in them seems to be by finding and subduing elephants :)
     

Share This Page