1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Official Civilization V Steamworks FAQ

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Technical Support' started by 2K Greg, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,977
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You didn't explain how I am able to not update this game whilst playing and being online. So no cookie. Usually to get the prize you actually do need to do what's required. Or in this case, give a reason. ;)
     
  2. KMRblue1027

    KMRblue1027 The Crown!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,046
    Location:
    Hamilton, NJ
    LAN works 100% fine on the same account. I used to play Counter Strike source with my brother on LAN. (Sadly online mode kicks you because you have the same CD key.)
     
  3. 2K Greg

    2K Greg <span style="font-weight:bold; text-decoration: un

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    If you're in Europe and you purchase Civ V on Steam, your game will activate on the International release date, which is September 24th. :)

    This is an excellent question and as someone who is a big fan of multiplayer gaming I completely understand your concern.

    I personally looked in to this for you and I have some good news: While the SteamID of players in a game may not be in the interface by default, I have verified that the modding API will allow you to get this information very easily. This means that it would be pretty trivial to make a mod that adds the SteamID to the interface, which you can use to verify the identity of the players in your game. :)

    Others already answered your question but I wanted to answer myself so you can be sure this is correct: If two people in your household want to play the game simultaneously, you will need two copies of the game (which therefore must be linked to two different Steam accounts.)
     
  4. KMRblue1027

    KMRblue1027 The Crown!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,046
    Location:
    Hamilton, NJ
    This is untrue as stated by my above post I did LAN a lot in Counter Strike but technically it is illegal to do so. You're spreading propaganda Greg :p
     
  5. Le Sage

    Le Sage Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,517
    Location:
    Digging up your garden
    OK. Thank you kindly. This is good to know, so I can plan my vacation ;)
     
  6. Tylerryan79

    Tylerryan79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Darn it Dale!! I read one thing, and think its another.... I was looking forward to the cookie too. Also the question wasn't to explain how you will be able to not update the game while playing and being online, but to explain how you have done that with another game. I didnt answer that though!! SO STILL NO COOKIE!!! :) The only way to play Civ V online, and not update is........................................................... Play when there are no updates available!! The only way for us to know when an update is coming is for them to tell us, then we could all go into offline mode, until our favorite mods have been updated.... sounds too much of a hassle though, and I doubt they would give us a heads up in advance.

    Just to be clear, you do believe we won't be able to turn off auto updates, and it will update if online if there is an update and we try to play the game, right? I honestly cant tell you why its happening, only that it is.
     
  7. CanuckSoldier

    CanuckSoldier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for the answer Greg, Civplayers already has plans to port our Game Monitor Mod to Civ5 on release. This just makes this even more important to solve the player identification issue. So it will be priority #1 come Sept 21st!

    CS
     
  8. 2K Elizabeth

    2K Elizabeth <span style="font-weight:bold; text-decoration: un

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Novato, CA
    Propaganda means that you deliberately spread information to help or harm a person/group/movement. Telling you guys the legally correct way to do something isn't propaganda.

    Personally, I advocate everyone buying our game the legal way (and playing it that way!) It makes everyone at Firaxis happy. (We're here today. In fact, as I type this post, the dev team is smiling, nodding, and giving this message a big thumbs up just like this - :goodjob:)
     
  9. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    Central Florida
    ...with the developers eh...lucky you.
    Great...can you ask them which version of Visual Studio I will be able to use to mod the SDK.
    Not 2003 anymore, I'm sure...but is it 2008? or will I be able to use my nice shiny new copy of VS2010?
    Do they have any recommendations for an IDE for LUA developement?

    (I know you probably can't answer these now...but you might ask them so you can tell us later :) )
     
  10. 2K Greg

    2K Greg <span style="font-weight:bold; text-decoration: un

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    I just asked, and Jon said you'll need 2008. It's probable that 2010 will work but it has not been tested.

    As for the recommended Lua IDE, I have an exciting answer, but you'll have to wait a little while to get it ;)
     
  11. bjbrains

    bjbrains Man of U-235

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    837
    Wait, could this mean that Civ 5 will ship with a custom LUA IDE?
     
  12. Tylerryan79

    Tylerryan79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yup, they said they will have modding tools.
     
  13. Le Sage

    Le Sage Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,517
    Location:
    Digging up your garden
    Now look what you've done 2KGreg. Started the speculation! :crazyeye:
     
  14. KMRblue1027

    KMRblue1027 The Crown!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,046
    Location:
    Hamilton, NJ
    I will buy the game legally but I just think it's BS that you are supposed to by 2 copies to play with a relative. Unless my brother wants his own copy for single player (Or online mode) I will be playing with one. (Especially considering Hot-seat needs an update just to play it)
    Moderator Action: Please remember that this is technically outwith the license agreement. Please don't discuss these ways of playing, as it is borderline piracy.

    Ps: The propaganda thing was mostly a joke that's why I put the smiley there
     
  15. Wodan

    Wodan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    In transit
    Thanks Greg. That's what I was getting at. Somewhat of a negative, and is different from most other software applications. Also, seems like it might cut down on demos to potential new customers, who would then go home and buy a copy for themselves.
     
  16. 2K Elizabeth

    2K Elizabeth <span style="font-weight:bold; text-decoration: un

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Novato, CA
    I don't want to derail this topic more on this (from my personal experience, the software I own operates in the same fashion as Civ V - although I'm sure there are some programs out today that allow two different people to use the program simultaneously on two different machines - but not most.) Suffice it to say this isn't something that's allowed, and on behalf of the dev team, I hope everyone here respects them and their hard work.
     
  17. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Cool, thanks.
    I wasn't expecting an instant response!

    ...LUA IDE...exciting answer...have to wait...

    That knowledge is power thing is going to your head again isn't it. :)

    A follow up question if I may:

    Does Steam notice/mind if a game under its control is run in debug mode.
    In Civ4 (before the complete edition removed the DRM) we couldn't start the EXE under debug and had to set breakpoints and attach to the process after it was started in order to debug the SDK. Will we have to do the same thing, or is Steam more tolerant of running under a debugger.

    Hopefully Steam won't consider debugging one of its games malicious behaviour and ban me! :mischief:
     
  18. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,977
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Civ 5 isn't using VAC so you don't need to worry about that.
     
  19. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    29,615
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Moderator Action: 8 posts moved to the other thread.

    When posting, please consider: This is a thread to ask questions, and get them answered.

    If you don't have a question or an answer, or if you see that in the wall of text you write the question will not be easy detectable, then please think again about this post.
     
  20. YohanLeafheart

    YohanLeafheart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Campinas - SP, Brazil
    Probably on the mod tools pack, which would be completely awesome. Maybe they will make a version of Eclipse for LUA and Civ 5 :) I would be a happy coder. Greg I have a question about the FAQ, as I'm a completely newbie on things Steam. Will any of the contents be region locked? Is there a way, on the multiplayer interface to know where the other gamers are and lock them base on geo data?
     

Share This Page