1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Official System Requirements

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Technical Support' started by 2K Greg, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. Testiethree

    Testiethree Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Millwaukee
    does anyone know if i can run civ 5 on an inspiron 560s with nothing upgraded? if not, would a new video card help?
     
  2. Mannu

    Mannu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    230
  3. Geek113377

    Geek113377 Human (Usually)

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    Cyberspace
    I meet all the minimum specs EXCEPT the graphics gard (I have a radeon 3100). and i have a laptop, so i can't just upgrade the card. I AM PISSED! but canyourunit.com says i can run N:TW, and i have seen posts on this thread saying the req. specs are very similar. i am taking civ5 off my wishlist until the demo comes out, and not puting it back on until i know i can run it acceptably. i don't have the money for a new computer! what happened to all that hype about "we are making civ5 able to run on anybody's netbook?" FIRAXIS?!?!?!
     
  4. Jamesds

    Jamesds Great Scientist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Highlands, Scotland Uni: St Andrews
    That's got AMD RS880 Integrated Graphics which scores only 128 on those benchmarks I referred to.

    In that case many of us laptop owners can probably stop worrying. That's a recent review, so the functionality and graphics in that pre-release build will probably be on par with what we should expect in the release.

    That's hopeful then.
     
  5. D712

    D712 His Imperial Majesty

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    I agree completly. The thing is that (ive heard this, but im not an expert myself) napoleon: total war was more demanding in graphics, and if you can run it Im guessing you can run CiV. It just makes sense to me.
     
  6. Elrikk

    Elrikk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    My system:

    - AMD dual core at 2.2 Mhz
    - Nvidia 7800 GTX
    - 4 GB Ram

    Will this squeak by or will the video card simply fail ?

    Elrikk
     
  7. D712

    D712 His Imperial Majesty

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    So that means that their is good hope for me, you, and all the other laptop users out there!? :please:
     
  8. 12agnar0k

    12agnar0k Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,556
    Put it this way guys, When a consumeable product is manufactured they put on a "Use By" Date, some products can still be used well after thier use by date, their use by date is always conservative, and in some cases very conservative, for example, cheese, technically starts as mould so it can't "go off" it can only become more matured :p.
    The reason the date is conservative is because of legal reasons, if someone gets ill and you said the product was still fine to consume for another month your open to law suits, where as if your conservative theirs less chance it will "go off" before the date.
    This will be the same for minimum requirements, technically it may run on some lower capacity machines, but if you buy it and it doesn't work you will want your money back, if however you brought it knowning it wouldn't work some shops won't give you the money back, i.e it says minimum of dual core, and you try it on a single core. But thiers still a chance it will work.
     
  9. Jamesds

    Jamesds Great Scientist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Highlands, Scotland Uni: St Andrews
    Looks good to me - not top notch, but comfortably playable :)
     
  10. tokala

    tokala Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,739
    Location:
    Klein Texas, Germany
    Should be quite a bit faster than a 7900GS (official minimum).
     
  11. FiveRings

    FiveRings Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Sofia
    Thanks for the insights, guys! I am on the below-min level, so I'll continue reading the thread. Pls, someone let me know when and where the demo appears so I might do the check, thanks in advance!
     
  12. trevort

    trevort Corporal of Marines

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    I have an ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT. Are there any PCI cards I could upgrade to? I would like to get as far away from the minimum as possible. Well, back to playing ROM2 with AND v1.73 Patch E.

    My system has PCIe. Not PCI
     
  13. J-man

    J-man Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,087
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    Video card wise I'm just under the recommended specs...
     
  14. AljayBoy

    AljayBoy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Whats the chances of my laptop being able to do the business on standard maps?

    Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit.

    Processor: AMD Turion X2 mobile processor RM-70 / 2 GHz ( Dual-Core )
    Cache Memory: 1 MB - L2 Cache

    Graphics: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650 - 512 MB ( Dedicated )
    Memory Allocation Technology: HyperMemory up to 2304MB

    RAM: 4 GB (installed) / 4 GB (max) - DDR2 SDRAM ( 2 x 2 GB )
    Its a 32 bit system so only getting just over 3 gigs of RAM

    Cheers.
     
  15. Mustakrakish

    Mustakrakish In 'Node' We Trust

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,520
    Location:
    Grainvillage, Finland
    I'm worried if 3gb ram will be enough for smooth play, what do you think people?
     
  16. tokala

    tokala Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,739
    Location:
    Klein Texas, Germany
    If you are stuck with PCI, no way. If it's PCI Express, it depends on what your power-supply (and your budget) can handle ;)


    As CiV on a 32-bit system won't be able to utilize even 3GB, don't worry unless you prefer ultra-uber large maps.
     
  17. SS-18 ICBM

    SS-18 ICBM Final Threshold

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,744
    Location:
    University Base Admin HQ
    What are the more important requirements here? I can probably discount the video card, considering you can run it on lower settings.
     
  18. a5ehren

    a5ehren Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    You should be fine for standard maps.

    I wouldn't discount the video card completely - I'm guessing the "Minimum" specs are pretty conservative, but if you're down near that level you're going to be playing with all the graphics options set to low. Beyond that, I'd say the dual-core minimum spec is the most important - and if you're still running an old Pentium D I'd upgrade anyway.
     
  19. SS-18 ICBM

    SS-18 ICBM Final Threshold

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,744
    Location:
    University Base Admin HQ
    I'm not really too interested in graphics. Not really one of the more important components of a game. Replayability and gameplay are far, far more important to me.
     
  20. D712

    D712 His Imperial Majesty

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    :agree:
     

Share This Page