1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Ongoing problem connecting to CFC

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by Cheezy the Wiz, Mar 24, 2008.

  1. PrinceMyshkin

    PrinceMyshkin King

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    I'm using Charter Communications as well....
     
  2. josephstalin

    josephstalin Kremlin Highlander

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    Paris
    I'm using Comcast also...
     
  3. josephstalin

    josephstalin Kremlin Highlander

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    Paris
    An update: I think this is server dependent, from my local library I do not need proxy...
     
  4. Maian

    Maian Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Yeah, at work, I don't need to use a proxy either to access this site.
     
  5. Plinko16

    Plinko16 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    I tried Civfanatics.net, it works for me at home, but clicking the link for the .com on that page does not work.

    I pointed my browser to the IP address mentioned earlier and that also did not connect at my house, so it's probably not the DNS failing to resolve the URL, it's failing to communicate with the host for this site but not the other sites hosted by Telefragged.

    I assume someone has access to logs of what IPs visit the site here, are you seeing access from Comcast and Charter customers? If so, it might be limited to specific DSLAMs, if not then there might be an issue for a large swath of US Internet users unable to come to the site.
     
  6. SpikeIt

    SpikeIt Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,124
    Location:
    The Garden State
    Aargh. This is a frustrating problem. I haven't been able to connect as well. I can access the site, but only by using my work VPN. I have comcast as well as an internet provider.
     
  7. PrinceMyshkin

    PrinceMyshkin King

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    My wife's computer can now connect without a proxy, while the other two comps in the house still cannot. This computer had a power supply replaced recently and had its CMOS battery removed for a short time. I tried disconnecting the power supply and removing the battery overnight on my computer, but it still times out connecting to CFC. I've checked and updates are the same on both computers.

    Also, only the last line is different on running tracert on both computers. My wife's, which can connect, says starscream.telefragged with the IP address. My computer says civfanatics.com with the IP address. Hmm...?
     
  8. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Lord, has this really been going on since the end of March? Is there any word on a solution yet?
     
  9. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,182
    Gender:
    Male
    Did you see the post about the beta URLs? Those URLs are on a new server with different IP, but it seems it doesn't help this problem unfortunately. :(

    Have you tried those URLs?
     
  10. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Hadn't seen them. I will check when I get home tonight.
     
  11. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    The beta links do not work at all for me.
     
  12. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    I'll just chime in too and say that I also haven't been able to access the site for a couple of months now. Just figured out how to do the proxy thing, so this has been my first time on in a long long while.

    I tried the beta urls to no avail. My isp is Comcast if that's any help.

    This malfunction (or whatever it is) really sucks. Really no other way to put it. Hope a workaround is found soon. Thanks for everything you do for the site Thunderfall, I'm sure you're doing everything you can.
     
  13. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    New server notwithstanding, I am still unable to connect to CFC except via proxy server.
     
  14. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,182
    Gender:
    Male
    If any of you want to help us debug the problem, please PM me. Our host Telefragged wants to work with a few users who are having this problem using instance messenger such as AIM or skype. Thanks.
     
  15. PrinceMyshkin

    PrinceMyshkin King

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    Interesting. Since the server crash last night, I can enter forums.civfanatics.com without a proxy, but still not the main site. It now appears I can also use advanced edit buttons and make uploads. I could live with this.
     
  16. dutchfire

    dutchfire Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,106
    Location:
    -
    We moved to a new server, maybe that helped.
     
  17. SpikeIt

    SpikeIt Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,124
    Location:
    The Garden State
    See - I was going to report the same thing. I can get directly to civfanatics.com as well now. Hooray for the crash!
     
  18. Plinko16

    Plinko16 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    I am also now able to access the site and forums from home!

    Awesome!
     
  19. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,182
    Gender:
    Male
    That's weird indeed. But good to see you guys can access it now! :)

    I suppose when it's time for us to move back to the our home server, we should use the current IP instead...
     
  20. PrinceMyshkin

    PrinceMyshkin King

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    Yep. I can now access the main site as well. Maybe you should keep the new IP when you switch back, just in case.
     

Share This Page