1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Aug 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ansar

    Ansar Détente avec l'été

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10,555
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY (soon)
    Actually you hit the nail on the head.;)

    Its the second column in the first section of the preferences. Press ctrl+shift+P and look on the second column under GAME.:)
     
  2. scloopy

    scloopy Lost One

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    Location:
    SC
    Without this those of us who are colorblind could not play the game. Most games do not have this nice little ability.
     
  3. Rambuchan

    Rambuchan The Funky President

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13,560
    Location:
    London, England
    I'm not colour blind and I still use it all the time. Helps a lot when there are many civs in the game that have similar colours. It's a default preference setting for me, as is 'show team colour disc', for the same reasons.

    Now can someone please lead me to my guide dog? :cool:
     
  4. Mordraken

    Mordraken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Quick question on Starvation - I am not sure I saw what happened correctly, but here's what I remember:

    I had a size 13 city with about 19 food tiles to work (water & grassland) and 5 hills (iirr). I was rushing to get a wonder, so moved 5 of my food producers to the mines, and had 2 artist specialists, and got the "starvation" message. I figured it was fine if my pop dropped by 1 or 2 so I could get that wonder. The problem is, one turn late my city dropped to 8 and all I was left with was my population on food tiles (and the two specialists). All of my workers on the hills/mines died!

    ...at least - that's what I thought happened. My city may have been smaller than I thought (although I don't think I could have worked all those tiles with a lower pop). What is the effect of starvation? I thought you'd lose one pop per turn until you weren't starving, but it seems that you lose all non-food workers die until you get a +ve food/population ratio.... Does anyone know?
     
  5. watorrey

    watorrey Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rochester, NY, USA
    You only lose 1 pop/turn until the city isn't starving anymore.
     
  6. gmaharriet

    gmaharriet Ancient Crone

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,118
    Location:
    Northern California
    Artist specialists sounds like Civ4. This is the Civ3 forum. If you're playing Civ4, you might get a better answer in that section of the board. :)
     
  7. Mordraken

    Mordraken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Whoops... That's what happens when do a search & don't check the forums you're posting in ;)
     
  8. hrhomer

    hrhomer Fat Guy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    Thought I was beyond all "newbie" questions, but guess not...

    I have a problem with pollution - a square that is shared by the radii of 2 cities sometimes switches cities when pollution is cleaned up. I read on the civ newsgroup that one can re-allocate this square to the original city - is that true? If so, how?

    Joe
     
  9. thetrooper

    thetrooper Schweinhund

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,642
    Location:
    Hinter feindlichen Linien!
    Go to the city that is the current 'owner' of that tile. Remove the citizen from that tile, i.e. click him/her away from that tile. Go to the original city and put the citizen back on the tile.
     
  10. hrhomer

    hrhomer Fat Guy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    Thanks, Trooper, I'll try that tonight...

    Joe
     
  11. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    @Joe: And, if you want to be sure a specific city always works a square, even if pollution temporarily causes work to cease.......Set the City Governor ON for that city and leave it off for the city(s) having common squares. (I assume you know that you can set workers to automatically clean up pollution each turn......after the clean-up, the City's Governor will automatically "grab" that square.)

    This tactic can be very useful in the end-game if you have a Giant Metropolis City and one or more regular cities sharing squares............And, you don't want to go to the City Screen, but you DO want the Big Metro City to work ALL the squares in its radius.

    For Example: You have all your cities built, 50 turns to go to a Histographic Victory at 2050AD.......And you just want to "Run Out The Clock", with minimal "manual" city intervention. :)
     
  12. thetrooper

    thetrooper Schweinhund

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,642
    Location:
    Hinter feindlichen Linien!
    I'm looking for a list with the amount of beakers for each tech.
     
  13. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    It's not exactly a List BUT, Grey Fox's TechCalc 2.01 will give you the amount of beakers required for each Tech at each Level for each Map Size! :)

    (I use it all the time....most useful......The only Bug I know of is to remember to set the level to Regent if you are playing at Chieftain or Warlord levels.)

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?threadid=38631

    P.s. CivAssist II also has a bunch of info regarding Techs. :)
     
  14. thetrooper

    thetrooper Schweinhund

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,642
    Location:
    Hinter feindlichen Linien!
    Thanks EMan!

    It's in the utility section?

    Edit: found it.

    :)
     
  15. Tomislav

    Tomislav Inkal

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    "GOTM4: Gold Medal | GOTM17: Bronze Medal | COTM4: Silver Medal
    Civ3 Hall Of Fame: 63 EMan Games in HOF...........................Rank 1"
    :eek:

    EMan,
    how much time do you spent playing Civ 3 or Civ 4 per day?

    Tomislav
     
  16. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    @Tomislav: Too Much! (I love the competitive aspects. [Civ 3]) ;)

    And, even when I don't play at all during the day, my wife and 5 kids still give me a hard time. I guess when you're a CivFanatic, there are Crosses to Bear.

    If it wasn't for Sid Meier/Thunderfall/superslug et al, I'd be a lot Wealthier! (Money-wise) :mischief:

    Should have been in that video clip at http://www.civanon.org :lol:

    I've got to tell you Tomislav, there are Sooooo many brilliant people on this site.........I've been here 4 years and almost every day I learn something new from these people! Thanks CFC. :goodjob:
     
  17. Knickers

    Knickers Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    What is micro management?
     
  18. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,892
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Some say that is when you go around to your towns and look to see if you can change citizens around to gain more shields or gold or food, whichever you need.

    Some see it if you just keep an eye on growth and mange pop to deal with it or add structures or change improvements on tiles.

    So it can be any amount of work, depending on your perspective where you do any managing, insead of letting the govenors do it.
     
  19. Knickers

    Knickers Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Oh right, yeah, I do that...
    Now for my next trick question: When I turn a citizen into a scientist, I don't actually see the amount of gold at the bottom go up that is next to the beaker, or am I looking at the wrong thing?
     
  20. Ginger_Ale

    Ginger_Ale Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,802
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    Don't quote me on this, but I'm not sure if it appears there. Someone who played recently might be able to tell us...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page