1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Location:
    Ohio
    1. You'll have it later, and you don't have enough for your workers to do inside your territory

    2. You want to hook up a luxury or resource for the AI so you can trade for an extra source.

    3. So that the effects of global warming strip a forest outside of your territory, instead of causing a plain to become a desert or something silly like that.
     
  2. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    51,694
    Location:
    up yours.
    I usually plant forests in the way of invading armies. Slow 'em down by any means necessary. As well as getting a good defensive bonus in the second line of forests and ******g up their retreat.
     
  3. scratchthepitch

    scratchthepitch King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    798
    Having a road in outside tiles is also helpful for moving units back and forth. If an AI threatens, you can always trash the road ahead of them. And then sit back and make rude faces at them.
     
  4. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    51,694
    Location:
    up yours.
    Yes, build a perimeter road if you can spare the workers, helps with trade and with getting your troops around for defensive maneouvres.
     
  5. CKS

    CKS Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,703
    Is there any way to get the AI to break a trade embargo?
     
  6. creamcheese

    creamcheese Spreading since 1990

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Location:
    California, USA
    Get them to declare war on the country they have the embargo with. It will be cancelled. You could use an alliance or an MPP or w/e.
     
  7. FrozenSphere

    FrozenSphere Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Hey guys, I have so many questions lol.
    1. What is the reputation loss suffered from razing an opponent's city? Do the other civs start to have a more negative attitude towards you than they would otherwise?

    2. Why is it that the AI seems to NEVER want to pay me per turn in exchange for something? I want to trade my luxury resources, and the other civ only offers me 5 gold for a wine. That's ridiculous. But that's all the gold that that civ has in the treasury. But as soon as I suggest even 1 gold per turn in addition to the lump sum, my trade advisor says "They would never accept such a deal." Why are they so uptight about paying on a per-turn basis??
     
  8. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,879
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I am not on top of the razing as it has no impact for me, I am going raze regardless. That said, I think it does nothing to your rep, it is an attitude hit.

    The issue with gpt deals is that you likely have a broken rep. They will not make gpt, if you have a bad rep.
     
  9. spryllino

    spryllino Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,162
    Location:
    England
    Not very much, but a little bit.

    Either because it's Ancient or Mediaeval times and the AI is always short of money then, or because you went to war with them when they had a gpt deal going with you.
     
  10. FrozenSphere

    FrozenSphere Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    So would their change in attitude not be noticeable if I raze 1 city? Or 2?

    It is medieval times in this game. I'm trying to trade with a civ that I've never gone to war with, and also I have not ever broken any agreements so far this game; I have not even been to war with anyone yet. (I'm planning on war, though; that's why I ask about razing)

    Does adjacency have anything to do with it at all? As in, how far apart we are from each other? This civ that I'm trying to trade with is not adjacent to me, borders-wise. (Yes, we do have a viable trade route, though.) But I was able to strike a deal just now with a different civ that is adjacent to me, and that civ is now paying me 4 gold per turn. (that happened after I posted the above question)
     
  11. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Location:
    Ohio
    Note that spryllino's answers don't really work that well.

    1. You do NOT suffer any loss in trading reputation, AFAIK, from razing. However, you do suffer a loss in AI attitude.

    2. The AI will basically set their sliders every-turn (so long as you don't stop paying them gpt in one way, or someone else stops paying them gpt), and then if they have positive gpt, they'll have that gpt available to trade. That number consists of the most gpt they'll give you for any deal. The amount of gpt they have available only coincidentally has to do with the time of the game, as upper level AIs sometimes do have gpt available during ancient and medieval times... especially if they have a GA going on.

    The maximum amount of gpt you can get for luxuries and resources will vary with the size of the AIs empire.

    Adjacency, AFAIK, doesn't affect anything.
     
  12. darski

    darski Regent in Training

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Location:
    Ontario, Can.
    I'm just wondering about what would be called a sneak attack?

    is it just the fact they move onto your land without declaring first or does it still qualify if you give them a "declare or move" demand when they have moved (in force) onto your land.

    this does not affect the balance of the earth... I just got thinking about it is all.
     
  13. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,879
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    If they have moved into your land, I would say your attack is not a sneak attack. This is due to the fact that they should be considering you would attack with that provacation.

    Usually it is considered (imo) a sneak attack, if you attack without a declaration. Japan did not think they were sneak attacking US as they planned on delivering a DOW prior to the bombs falling.
     
  14. darski

    darski Regent in Training

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Location:
    Ontario, Can.
    an interesting day for this discussion to come up. I was considering that act this AM.

    Strangely, I am playing Japan today but I was sneak attacked by England. :rolleyes::lol:
     
  15. FrozenSphere

    FrozenSphere Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25

    Wow, thanks for those links!

    Again, I'm kind of annoyed that this is not documented anywhere, not even qualitatively. Someone had to experiment with the game to figure it out... lame.
     
  16. DEERHUNTER

    DEERHUNTER Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Longview Tx
    during install of civ3 complete I'm told:
    When downloading Civilization 3 complete gold. I get this
    Error 1305. Error reading from file \Art\movies\intro.bik. verify that the file exist and that you can access it

    the file does exist, so I assume the problem is that I cannot access it. what can be done about it?
    I have already looked on this site for the solution and was told to go to Atari which so far seems like it was a waste. My computer runs Vista and is a X86, it’s less than 6 months old. It meets all requirements to run this game.
    Please Help Don
     
  17. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,879
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Did you use the RUN option for the download? This seems to cause problems. Try to do the d/l again wiht a save. Then execute the install, if that is an option. The file probably is corrupted.
     
  18. FrozenSphere

    FrozenSphere Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    If I demand that a civ remove troops from my territory, and the civ refuses, am I the one who declared war on them? (And so I will be the one receiving the attitude hit from all the other civs, like it says in that link?)

    Corollary: Also, is there absolutely no way to demand a civ remove their troops from your territory without making it an ultimatum -- i.e. if they don't, it's war?
     
  19. creamcheese

    creamcheese Spreading since 1990

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Location:
    California, USA
    1) No, the AI takes the hit, and declares war. It will even say "x declares war on you". You get war happiness as well :)

    2) No, there is not, it is always leave or war. You could try blocking the path of the AI units with your units, making them turn back.
     
  20. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well you could gift them the nearby city(ies). But, if you don't want to do that, then yes, you have to give them an ultimatum.
     

Share This Page