1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. CKS

    CKS Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,658
    You can sell the improvements that you built before you got the wonder. If you built it yourself, you get the option to sell it; if it is wonder-built, you can't sell it. If you are playing for 100k, beware: free temples don't get culture doubling, so don't sell any temples you've built previously.

    Preserve Random Seed does guarantee the same results if you do exactly the same sequence of things. However, if you change the order in which you do things, the outcomes may be different. Additionally, talking to the AI accesses the RNG (deciding what to say to you), so if you talk to the AI a different number of times than you did the first time, you can change the results of everything after that.
     
  2. MysteryX

    MysteryX Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    With preserve random seed set, you only get the same results if you perform the actions requiring randomness in the same order.

    Basically, the computer isn't really giving you a completely random number every time a random event occurs. It has essentially a pre-generated list of numbers, and every time a random event is called for, the computer just uses the next number on the list.

    It's similar to using A Million Random Digits with 100,000 Normal Deviates.

    With preserve random seed, when you reload, you start with the same list of numbers in the same place on that list where you left off. Without preserve random seed, you get a completely new list when you reload.
     
  3. Marko30

    Marko30 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Hello :)

    Newbie here with probably a stupid and obvious question. I was reading a few stories in which there was 31 Civilizations in one game. I thought it looked interesting and tried to set one up myself, but even when I select a huge map, the maximum amount of enemies that is possible is 15. How is it possible to set up a 31-Civ game?

    Cheers.
     
  4. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    Hi,

    You can change the map size and number of nations in the editor and save it as a scenario.
     
  5. r16

    r16 not deity

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,409
    is Marko30's case because he is using Vanilla ?
     
  6. Rundown

    Rundown Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    America
    Got a quick question. If an ai doesn't have access to a key resource such as saltpeter or horses per say will they be able to build units that need them such as musketmen or cavalry. I know the ais can trade resources with each other but I feel as if I have seen the ai build cavalry with no access to saltpeter and I am pretty sure they were not trading either.
     
  7. Cyc

    Cyc Looking for the door...

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14,736
    Location:
    Behind you
    Their saltpeter resource may have dried up before you were able to verify this. They built their Cavs and lost their resource.

    What makes you think they weren't trading?
     
  8. Rundown

    Rundown Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    America
    I don't know, maybe I overlooked it. Was just wondering if the ai had this advantage over the human player but I guess not. Thanks for verifying :goodjob:
     
  9. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    50,754
    Location:
    up yours!
    They can have it from somewhere you can't see, have them traded (even from you, peace agreements in large games with many players lead to strrange resource exchanges), or, as Cyc posted, have built them and then lost the resource (by it being conquered by someone else, by the resource disappearing, or by a trade agreement ending).
     
  10. Experiment 626

    Experiment 626 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    Escaped from Jumba's lab
    Howdy, howdy!

    It's been a few years since I posted here (or even played c3c for that matter).

    I came back because I found a news item on the Internet stating that someone has been playing the same Civ II game for over ten years. He even posted some wild pictures of a post-apocalyptic future. (Evidently, there have been numerous Nuclear Wars and multiple instances of Global Warming).

    I looked at the pictures, and got homesick for c3c. So here I am!

    My question? Um . . . How do I play this game again? :lol:

    (Yes, I'm kidding . . . but I'm sure that I'll have questions to post soon enough.)
     
  11. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,128
    Location:
    Taiwan
    hahaha
    "post-apocalyptic" is my favorite word EEEVER!! :D
     
  12. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,617
    Gender:
    Male
    :yup: post-apocalyptic is great! :D
     
  13. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    50,754
    Location:
    up yours!
  14. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    Hi,

    I have got a slightly unusual problem.

    My cat jumped on to my keyboard while I was playing.

    And after that my unit order buttons are on the right side of the screen instead of lower side. :confused:



    As I do not know what keys Helena has pressed: How do I get my buttons back to the lower side? I have not found anything in the manual.

    Thanks!
     
  15. Cyc

    Cyc Looking for the door...

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14,736
    Location:
    Behind you
    And they are in reverse order also. Hmmm. Unless you read them from the top, instead. Never mind.
     
  16. darski

    darski Regent in Training

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Location:
    Ontario, Can.
    Hit your backspace key! been there and done that :lol:
     
  17. Experiment 626

    Experiment 626 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    Escaped from Jumba's lab
    * Post moved to MapFinder thread *
     
  18. Kirejara

    Kirejara King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    Thanks Darksi,

    it works! ;)
     
  19. Takhisis

    Takhisis Jinping, wer fragt uns?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    50,754
    Location:
    up yours!
    Experiment 626, maybe you should ask in the MapFinder thread.
     
  20. CommandoBob

    CommandoBob AbstractArt

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    8,231
    Location:
    Too near The Temple of Jerry Jones
    :hmm:

    Uh.... surely you remember this: Experiment 626's TDG2 or 'Pinky and The Brain take over the world!'? Ring any bells? It's been, oh, say, 4 1/2 years since it got started and almost 3 years since you last posted.

    Ready to pick up where we left off?

    Ve hafe vays ofh may-king you plaay!
     

Share This Page