1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. Bucephalus

    Bucephalus Shooting from the lip....

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,092
    Location:
    England's green and pleasant land.
    Unit support costs are costing you 28gpt - I'm guessing that you have two defenders in each town; that is completely unnecessary in towns that are not vulnerable to the AI, ie those deep within your territory. Also, your towns are too small - once you get them above size six, they will give you three free unit support, further reducing your expenses.

    Berlin and Hamburg would fare better building an aquaduct; Konigsberg and Leipzig are building colesseums, probably the least useful of any building.
     
  2. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    *cough* Coastal fortresses *cough*

    At least Colosseums give happiness (which you can do better with by bumping up the lux rate) and culture. The only time I build the Colosseum now is when I need a culture bump in that city.

    Looks like a fairly loose city placement too. Probably squeeze some more towns in there.
     
  3. Kubko

    Kubko Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    yeah the game builds buildings/units without asking me anything lol, how do i turn that off?
     
  4. Nergal

    Nergal Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    In preferences there is an option to always build last unit and also wait at end of turn.
     
  5. Tone

    Tone Deity Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    Go to preferences. Check the box that says something like 'always ask new build'

    You might find a few options of interest there actually
     
  6. Bartleby

    Bartleby Remembers laughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,353
    Location:
    Englishman in Cork
    As far as I'm aware there's no way of telling, except as you've observed the units with fewest remaining moves seem to be at the top of the list.

    It's the same when loading units into a stack of boats...when the dialogue box pops up asking which boat to load, I always pick the bottom one because if you pick the top one they'll load onto the boats that have already moved. The boat problem can be overcome by renaming your boats, I suppose you could do that for bombers but you'd still have to manually keep track of the ones you've used.
     
  7. Moosezilla

    Moosezilla Grognard Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canton of Roaring Waste
    @Darski, My routine is right click fortify all wake all wait wait wait...etc. I wonder when the patch is coming?
     
  8. darski

    darski Regent in Training

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Location:
    Ontario, Can.
    Well at least I feel better knowing that I am not missing something. Thanks guys as always.
     
  9. hossam

    hossam Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478
    Location:
    Texas
    is the paratrooper(or modern paratrooper) of any value, or is a completely nerfed unit? any good tips to put them to good use?
     
  10. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,868
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Can't thing of any real good reason.
     
  11. Nergal

    Nergal Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Never used paratroopers, I've used marines in 2 or 3 games because I had no choice.
     
  12. Oxus

    Oxus Explorer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Hello, dudes. I'm looking for some good mod with WWII, but I don't want HUGE map with already ready scenario. I want to play some random map when you just start with one settler. ^^ .

    I"m searching from few days and I can't find it, please HELP! ^^
     
  13. Verarde

    Verarde Pondering Wearing A Hat

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795
    Location:
    Northern VA
    There's not a scenario like that that I'm aware of.

    I'm back Civ3 fans!
     
  14. ChaosArbiter

    ChaosArbiter King

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    903
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Do you mean that you want a random-map scenario with early Modern Age (or late Industrial Age) units?
     
  15. Arexander

    Arexander Trucker

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    820
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Finland
    Arexander appears from no where.

    Probably some WWII mod made in here but without custom map. I don't know if there are any of those and I don't have time to search right now.

    Arexander vanishes into a cloud of dust.



    (This means that I was just taking a quick peek at CFC in the middle of our move to the new house. I still don't have internet connection there :sad: )
     
  16. Oxus

    Oxus Explorer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Yep, but something better developed then the standard CIV III Industrial Age - with more unique units for every nation.
     
  17. Moosezilla

    Moosezilla Grognard Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canton of Roaring Waste
    There is a Modern era start scenario or mod. I think it might be in DL section.
     
  18. Sparthage

    Sparthage Fighting Tyranny

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    New Lunar Republic
    There's a map that comes with Conquests that has you start with all the techs, but I'd guess that's not what you're thinking of.
     
  19. Oxus

    Oxus Explorer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Yep.
     
  20. Evil_Abe

    Evil_Abe Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    AZ
    Why in some games, when I rain down firey radiation death on my enemies the entire world declares war on me, but in other games I can use 20 nukes and still be friends with every one?
     

Share This Page