Quick Questions / Quick Answers

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Theral, Aug 23, 2016.

  1. LifeOfBrian

    LifeOfBrian King

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    757
    Thanks, InkAxis
     
  2. Jiggly

    Jiggly Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    It is Modern era and all of a sudden it says impossible when I try to give my open borders to other Civs. Is this a bug or is the AI making it impossible so I don't steamroll them with tourism?
     
  3. Rean

    Rean Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    117
    Yeah, if you're doing well on tourism they'll eventually refuse open borders.
     
    Recursive likes this.
  4. stii

    stii King

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Does anyone know where exactly the line for too close is when the AI asks you to not settle to close? I'm never sure what I can get away with.
     
  5. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    8,476
    Well right now its hypersensitive, which I know Recursive is looking into. hehe right now the answer is "if its on the map, its too close" :)
     
  6. Recursive

    Recursive Covets Lands That You Currently Own Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2,689
    Gender:
    Male
    Varies based on the AI's Boldness flavor.
     
  7. Recursive

    Recursive Covets Lands That You Currently Own Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2,689
    Gender:
    Male
    Fixed this. The AI had two different ways of locating trade routes to plunder, and only one of them was checking if a player was a bad theft target. Now they both do.
     
    cammcken and 4CV like this.
  8. PortugeseChicken

    PortugeseChicken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Why can't my knight capture this Great General?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Recursive

    Recursive Covets Lands That You Currently Own Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2,689
    Gender:
    Male
    You can't capture civilians if you've already attacked a unit or city this turn.
     
    PortugeseChicken likes this.
  10. usadefcon1

    usadefcon1 Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    What is the formula for how the happiness numbers are computed? Is the distance to other Civs taken into consideration?
     
  11. solohard1011

    solohard1011 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Is Legion's pilum supposed to work in any terrain under any conditions?

    Recently played Rome, and didn't notice it working even once - my fortified Legion units were standing right next to the enemy for multiple turns, but didn't seem to do any damage. I thought maybe because of the rough terrain/jungle/river.
     
  12. solohard1011

    solohard1011 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Also, is there a list of the country-specific events somewhere? I don't think I've ever seen one, in every game I see only common generic events about monuments and baths and whatnot.
     
  13. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    8,476
    Does anyone have the formulas for the Great Writer, Artist, Musician, and Scientist bulbs? Aka how the final result when you bulb them is calculated?
     
  14. 4CV

    4CV Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    I just finished a Rome game and there were no problems with legions "pilum". I am sure it does not depend on terrain. Are you sure they were really "fortified", not on "alert"? (Only thing I can think of, because I made that mistake sometimes in earlier games)
     
    vyyt likes this.
  15. Rean

    Rean Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    117
    You need a mod for civ specific events, they're not there by default
     
  16. PortugeseChicken

    PortugeseChicken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    I know the answer of this question will depend, but is it advisable to declare war on a civ to liberate cities so your war monger penalty goes down?
     
  17. tsmith7163

    tsmith7163 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Quick question - if I get intrigue about pending attack - say my ally is going to attack someone and I Make that someone aware- Is my Ally alerted that I tipped off his attack? And/or do I get a negative diplomatic with my ally?
     
  18. Recursive

    Recursive Covets Lands That You Currently Own Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2,689
    Gender:
    Male
    No.

    The liberation bonus should cancel out the warmongering penalty, but it might be bugged at the moment. I've been debating simply removing the penalty for declaring war, and having it based on capturing cities.
     
    tsmith7163 likes this.
  19. PortugeseChicken

    PortugeseChicken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, I believe it might be bugged still. I'll liberate a city and get the bonus for one turn, but then it'll revert back the next turn?

    Penalty based on cities sounds like it might be a good idea. Bunch of wars can be engaged by civs without taking cities since they're on the other side of the map and other reasons. Would the idea be that the penalty would increase more and more as you capture cities? I've never really thought any warmonger penalty was unfair when playing tbh. I just keep in mind that it goes up every so often, but this idea seems interesting since it's directly linked to things that the player does.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2021
  20. psparky

    psparky Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    Liberation might be bugged? There used to be a problem with liberating CS that, because they didn't exist at the start of the turn, they didn't set a "value" for the city. I've still got a hacked workaround in my old version but I thought it was fixed since then, but maybe not.

    I don't think you should be able to declare war without some sort of diplomatic/warmonger penalty - I believe I would be much more inclined to declare war if the penalty was removed e.g. for a bribe, to please another civ, to stop their missionaries, they are just bugging me in general....
     

Share This Page