1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

R.E.D. Modpack .2

Units rescaling and new formations

  1. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am. Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3,333
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    Have you tried deleting the game cache and Mods.sqlite files?
     
  2. Brunoflip

    Brunoflip Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Is it possible to upload here for mac users?
     
  3. gelodgreat

    gelodgreat Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    465
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    Here
     
  4. Brunoflip

    Brunoflip Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks! That was fast ^^

    The size seems really small, am I suppose to merge it with the original files or it's a standalone?
     
  5. gelodgreat

    gelodgreat Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    465
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    It's already uploaded in Steam. I just uploaded it here for other users. It's a standalone
     
  6. InfernoDHeart

    InfernoDHeart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Thank you for this tip. I deleted these files but it did not change the situation. However, it gave me a valuable insight that helped me resolve the issue.

    Apparently, the problem was that even though I was starting a new game, I was loading the saved configuration (of a previous game setting) from the advanced options instead of starting a fresh new configuration. So, even though I was starting a new game, the previous save configurations perhaps did not take the mod changes into account (I presume). I deleted all the past save configurations and then applied Kanan's advice (for a second time); I deleted all the cache files and the Mods.sqlite files (just to be on the safe side) and created a brand new configuration. I manually pinched in all the civilizations and the game settings for a new game. Now it is working perfectly along with the other mods (that were not working properly before).

    Thank you both for helping me with the problem analysis and resolution.
    I deeply appreciate it. :)
     
  7. HarlequinLord

    HarlequinLord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Huge fan of your work on Civ5, was wondering if an "extreme" version of R.E.D would also be in the works?

    Also, if by chance, do you know if it is possible to removed the combat 'explosion' looking effect when units hit each other? or if it is built into the animation. It takes up a large poriton of the combat and is there for all combat types, club/axe, gun, they all have the same exploding effect on contact.
     
  8. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,730
    Location:
    France
    I'm not planning any xtrem version with the current modding framework and the difficulty to provide compatibilyty, but if someone want to make one, he can.

    I don't know for the effects.
     
  9. fraggle7

    fraggle7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    how easy is it to add custom civs to have RED sized units?
     
  10. ITcore

    ITcore Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Gedemon,

    Can you update the count for UNIT_ANCIENTEMBARK? I was getting some bug reports about the Maori settlers only having 1 boat and noticed that it is being influenced by the base modpack's setting. Bumping it up to 3 from 1 makes it work. Maybe go higher and lower the scale to increase the embarked count?
     
    Gedemon likes this.
  11. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,730
    Location:
    France
    I'll have a look
     
  12. Joe49115

    Joe49115 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi.
    I'm new to the forums, and i have a few questions about the Modpack (It's a great one by the way, great work)

    1. Will the Steel & Thunder version be updated for Unique Units?
    2. I've seen since gathering storm, some units have gotten a lot smaller, like the Caravel. Is this on purpose? It looked fine before, but now it looks a bit too small (I attached an image so you can see)
    3. And what happened to the Ironclad? There used to be 3

    -Thanks, Joe49115
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 16, 2019
  13. spiros

    spiros Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Guys it says this mod is incompatible with game version.how can i fix it?
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  14. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,730
    Location:
    France
    simply ignore the warning.
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  15. maconnolly

    maconnolly Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2019
    Messages:
    150
    Gender:
    Male
    @Gedemon - I hope you don't mind me posting a reply here. As you know, I've been testing what is possible in terms of streamlining compatibility-modding for the R.E.D. unit scale.

    @fraggle7 - the R.E.D. unit scale applies to units by type. Therefore, a custom civilization that uses the base-game units (Warrior, Archer, etc) will work straight-out-of-the-box. There's no need to do anything additional.

    For new unit types (e.g. new unique units configured as part of that custom civ), which are not defined within the R.E.D modpack, you need to mirror the logic within the Units.artdef so that the game knows those unit types should be rendered at the smaller scale and with more members-per-unit.

    I'm in the process of testing the ability to include R.E.D.-modpack compatibility within a single mod - in simple terms, so that a mod can use the original scale for its custom units if the R.E.D modpack is not active, but apply the R.E.D. modpack scale if it is. I will report back.
     
    Knightfall likes this.

Share This Page