1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

R.E.D. World War II development thread

Discussion in 'R.E.D. World War II Edition' started by Gedemon, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,351
    Location:
    France
    ~20 slots left, reserved for "must have".

    Like the one on that teaser:


    Spoiler :
    the flag with the ∞ symbol. Not for "infinite" here, but for "Air force". aka airfield.


    Spoiler :
    :banana: :banana: :banana:
     
  2. thecivinator58

    thecivinator58 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    USA
    Nice! But no new civs till after we fix the unit limit, huh :(
     
  3. Gwynin

    Gwynin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    tbh new civs/units should take a back burner at the moment, in order to fix the features of the mod and add more projects/operations to the current civs.

    We allready have the major powers in-game and even some I would consider minor ones, currently there is no need to add anymore (atleast not in the europe scenarios).
     
  4. SpitfireV

    SpitfireV Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Hey Gedemon, do those airfield "units" have health? Because I want to make a Battle of Britain scenario, and this airfield tile is absolutely perfect. More perfect if you could bomb it and damage it, reducing the aircraft based there ability to fight. And perhaps destroy it altogethr.

    And I agree with Gwynin

    P.S. I find it funny how you have a spoiler to dancing bananas xD
     
  5. thecivinator58

    thecivinator58 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    USA
    But would it not be fun to win World War 2 with some little country like Greece or Hungary? We could shelf the project, but by no means sack it.
     
  6. Gwynin

    Gwynin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Its about priority lists, nothing else :)

    Its more important to have the core mod up and running with all features before you spread out your work time on other things, once the core is up and running you can start adding more flavor.
     
  7. thecivinator58

    thecivinator58 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    USA
    True.
     
  8. FouR_Pharao

    FouR_Pharao Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Hi Gedemon,

    i saw your new UI Screen and i thought: "is that your logo R.E.D. World War II Edition"

    Spoiler :


    So i thought i'm making a logo, that would fit into the art of world war II game.

    So here is my sketch of an RED WW2 Edition logo. If you like it, you can use it for your purposes.

    Spoiler :


    The image is a bit blurry (upload to civfanatics, but i have a scharper veriosn if you want it)

    PS: I've found some of my old icons, i should find time to finish them off, so you can use it.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,351
    Location:
    France
    Great, I like it, thank you ! :goodjob:

    I'm very happy to see you around, and I'll add it ASAP when you send it to me ;)

    You call it a sketch, does that mean you have other designs in mind ?

    And I'd love to have your icons when ready of course.

    I don't know if you can take request, but we may add Finland as another nation, and icons for Mannerheim and Metaxas (Greece) would be welcome.
     
  10. thecivinator58

    thecivinator58 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    USA
    As I said before, someone did a mod that made a Finnish civ, with Mannerheim as leader, so you may want to talk to him.
     
  11. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,351
    Location:
    France
    yep, actually in my post I linked to his thread for reference to Mannerheim. the diploscreen from his mod may be used as it is, but for the DoM screen I need the propaganda posters.

    I'll open a thread to discuss Finland inclusion.
     
  12. thecivinator58

    thecivinator58 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    USA
    *Faceplam* Sorry, didn't see.
     
  13. Skibbi

    Skibbi Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    422
    I can't find the line
     
  14. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,351
    Location:
    France
    which file are you using as template ?
     
  15. Skibbi

    Skibbi Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    422
    RedEuro1940Setup.lua
     
  16. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,351
    Location:
    France
    line 47.
     
  17. Skibbi

    Skibbi Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    422
    Thankyou! I can start work on the map soon!
     
  18. Skibbi

    Skibbi Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    422
    Damn this - it's in Gods + Kings format...
    I can't change it and the icon for infantry is settler!
     
  19. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,351
    Location:
    France
    you can try to temporarily move the g&k dlc folder out of the civ5 folder when using the wb:

    \Steam\steamapps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\DLC\Expansion
     
  20. thecivinator58

    thecivinator58 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    USA
    I saw a Romanian city called "Lasi". It should be "Iasi".
     

Share This Page