1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

R.E.D. World War II development thread

Discussion in 'R.E.D. World War II Edition' started by Gedemon, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,311
    Location:
    France
    The download link and installation instruction are here

    This thread is about the development of the mod, help is welcome for future releases :D


    Projects files are on GitHub:

    Current version
    Converted version (pre-alpha, not playable)
    DLL source code

    You'll need modbuddy (part of the SDK tools for civ5) to build the projects and MV C++ 2010 (for example) to compile the DLL.

    I suggest to install a GUI Client for GIT to simply download updates instead of the whole zipped branch if you want to follow the development.

    You can follow this guide by whoward69 to set up your coding environment, the differences being:
    - the git link (see above)
    - R.E.D WWI is a branch of the repository, not master (switch to that branch)
    - the project to build is CvGameCoreDLL, not CvGameCoreDLL_Expansion2


    Credits:

    see the full credits list.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,311
    Location:
    France
    Known bugs:

    - Automatic denunciation against the player are notified by a negative answer from the AI
    - some icons not working in strategic view (SW will be deactivated anyway, but still...)
    - Diplomatic dialog about expansion on turn 2 should not happens
    - Promotion Flag mod sometimes display wrong promotions for an unit

    Help needed:

    - Other nations (Hungary, Poland, Finland, Netherlands, ...)
    - Units models (see Danrell's threads in the forum unit section for the available ones)
    - material to make good DoM and diplo screen (including at least 8-9 WW2 poster related to that nation)
    - mp3 speech of the leader
    - introduction texts like for the other nation in the mod​


    Available icons

    Spoiler :








     
  3. rhettrongun

    rhettrongun Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    TX
    Very nice. I am looking forward to playing this.
     
  4. MAGBaxter

    MAGBaxter Warlord

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Britain, England
    Now this looks good, but why is Britain purple ?
     
  5. Hulfgar

    Hulfgar Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    This looks really good!

    Do you need some help? (for translations perhaps)
     
  6. Redox

    Redox Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Looks nice, Modern era is my favorite. I just hope you'll have a version with smaller map size at some time. Although I guess it's not about conquering the whole world here?
     
  7. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,311
    Location:
    France
    Red is for russia, white is too close of German grey, normal blue is too close of French blue (which is not French flag blue btw), and this purple is not so far from Union Jack blue. that may change anyway.

    I'll surely need help, for debugging first, and for checking/adding texts and translation, yes, thanks :goodjob:

    I'll also need 2D art for new unit class icons, maybe some buildings icons too.

    And if someone could convert even more ww2 civ4 units, It'll be great... Even if Danrell has already made a fantastic job :D

    But first, I'm finishing the beta.

    The map used here is quite big, but I try to code this mod so that adding another (and smaller) WW2 theater of operation could be done.
     
  8. MAGBaxter

    MAGBaxter Warlord

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Britain, England
    why not make Britain Babylon blue ?
    I am actually really looking forward to this, after this one you should do the same map but make it WW3 maybe try a Pacific map with Japan, China and the US
     
  9. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,311
    Location:
    France
    Here it is ! :D


    [...]


    edited : download link and instructions are now in first post
     
  10. Sonereal

    Sonereal ♫We got the guillotine♫ Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    14,875
    Quick questions before I start testing: Any chance of supply and capturing tiles being separated from the scenario in the future as a mod (or mods)?

    Also, given my experience with the game, auto-capturing tiles means you can't pillage I think. :/
     
  11. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,311
    Location:
    France
    I don't plan it in short term, but tile capture and supply could be ported to vanilla.

    About pillage, no you can't do it now, but thanks to a suggestion made some time ago about my Stalingrad mod, there'll be smaller scale units, maybe invisible to other normal units, and without the tile capture ability... recon, sabotage (yes, pillage), etc...
     
  12. Sonereal

    Sonereal ♫We got the guillotine♫ Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    14,875
    So, played the scenario a little bit. A few things I've noticed is that auto-capturing tiles works fine. However, I think some kind of timer needs to be displayed when the next declaration of war is coming. Otherwise, the player is operating in the dark about when the declaration is coming. The unit icon for my German infantry divisions doesn't show up in strategic view.
     
  13. Putmalk

    Putmalk Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Location:
    New York
    You need unit icons? I could help with that.

    Try brown.
     
  14. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,311
    Location:
    France
    Yep, even myself I would like it to be more dynamic. And it should allow more freedom of choice to the player.

    If possible, instead of having you as the player automatically declare war on Poland if you play Germany or USSR, it'll be better to have a pop-up asking something like "Should we respect the Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact ?" with some kind of consequences.

    In current form, a sort of timer, coming from a notification icon a few turn before with a text like "Our secret service believes that an invasion of Poland is imminent" could be done I think.

    In all case, I need to do a real calendar.

    How's the feel of the speed in game, is 360-400 turns too much ? (that's ~5 days / turn)

    Yep, thanks, I'll need some for the new unit classes, if possible in the same style of vanilla Civ5 icons (ie pictures with some kind of drawing filter)

    Here's a list if anyone is interested to do some:

    - heavy fighter : maybe based on a P-38 or a Bf-110
    - attack aircraft : Stuka !
    - heavy bomber : I can use the vanilla B17 here or another 4 engines bomber (or a 2 engine bomber to replace the bomber icon)
    - fighter-bomber : P-47 or Il-2
    - mech infantry : something less modern than the vanilla icon. german half-track ?
    - heavy tank: I may use the Panzer icon, but a King Tiger or a IS-2 could do
    - paratroops/special force : I'll go for the foreign legion icon, unless you found something better like British Commandos
    - engineer : something like that
    - dreadnought : not really needed, I'll use it for soviet Gangut (or I'll use the Ironclad)
    - transport ship
    - mobile HQ

    and then there are the buildings:
    - military dock
    - military airport
    - different usines types
    - recruiting center
    - cabaret

    Brown ? like the one I use for Finland or Romania on the map ?

    may I ask why this color ? :D
     
  15. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,311
    Location:
    France
    ho, and I forgot this : I'm sorry for the turns time, but I'll need to remove strategic view to be sure that the events fire for the retreat mechanism... :(
     
  16. MAGBaxter

    MAGBaxter Warlord

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Britain, England
    just started as Britain, im loving it so far except i think production is far to slow, ihave been playing for about 1 hour and i have only just completed a military base, and no Infantry in Britain, i want to go over shores and help poland, PS. stonehendge should be in plymouth :)
     
  17. Bonci

    Bonci King

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    Tridentum - Italia
    it's crashing for me :(

    one time when i double clicked on milan to change production and another after clicking on a swiss city (the name was unreadable and the ui was broken)
     
  18. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,311
    Location:
    France
    yep, I'll give a bit more units to every nations at start and some buildings in selected cities to help quickening the beginning. But some cities won't be used to produce units, but to support them...

    and I've tried that city first for Stonehenge, but then it ended build in the sea... :rolleyes:


    you're using the latest patch ? are you playing in Italian language ? If so, can you try in English ?

    and by the way, how would you translate "fighter squadron" and "bomber squadron" in Italian ? :)
     
  19. Putmalk

    Putmalk Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Location:
    New York
    Okay, I'll get to work on these icons.

    Why brown? Because brown was the color used for Britain in a very old Sega Saturn WWII strategy game (one of the best ever, IMO) called Iron Storm.
     
  20. lenin1917

    lenin1917 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Montréal, République du Québec
    So i start a game as soviet union and its very good! love that we can liberate territory of an ally.
    But like Bonci said the name of swiss city state are unreadable, and i think the AI build unit beside of buying it. Thats destroy the gameplay because i can build up an army rapidly and the AI take like 100 turns to build a single unit.

    Continue the great work :goodjob:

    And sry for my bad english im french from Québec:)
     

Share This Page