Recommended settings for mod?

Discussion in 'Communitas Expansion Pack' started by The Boz, Mar 26, 2012.

  1. The Boz

    The Boz Nooblet

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    What are the recommended settings for the resources, starts, sizes and maps when using the newest version of this mod? I know Thal made some modifications to resource placement or something like that. Should I use standard resources or balanced? What about sizes/civs/CSs? Do you like to play with more civs/CSs per map size or less? What mods do you use to have a good, fun game on an Earth map with this mod?
     
  2. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    These average map settings are tested thoroughly with Vem. There's probably other good setups out there, but different settings might not be as balanced. :)
    • Continents or Pangaea (and their “Plus” versions)
    • Small/Standard maps on Normal speed.
    • Large maps on Epic speed.
    • Default advanced game options.
     
  3. Zeppelin4

    Zeppelin4 Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    You don't recommend marathon speed with your mod?
     
  4. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    The important thing is to pick settings you like. I personally play on standard/standard/continents plus/emperor with default advanced game settings.

    Just looking at the numbers, movement rates are the same on Marathon, but economic rates slow by 300%. This probably makes Marathon more conquest-friendly than Normal. Since the AI is not particularly good at conquest, Marathon might be easier than Normal. There's also fixed values in the game which do not scale to game speed.
     
  5. Dunkah

    Dunkah Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Just north of Boston
    I find that in Marathon AI's build more units making Conquest a bit harder. But it may just be my games, or play style.
     
  6. orangecape

    orangecape Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    I definitely find that CiV gets much easier the slower the game speed because of human military superiority. On normal speed if I wipe out the AIs army they will replenish it in 15 turns - I might not get to take more than 1 city, or maybe none at all if the distance is substantial. On Marathon it takes them 45 turns to replenish their army which is enough time to conquer their entire empire. Given enough time to reposition and juke around a skilled human can beat any number of AI units which is why the faster the game the harder it is because you can't afford to take an entire era to capture a single city! The less time you have the more risks you have to take.

    I don't see any way around this though, it is just a function of having more time to play with. That is, of course, unless the tactical AI can be made as good as an expert player... also, I would like a pony.
     
  7. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    I tried adding a pony to the game, but it requires the game core only Firaxis has access to. :think:
     
  8. rhammer640

    rhammer640 Russian Monk

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Damn Firaxis, they keep all the best things to themselves :lol:
     
  9. wobuffet

    wobuffet Barbarian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,247
    Don't worry, guys: the combat AI system's supposed to be better in Gods & Ponies.
     

Share This Page