1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Reforestation

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Mod Components' started by FramedArchitect, May 3, 2013.

  1. FramedArchitect

    FramedArchitect Reluctant Modder

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    Missouri
    Allows workers to plant forests on Plains, Grassland, Tundra and Snow tiles once Fertilizer is discovered. Workers can also plant forests on un-owned tiles outside your borders. Reforestation replaces existing improvements and features, and has a small chance to reveal a forest type resource.

    Download
    Reforestation (v.8)

    Compatibility
    * Vanilla; Gods and Kings; Brave New World
    * Any mod, as long as it includes the Fertilizer Technology.

    Supported Languages English, German and French

    Troubleshooting
    Newly re-forested tiles may not display on map until the following turn. To immediately refresh the map, toggle to the Strategic View and back to Map View.
     
    JohannesWasHere likes this.
  2. caleb007

    caleb007 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Hey I really like your mods, but i havn't been able to play reforestation 7 because I can't download it. If you have it and could upload it that would be awesome!
     
  3. berubejp

    berubejp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Hi, maybe there is some issue with the mod on steam workshop... Here is a quick workaround to let you continue to play your game. I wouldn't recommand to use the reforestation feature tho until it's resolved.

    Download the mod v6 with the link above, extract the civ5mod file in "C:\Users\YOU\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\reforestation (v 6 temp)" using 7-zip. Open the file "Reforestation (v 6).modinfo" in notepad, on the second line, change version from 6 to 7 and save the file. Use this custom mod until the mod come back online then delete it.
     
  4. jgoasrec

    jgoasrec Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    is it possible to allow workers to plant forests in plains too? =)
     
  5. FramedArchitect

    FramedArchitect Reluctant Modder

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    Missouri
    Updated to v.7; now also shows graphics while the forest is being planted as the farm replace bug has been resolved.
     
  6. FramedArchitect

    FramedArchitect Reluctant Modder

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    Missouri
    v.8 available for download in top post. Code optimization for BNW; plant forests on Snow and Plains; increased build time.
     
  7. Dracul JOSHI

    Dracul JOSHI Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Is there a version of this mod that also works for Jungles?

    Also, can I place another improvement on these tiles like I can on normal forests/jungles? (Trading posts etc.)

    P.S.:
    Wouldn't it make more sense to call the mod fertilization and giving it a sequencial improvement chain?

    Like, Snow>Tundra>Plains>Grassland>Forest>Jungle.
    And Desert>Plains>Grassland>Forest>Jungle
    I think that would balance it for multiplayer, since it would take a lot of time to make a jungle tile from a Tundra tile, but much less if there already is forest.
     
  8. Serp

    Serp King

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    I adjusted this mod a bit in my multiplayer modpack (forest takes longer to be build, because otherwise it would be too easy to build and chop it to gain production + you have a chance of finding a luxury each time, which is too heavy, if it does not take long time to build)

    I also thought about add jungle to it. But Jungle tiles are too strong, if you have a university and maybe the pantheon that gives + culture to them. That's why I did not add it.

    Yes, the forest should act like a normal forest.

    The other thing you suggested "Snow>Tundra>Plains>Grassland>Forest>Jungle." sounds interesting... But I think it would be too much power for players.
    I would not call it balanced, if every player can choose all terrain types. So it would be funny, but not good to use it in real games.
     
  9. Samusxteen

    Samusxteen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    This is a pretty obnoxious mod for obvious reasons related to the fertiliser requirement. I think it should be a default ability near the start. I suppose it's easily changed.
     
  10. thunderbird_14

    thunderbird_14 Prince

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Isles of Marble de Pilipinas
    Saying it obnoxious is kinda derogatory. I think the mod represent mass reforestation.
     
  11. saamohod

    saamohod Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    550
    Location:
    Unoccupied Ukraine
    Can AI Civs' workers plant forests, too?
     
  12. Yaviel

    Yaviel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Just a heads up, the latest release of Reforestation is V 9 and only available here.
     
  13. tommytoxen

    tommytoxen Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    200
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    worksop
    oh nice, now i can grow forests in those tundra and snow tiles :) thanks!
     
  14. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,078
    Same question, how does the AI take /not take advantage of this
     
  15. akasha27

    akasha27 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Principality of Sealand
    I've seen the AI using it on v. 8
     

Share This Page