1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

[Religion and Revolution]: Bugs and Todos

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Religion and Revolution' started by raystuttgart, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. Marla_Singer

    Marla_Singer United in diversity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    12,769
    Location:
    Paris, west side (92).
    I would personally advise goods transportation to be fully automated otherwise this will be unbearably tedious in the later stage. I keep only one or two diligences for special "one shot" needs but not more than that.

    After multiple tests about how to manage my trade routes, here's the system I've found to be the most efficient:
    • I generally define "hub" colonies. Their number should be limited (let's say 1 for 10 cities) as that makes things a lot easier to manage. They are in most cases seaports.
    • My carts only connect a single city to a single hub. Operating only one cart per city should be enough and I name them as the city they serve. That's very convenient to figure out what's going on. Similarly I name my ships as the hub port they serve (so that would be Jamestown I, Jamestown II, Jamestown III and so on).
    • The hub requires to be able to handle massive quantities, that's why those are usually seaports as you can move goods out to Europe.
    • Later in the game, my purpose is to get all goods available in the hub cities, so that I could serve other colonies with what they need. With a bit of thinking, you can feed pretty well the domestic market this way and makes tons of money.
    So, usually, my carts export the local production out of the city and import from the hub what is needed. I would classify import needs in 3 categories:
    • buildings requirement (tools or stones) if the city doesn't produce its own.
    • productions input: that can be sailcloth and ropes if my city builds ships but it can also be other things as well.
    • domestic market service: getting goods in the city to feed its domestic market (something which is very profitable by the end of the game).
    The trade route system actually works really well to do all that. It can be tedious to set up though, as you need to really take the time to think about it, but once done, it runs fully automatic.

    I don't know if that will help you @smallfry, but that would be my 2 cents.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2018
    digvoo likes this.
  2. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    Apparently, this is a feature. African slaves are allowed to be scouts, while native slaves are not! This is rather inconsistent and I lean towards this being an oversight. :crazyeye:
    Until we get the chance to change this, you can copy the tags below <ProfessionsNotAllowed> from the native slave to the african slave entry in CIV4UnitInfos.xml
     
  3. HermanHeydt

    HermanHeydt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Oslo,Norway
    I also have african slaves founding colonies in my latest game - is that a feature as well?
     
  4. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    It's tricky to track down all the (corner) cases where units are allowed to change their UNITAI (this is how the game internally decides how a unit should behave). I suppose the AI found a way that I'm not (currently) aware of.
     
  5. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    Just a general comment regarding bux-fixing and development:

    The project is already severly understaffed at the moment. As for myself I have very little time that I can actually spend on this project so I'm encouraging you guys to step up. Feel free to add your own features and to fix the many bugs that are still left. You have the source code, so roll up the sleeves and start coding\debugging. If a random person like me can stroll into the forum and contribute after a couple of weeks of playing, so can you.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2018
    Schmiddie, Hecur and digvoo like this.
  6. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    I have determined the cause of this bug and corrected it in my build. Unfortunately, this particular subsystem (CvSelectionGroupAI::AI_tradeRoutes) is one of the most convoluted aspects of the entire game. Hopefully my change is an actual fix and no other issues will be caused by it. Ideally, most of the trade route stuff should be overhauled, which is unlikely to happen unless someone steps up.
     
  7. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    Do you have a save ?
     
  8. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    - I am actually surprised to learn that borders do not reflect the actual owner of the plot. Maybe this is another feature that somehow got broken at some point. I haven't played vanilla or TAC in ages, so could someone confirm that borders are suposed to work like that (they do in Civ4 BTS and I'd like it to be that way to make culture meaningful)

    - As far as I know, most (or rather all the remaining) of the documented features should be accurate. These blanket statements are not really fair to modders who are doing their best with what limited time they have (After all, they are using their precious leisure time to create a game that other people can play and complain about). Not sure what you mean by the aura ?

    These are real AI problems and I am working on resolving them. For instance, I want the AI to protect and escort their merchant\transport ships and to carry out coastal patrols. The construction of empty buildings in tiny cities is yet another problem that I intend to resolve.
    The AI will declare independence by about turn 350 if there is no human player involved in my autoplays. If there is a human player, it is generally too easy to exploit the AI's shortcomings and to prevent it from achieving anything. The goods news is that I am implementing some deteriments to the player declaring war on his\hers European rivals.

    I agree that their presence is not very useful. Hopefully my forthcoming changes will help rectify this.

    I have extended the cap on negative attitude from requesting military help. This exploit will be gone in the next beta. TAC did not have this exploit btw since the demerit was unlimited methinks.

    Not sure what you mean with his, this more of a game balance thing. Arguably, the customs house is a bit too generous. IMHO 80% of the export price is too good. I'd like something like 50% and then have the warehouses at something like 25%. These export alternatives actually ruin an important theme of the game and if I had my way I would consider removing it altogether.

    The african port has generally better export prices for livestock and due to the random price fluctuations, the prices there will be different from the European port. I agree that it would make the game more interesting if there were to be more of a difference. I have some thoughts on this though....

    I have been thinking about randomizing the FFs (by swapping them by a maximum of 1 or 2 slots) to counteract the game getting "too stale". I've always thought that the idea of having a semi-random tech tree (like Master of Orion 1) was cool since it incentives tech trading\spying\stealing.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2018 at 2:24 AM
  9. Sarin

    Sarin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    There is a problem with nerfing the custom houses though. In late game, your colonies can produce thousands of units of export goods per turn. Had you have your way, the player would be stuck in late game with 10 minute turns spent entirely on micromanaging ship loading and unloading. I had games on marathon where I had a galleon leaving my main hub every turn fully loaded with goods, and it wasn't enough to keep up with flow of the goods.

    You'd need to implement total automation of export in order to be able to nerf custom houses.
     
  10. stillontheedge

    stillontheedge Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I have a save of this exact situation, compounded by the fact that my "capital" city is already in disorder because the previous turn I had to decline this same offer. So now my city will be in disorder for 5 turns!!

    How should I get the file to the appropriate people?
     
  11. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    Post a reply to this thread with the save attached, there's a "Upload A File" button" next to the "Post Reply" button for your convenience :thumbsup: You should also post your modifed XML files. (if any)
     
  12. stillontheedge

    stillontheedge Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I have attached the save. There are no modified XML files included, as the only XML mod is one that increases the fishing yield by level of dock built. Can't see how that yield change would change the randomness of the Train Oil event, especially as someone else is having the same issue.

    This is an autosave at the start of the turn where the second Train Oil event is generated.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    @stillontheedge
    I've found the cause of the issue. The event " WHALING" is allowed to repeat, which does not make sense at all since the factory can only be built once.

    The simple fix should be to change line 9751 in Assets\XML\Event\CIV4EventTriggerInfos.xml from <bRecurring>1</bRecurring> to <bRecurring>0</bRecurring> . This should prevent the event from triggering more than once.

    Note that in the save you've attached, the event has already triggered a second time so I suppose you'll have endure it for now. At least you shouldn't have to suffer this maladay a third time :cry:

    I will include the fix in the next beta.
     
  14. stillontheedge

    stillontheedge Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thank you for the quick response. I will make the change in my XML code and reload my game, so I don't have to see that event any more! Now if we could just stop the Spanish from taking the Founding Fathers I want....
     
  15. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    @stillontheedge
    You're welcome :goodjob:

    By the way, it seems that I forgot to mention it explicitly, but you'll have to have the game reload the XML. The only way to do this is to relaunch the game. One more thing though, to be sure that the game actually reloads the XML (which may be cached), keep the shift key pressed while launching.
     

Share This Page