1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

[Religion and Revolution]: Feedback and Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Religion and Revolution' started by raystuttgart, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. Babarigo

    Babarigo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Hi, so far I'm enjoying the mod a lot but I have the feeling that the yields of the buildings that transform raw resources into finished products are not adjusted to the 2 plots city radius.
    The bigger radius adds 14 extra plots to work. Because of this I end with lots of raw resources and the problem for me is that I can't process all those resources into finished products because the buildings are exactly like in vanilla colonization.

    Tier 1 2 workplaces 3 yields per citizen
    Tier 2 3 workplaces 6 yields per citizen
    Tier 3 3 workplaces 6 yields per citizen +50% production of the appropriate yield

    Even on a city surrounded by taiga with 0 bonus resources I'm able to produce much more furs and valuable wood that I can process in the city.
    Personally I think that all industries should follow the same pattern that the coffee and cocoa industry with the storage building chain where you need much more citizens than with the other industries. It's the only one where I will need to import raw resources from other cities.
    I know that the mod isn't developed at the moment so I will mod those changes myself but I wanted to know if I'm the only one having this feeling.
     
  2. Sarin

    Sarin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    Try using more different resources. RaR has vast amount of new resources, so instead of devoting four tiles to one resource, you can easily devote two each to different resource. Say, you have a colony on the coast, on the border of tundra and plains, with some hills thrown in. 8 tiles are sea, 5 tundra, 8 plains and 3 hills (whatever terrain). So you use sea for fishing, hills for ore, 2 tundra each for furs and valuable wood, 1 tundra 1 plains for lumber to max out production, 2 plains for cattle, 2 for cotton and dyes each, and you're left with one plains tile for either farming, barley farming or horse ranching, whatever you need. This way you have filled 9-10 max level buildings for material processing (including lumber) in one colony, and are producing small amount of excess raw materials. If you have a bonus resource, you can produce enough raw materials to fully supply a max level building from one tile, so you can devote another tile to something else.

    And if you're really out of ideas, use the tile for food production. Don't forget that hunting for regular furs produces food too...
     
  3. rah

    rah Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,710
    Location:
    Chicago
    On that note, and not as a criticism, I've been playing for domination wins on gigantic maps so when I get on a role in the mid game I stop micro managing some cities because I'm more concerned about moving the hundreds of troops need to conquer and I'll forget about another civs city that was conquered until i get the message that storage is getting tight and check and see a city with a few thousand furs in it and just chuckle. Not worth trading and too much to work. If I have a ship nearby I'll just keep loading the ship and just dumping it so I won't get the message every turn. But still having a riot playing so thanks again guys.
    Being at war with every Indian tribe and European nation can be hilarious.
     
  4. Sarin

    Sarin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    I just had a little weird idea for new improvement. Village.

    It could only be built on land bonus resource, within firendly territory but outside colony radius and would consume the pioneer upon building. It wouldn't do anything on its own, but some transport units, like oxcarts, coastal ships (for coastal villages) etc (but not carriages, treks or oceangoing ships) could be set to automatic gathering there like whaling or fishing boats, delivering the produced resource from there to nearest colony. Of course, the production per turn would be lower than colonist working the tile from colony.The goods produced would depend on bonus resource.

    It might be just a little thing, since the production would be low, but it would give the early transports some use by mid/late game, as in my games they have virtually no use-I pop a trek or two early to facilitate the early transportation and trade with inland native settlements, and then it's all carriages, which are by far best mode of transport between colonies.

    It should also provide a little defense bonus, like monasteries.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2018
  5. Hecur

    Hecur Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    i think it is great that the modding started again, but i think the main problem at the moment is that there isnt an "official" release of the mod. There is 2.7 but that is bugged as hell and it is hard to find all the patches in the different threads. I am still unsure if i have the "latest" version. This leads to cases where bugs which are actually fixed are reported again. So if @devolution could step up and bring something like 2.7_final that would be great.
     
  6. Oberon4278

    Oberon4278 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    I love this idea! I've wanted something like this for a long time, especially for valuable but remote resources (gold, silver, etc.) and for resources I want to explo... err... harvest, but which are between two cities, too far for the cities to reach but too close to justify an entire new city just for that resource.

    One thing I'd change is to make it so they can be built anywhere, but if they're outside of your cultural control then you don't "own" it, much like a fort. Whoever happens to have their wagons there is the person getting the resources, and until they leave you're locked out. This would give you access to far-flung resources but you'd have to put a military unit there to protect it from interlopers. That, or you build a fort within two tiles so it will create cultural influence for you.
     
  7. rah

    rah Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,710
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah, it's always such a shame to see a gold resource in the mountains with no square that could support a city near enough. There should be some type of collector unit. Maybe even just a pioneer sitting on the space doing a collect order. One that could be raided by natives if you didn't commit a military troop to protect.
     
  8. Sarin

    Sarin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    The "You're becoming a drain on my military" diplomacy penalty with your king seems to be rather severe in last version. It seems to increase whenever you get an unit from event concerning the King, not just when you ask for military unit. So last game, I quickly ended with -17 penalty while I never asked King for units and kept only small military.
     

Share This Page