1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Republic of Texas (Texas as playable civ)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - New Civilizations' started by Tactician Zhao, Nov 16, 2005.

1. Tactician Zhao

Tactician Zhao Lord Strategist

Greetings,

this is my first attempt at a Civilization 4 mod, but it seems to be working so far.. though it is not 100% set in stone at this point, it is completely playable

this mod adds Texas as a playable civ for anyone who wants to play as or against them.. it includes a custom flag and still images for the leaderhead

Name: Texas
    Techs: Hunting, Agriculture
    Leader: Sam Houston (financial, aggressive)
    Unique Unit: Texas Ranger (replaces cavalry, immune to 1st strikes, starts with Sentry promotion) thanks to catwhowalksbyhi for suggestion
    Flag: the Lone Star Flag

Update: Fixed the flag so it hangs correctly as per official rules vertically, with the white on the left.. the old flag is still included, now named flagdecal_texasincorrect.dds, if you prefer that one, you can rename it to flagdecal_texas.dds.. also included is the Flag of Burnet, the first official flag of Texas, basically a yellow star on a blue flag

http://www.filegone.com/efix

You can install it by unzipping the file into your mods directory (will create a directory called "Republic of Texas"), then you can load the mod through the advanced menu in Civilization 4.

here are a few screenshots
    civselect.jpg