1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Rhye's of Civilization - the fastest loading mod Expanded

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Rhye, Feb 5, 2004.

?

Rate this mod!

  1. I can't play Civ without this: no more loading times!

    203 vote(s)
    66.6%
  2. A good mod, but I won't play with it

    54 vote(s)
    17.7%
  3. I don't like the map

    13 vote(s)
    4.3%
  4. I don't like the terrain

    9 vote(s)
    3.0%
  5. I don't like the additions

    5 vote(s)
    1.6%
  6. I don't like the rules changes

    21 vote(s)
    6.9%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    You don't need to copy anything if you edit the folders:
    look at how I did with Sumeria alternative version...go to the editor, it's in scenario properties
     
  2. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I've posted the interview at the site, inside the "Description" page.
    Please tell me if there are mispells
     
  3. Jaguar

    Jaguar Lurker

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    292
    I've been experimenting a lot with China, and I've come to the conclusion that they are more powerful than Rome if you play your cards right. I'll post a save of my most recent game on Demigod once I get to 1600 or so. It's truly incredible what can be accomplished with that start.
     
  4. Jaguar

    Jaguar Lurker

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    292
    One other thought, Rhye:

    If you want, you could easily make an optional Menelik II patch. In case you didn't already know, there is an excellent Menelik leaderhead by CivArmy which can be found here.

    Right now, your mod searches for the Mursulis leaderhead and uses it as Menelik. However, if you made a patch which put the Menelik leaderhead into the folder, named exactly the same way as the Mursulis leaderhead, you could make an optional patch compatible with all future patches. For example, you rename the ancient Menelik flc to X2_Mursilis_ancient_fwrd.flc, and when the mod searches for Mursulis, it will find Menelik first.

    This isn't actually as complicated as it sounds, and I don't see any way it could cause compatibility problems.
     
  5. tacfun

    tacfun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    I don't know is lpimpj will post the mod with Australia or not...but Im not working on that project anymore. With all the experimenting with it I have learned alot and relised that I will redo a different version on the 500turn version. I believe I now understand the computers behavior better and how I can increase WONDER build times and make the game a bit more balanced.

    tacfun
     
  6. laxpimpj

    laxpimpj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    just finished it tacfun
    -added a full civilopedia
    -Their UU (Light Cavalry) + still thinking about adding huey as well.
    -America is gone (open for European colinization)
    -Wonders happen earlier

    Im u/l it right now, should be done in about 30 minutes.

    The url WILL be

    http://www.mysubprofile.com/joey/Rhye's of Civilization Australia Mod.zip
    or i guess
    http://www.mysubprofile.com/joey/Rhye's_of_Civilization_Australia_Mod.zip

    either way just go to www.mysubprofile.com/joey and look for Rhye"something".zip

    MOST IMPORTANTLY
    my ftp is pass'ed
    User name = Joey
    password = ihatemiss

    :)
     
  7. tacfun

    tacfun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    Rhye.... I have found major inbalance and or bugs. But we can fix it easy. As I was working on the mods of mine I came across Greece and wondering why York of England always built the Colossus? I found the anwser!! They had Iron near YORK! So when looking at Athens I relised that Athens Iron was on a Mountain out of range. So what I have done is moved the 1 Aluminum off the 2nd hill and put it on the Athens starting postion hill. I then removed the Iron from the mountain and put it on the hill where the Aluminum use to be and now the Iron is within the city radius. I believe the computer doesn't build WONDERS if the resource they need are not within its city radius building blocks. So even if its within your culture boarders and has a road to it it still won't use it on a WONDER! Must be within city limits. Im not 100% sure of this yet but computer does seem to act like this.

    tacfun
     
  8. Tyrion

    Tyrion Hmmm.....

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,601
    Location:
    Tasmania.
    @lax I think the password is wrong i couldnt dl it. What leaderhead did you guys use?
     
  9. tacfun

    tacfun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    Menize(Bad spelling!) leader head. It looks really cool!

    tacfun
     
  10. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America

    Jaguar, that was exactly what I was looking for. I was going to make a request, and I didn't notice that in the 26th it was posted.
    I will release the next patch before leaving, and it will include the leaderhead.
     
  11. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I will try to move iron closer to Greece. About the English, I've redrawn Britain completely, so I'll know soon what's going to happen.
     
  12. laxpimpj

    laxpimpj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    well, hmm, guess wsftp must have froze up last night, i'll re u/l after school.
     
  13. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    The mayan paedia is ok. Who knows why in the game there's a space between the R and THEI
     
  14. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    Rhye i will generate a map with fictional civ without rules change ...

    I will use Random Rhye and i will create a scenario ....

    What do you think ?
     
  15. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Good luck ;) I'll add a link to your mod in the site.

    But wait! Tonight or tomorrow I'll post the patch 2.61:

    Changes in v2.61:

    - Added Menilek leaderhead by CivArmy
    - Fixed Mayan civilopedia entry
    - Ethiopian UU now the Oromo Horseman (same animation). The Shifta will be back in the Expansion pack, with a new animation.
    - Menilek renamed Menelik. Both are correct, but the latter seems more used
    - New plains irrigation graphics; updated grassland irrigation graphics
    - Muslim fanatic animation replaced with the Saracen Infantry animation by DomPedro II
    - Swapped position of one iron and one aluminium in Greece
    - Redrawn Britain, Ireland, Iceland, Italy. Some changes to France and Libia
    - Tuned Egyptian, American and Ottoman strength
    - Babylonian starting location moved back one tile NW
     
  16. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    I temporary abandoned since i seen the work to make ;)

    I woulds like create a scenario C3C Rhye of Civ with the 134x130 Map :)
     
  17. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    Wait ! In the expansion pack, Dragoons will are the second UU of Frenchs :) ?

    Edit : Rhye, in 2.60 on random map i can't reach modern era because too late :crazyeye: I finish 2050 with middle Industrial Era ...
     
  18. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    No. It's the Grande Armée: replaces the Army
     
  19. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Oooh! What's unique about it as compared to a regular Army?
     
  20. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    this is what we will discuss together :p

    It could be an higher capacity, or an higher movement.

    The animation is OK (the Napoleon already in the mod, but with the tri-colour flag) and being the 2nd UU is accurate, as it represents the Napoleonic army
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page