1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

[BTS] Road To War - Historical - 1.06

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Road to War' started by kiwitt, Feb 8, 2021.

  1. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Yeah ... I am considering that impact quite seriously ... looking at reintroducing limits;

    500 infantry divisions for nations, 1000 for teams, 3000 for the world

    I have so far I have edited the strengths of the mega-units, so they will effectively be like over-strength divisions. However, I will probably need to give them all at least one respawn promotion and some will get two,
     
  2. GreatLordofPie

    GreatLordofPie Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Gender:
    Male
    Calculations for cities have a much greater impact on performance than units I think. In the modmod I worked on for Modern Earth, I removed all of the settled great people, a bunch of buildings and units and this brought down turn one times to like 1.5-2 mins as America on my decrepit 2014 laptop. Granted, I did also remove about 1500 units, but most of those were immobile Machine Guns, and Terrorists who were either attacking or doing those Python missions throughout the first turn.
     
    kiwitt likes this.
  3. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    I have hit a road block. Only Germany, Italy and the USA is Playable, all other major nations lead to CTDs or defeated on start.

    Weird as I play as Portugal, and the map loads and plays. So I am not sure why. As it is the same map.
     
  4. GreatLordofPie

    GreatLordofPie Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Gender:
    Male
    This is probably silly to ask but did you make sure python exceptions are enabled in the BtS ini file?
     
  5. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Oh no. May need to re-enabled ... so out of touch
     
  6. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Well a couple of more interesting discoveries in playtesting. Divisions are created too fast, so will need to increase the costs. I will bases cost on how strong the unit is including initial promotions. This will take some research and correction. In addition, I will be reducing the number of promotions, on map units start with as well.

    Considering Rock / Paper / Scissors analogy for Siege / Infantry / Armor, where each that gets a 50% combat bonus; e.g. Infantry gets a 50% versus Siege, Armor gets a 50% bonus versus Infantry and Siege gets a 50% bonus versus Armor.
     
  7. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Changes to 1.08 will be extensive

    Restict units to religion being in cities
    Remove Barracks and Military Academies from World Wonders
    Reichstad to have Broadcast Tower, Check BBC and Eiffel Tower
    Barracks required to build any ground units including reserves
    Corps/Armies can only be build in Military Academies
    Armies and Army Groups can only be built in Capitals
    Generals can be built in Military Academies
    Scientists can be built in Research Centres
    Politicians can be built in Universities
    Engineers can be built in Good Factories
    Merchants can be built in Grocers
    Great Spies can be built in Capitals
    Spies can be buillt in Jails
    Code Spies can be built in Jails
    Fascists can only be built by Barracks + Fascism in city
    Democrats can only be built by Hospitals + Democracy
    Communists can only be built by Sewers + Communism
    Neutral can only be built by Courts + Neutral
    Remove Jails, Courts from World Wonders
    Also unit limits will be re-introduced - testing showed this was unrealistic.

    Probably a lot more changes.
     
    GreatLordofPie likes this.
  8. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    In a strange 'turn of fate' in my extensive research into Generals and units, I discovered one of the generals has the exact same name as me. So I will be adding the General my mod with some "special abilities", albeit as only an infantry division. Think of it like an "easter egg" to discover.
     
  9. Arizona15G

    Arizona15G Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Hello!!! I'm sorry I'm new to this and just downloaded the new update and neither the scenario nor the mod worked properly once the game was initialized. The scenario and mod would load up but once I went to star the game it was either crash and shut down or say that I was instantly defeated.
     
  10. GreatLordofPie

    GreatLordofPie Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Gender:
    Male
    Is your game updated to 3.19? What folder did you install into?
     
  11. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    What folder is Civ IV installed in?
     
  12. Arizona15G

    Arizona15G Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Yes 3.19.
    C:Drive> program files (x86)> Steam> Steramapps> common> Sid Meier's Civ 4 BTS> Beyond The Sword> Mods
     
  13. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    You appear to have installed in C:\Program Files (x86). If you read my thread --- https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/installing-civ-4-on-windows-7-vista-32-64-bit.408537/ --- I say "Windows Vista and later versions (7/8.x/10, etc), have changed the security model for the usual folder that the games are installed in (i.e. c:\program files\), has additional protection."

    I suggest you install Steam in its own folder, via custom install option if available and then select c:\Steam as your folder. I have done this for my Civ IV Steam version on my laptop. This will probably mean you will need to re-install all your other Steam games, you may have.

    I also have the disk versions and use c:\Games as per my thread above.

    In addition, if you install Civ IV as above, any other mods should work as well.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2021
  14. Arizona15G

    Arizona15G Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Local C Drive> program files (x86)> Steam> Steramapps> common> Sid Meier's Civ 4 BTS> Beyond The Sword> Mods
    Oh okay gotcha. Damn that Windows lol.
     
    kiwitt likes this.

Share This Page