1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Roman Empire Mod

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by SKILORD, Feb 5, 2002.

  1. SKILORD

    SKILORD Insurgent

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    5,294
    Location:
    Behind you!
    This Mod contains oh.... a couple of changes to the rules i don't really think of them as cheating but tell me if you think i was too generous. i added the Empire government for everyone .... it's just cool to see russian Empire or Roman Empire as ur gov't. The Empire cannot hurry or have embassies placed in it has vetran diplomats but conscript spies. All millitary units are FREE war weariness is low as is corruption. The Advance required is Imperialism which replaces polytheism. Legions can move 2 spaces instead of one and can build roads... they did in reality so i figured why not. I'm new to the world of making mods so go ahead and tell me what i did wrong.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SKILORD

    SKILORD Insurgent

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    5,294
    Location:
    Behind you!
    i decided to change some things i added ruler titles and made the resistance and propaganda modifiers higher, it made sense to me for them to be fairly high.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. SKILORD

    SKILORD Insurgent

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    5,294
    Location:
    Behind you!
    tell me how i did? maybe i could stop bothering you? only if you tell me too!
     
  4. Octavian X

    Octavian X is not a pipe.

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,428
    Location:
    deceiving people with images
    Ancient Roman Legions were capable of building forts, too. I'd put that in.
     
  5. realn

    realn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    I think you would have to bring the Empire and little farther back in the tech tree. Maybe replace music theory instead. But overall it is a good government and I like the road building.
     
  6. slothman

    slothman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,223
    The one problem with legions build roads/etc is that unless the "terraform" ability is set the AI would use it and it can only be set of all the worker abilities are available to the unit. But it is still good idea. I may add the empire gov to my personal mod.
     
  7. Octavian X

    Octavian X is not a pipe.

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,428
    Location:
    deceiving people with images
    Roman legions were also city builders. They had a system in which within a few days, a legion could set up an entire town, made of stone. One of the more famous cities originally built by legions is London.
     
  8. Civanator

    Civanator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    2,865
    Location:
    Gone
    kool, i never knew that
     
  9. Rory_20_uk

    Rory_20_uk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    London
    I think that before one gets too fascinated by the unit, there has been a problem mentioned by others that if a unit has a hybrid of abilities, that AI basically has no idea what it is doing with the unit - just a thought there.
    Also, the romans were renowned for their use of auxillaires from the areas that they had conquered. Will if be possible to include them in your map as well?
    Also will renaming some of the advances to more fit the time period be possible? Those Greeks had a lot of ideas...
     
  10. SKILORD

    SKILORD Insurgent

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    5,294
    Location:
    Behind you!
    When PTW comes out i'll release a whole ancient world scenario that never goes past ancient age. Wait till then.
     
  11. thisismysn20

    thisismysn20 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    255
    to bad you didn't make a roman empire mod, with just that area (southern europe, nothern africa, western asia) and include greece and a few other civs... I'd love that!
     
  12. SKILORD

    SKILORD Insurgent

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    5,294
    Location:
    Behind you!
    I actually had my classical world MOD and almost did just that. It would have been great and with the current editor features i might be able to. I don't have the time right now but i;'ll find it and do it for you guye.

    Why does this MOD always come back to me? I got very little on my other attempts but this one (which was very meager) always gets attention.
     
  13. thisismysn20

    thisismysn20 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    255
    I think it is an attention grabber because the roman empire was very important and in a very important area. Not to mention the place it controlled and slightly further out would be a very nice and intriging place to play...

    If you ever do make that type of mod, like I mentioned... PLEASEEEEEE let me know. I'll be the first to download it!!!

    My e-mail is thisismysn20@aol.com...

    I've been creating a mod of my own. It has a number of new units and is using I believe a version of marla's map. Slightly smaller though. A few rule changes and added civs. It is almost done, I personally love it... I just need a damn ship!!! oh well...

    Thanks
     

Share This Page