1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Shiggs Earth

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Custom maps' started by Shiggs713, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis

    This is a huge Earth map with 17 civilizations to choose from and 23 City States, including 13 new city states I created just for this mod.

    New World
    Civilizations: America, Aztecs, and Iroquois
    City States: Rio de Janeiro, Tikal, and Cuzco

    Europe
    Civilizations: England, France, Germany, Rome, Ottomans, and Russia
    City States: Oslo, Stockholm, Helsinki, Lisboa, Athens, and Madrid

    Africa

    Civilizations: Egypt and Songhai
    City States: Cape Town, Dar es Salaam, Kinshasa, and Aksum

    Asia
    Civilizations: Arabia, Persia, India, Siam, Japan and China.
    City States: Singapore, Seoul, Lhasa, Almaty, Bandar Seri Bagawan, Sidon, and Karakorum

    Australia and New Zealand
    City States: Sydney and Auckland

    Greece is not in because they would be imposing too much on the Romans and the Ottomans. I have added the city-state of Athens to replace them for the final version, but I have created another version to try and appease everybody.

    The map is based off of Dale's Huge TSL Earth map. Most of the terrain is the same, but there have been some updates in key areas. All the resources are hand placed for strategic balance. There should be quite enough resources for everyone to get their hands on everything eventually. Some resources are sparser then others, and quite a few of them can only be found in certain regions of the world. I believe this will stimulate both trade and war and make for a better game.

    Most recent is version 6.
    This will likely not be updated again barring any problems


    TO DOWNLOAD:
    Go to the mod hub, download, install, and use it just like any other mod. To play you will have to select Shiggs Earth as your map once the Shiggs Earth mod is enabled. It is Huge size only, you can adjust the difficulty and speed settings but that is all. All victories are enabled except Time, in case anybody doesn't want the game to end at 2050. Be sure to have "Load Scenario" checked as with other pre-set up maps.

    Alternate Download - This is a compressed file, to use it you will need to extract it to your Civilization 5/MODS/ folder. Then in-game, go to mods, enable Shiggs Earth and ensure to have load scenario checked.

    There are two option maps I've recently created. To use these maps you should extract them to your MODS/Shiggs Earth (v6)/Maps folder.

    They are both essentially the same map, only with some minor changes, the names basically explain how they are different.
    Shiggs Earth Domination Only
    Shiggs Earth Greece Included

    Note: you will need to have Shiggs Earth installed for either of these to work (they are not stand alone)



    Recommended mods to use with this map:

    Valkrionn's Economy Mod
    Afforess' Active City Defense
    Bhruic's Tree Growth

    please report any problems or suggestions in this thread. Enjoy,

    Shiggs
     
  2. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Screenshots with only terrain and resources shown. Note that these are from v2. There have been many updates and fixes.
     
  3. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    And more...
     
  4. Omega124

    Omega124 Challenging Fate

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6,650
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Albany, New York
    What civ did you remove and why?
     
  5. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Greece, because they are literally right on top of the Ottomans. Plus there aren't many city states, so I picked Otto's because the Greek UA would be maybe nerfed with not many city states near. Not that the Ottoman UA is any good. Greece would have been mighty close to the Romans also.

    This basically resembles some of the earth maps for civ4, except I added a few city states where they weren't in the way. I would have made it all in the old world (AIOW) but 14 civs would be pretty light for a huge map. Its still a work in progress.

    edited first post
     
  6. HG_CassiusA

    HG_CassiusA Hallowed are the Ori

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    I had a look at the map in the WorldBuilder, and while I'm not sure one way or the other as to any balancing reasons, I think there is room for Almaty and Rio de Janeiro :)

    Nice resource distribution, anything to encourage trade :D
     
  7. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    yea, those will probably get added later. I still preferred some of the AIOW earth maps for civ4, and this is just a basic attempt at resembling those, even though its not AIOW, but once we get more civs it will be. It will become a bit more complex with time. Perhaps some new city states, maybe new resources ect.
     
  8. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    Nice one.:goodjob: (Although I´d personally prefer the Greeks over the Turks - but I may do that myself later.)

    Did you remove Horse from America and Madagascar? And could you add a complete civ list? :confused:

    DLing now. :D
     
  9. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    There is no horse in the western hemisphere ;) or Madagascar. I'll update the first post soon with better details.
     
  10. Jellly

    Jellly Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    YES! Finally! I've been waiting for a mod that balances the Earths resources since the launch :) Just a question, are these resources placed based on real world locations, or is it just your own strategic placement?
     
  11. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    Cool - thx. :)
     
  12. Ick of the East

    Ick of the East Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Why not remove the Ottomans? The Greeks were there first.
     
  13. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    well, because the Greeks are even more in the way then the Ottomans. Its not very hard to change it if you want. Also there are no city states really close to that area and I thought it would nerf their UA. I didn't want Europe to be littered with 10 city states as to not be a fair start. If you play the RSL Earth maps you'll know what I'm talking about. Half the city states can't even found their first city because they are all so close.
     
  14. aguds

    aguds Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Norway
    Can I set the speed and size of this map? If not; what is it set to?
     
  15. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    You can set the speed. By default it is on epic. Read the OP if you want to know the map size. I'm not going to keep repeating myself.
     
  16. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    nice Shiggs713,

    its so nice to see all the old posters from civ4 coming back here :)
     
  17. CyberChrist

    CyberChrist You caught my attention

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    The Matrix
    What is Cape Town doing in Chile? :)
     
  18. Monyu

    Monyu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Chiba, JP
    Did you fix Japan? Their starting location was correct but extremely unplayable.
     
  19. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    yes, nice to see you around as well. :)

    haha, if that is the case then my mistake, that will be fixed.

    Do you mean fix japan as per the rsl maps? If so then yes, I think so. I played with them on emperor difficulty on my test playthru and kept up in score just fine. I usually play on emperor so thats how I test, though all AI's are set at prince by default (As opposed to the firaxis default value of settler [maybe thats why the AI is so dumb normally?]) Also you won't need to embark to traverse up and down the island ;)

    also just a general note, once I get some of these little bugs worked out I'll be removing it from the OP and it will be on the mod hub only.
     
  20. Modified77

    Modified77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Just wondered if you've fixed the problem of Great Britain being connected to mainland Europe??
     

Share This Page