1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Smoother Difficulty 1.4

Better difficulty curve for Civ VI

  1. oedali

    oedali King

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    841
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Awesome thanks, I'll dl and start using this. This mod is super critical to me and I play RV all the time and the AI getting a faith bonus should make my games more challenging! Very excited, thanks.
     
    [to_xp]Gekko likes this.
  2. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    glad to hear that, let me know how it works out for you :)
     
    oedali likes this.
  3. Thibaulthc

    Thibaulthc Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brussels
    I'm usually playing on immortal and with smoother difficulty I tend to play on Demi God
    The beginning of the games are a little bit easier since the AI can't jump start to 3 cities and 20 units after a few turns. But the more we advance through the game, the tougher it is. Some bonus are huge when the game is more advanced. IE 60% +5%/era on science and other yields. It sometimes really takes time to catch up ..
    On my current game (modified historic speed mod, demi god, à few units balancing mods )after 300 turns, I'm still way behind in science and really struggling to win wars. That's the kind of things that never happened to me on normal diety.
     
  4. Ragnar157

    Ragnar157 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    i also have a problem in Omniscient with computer science way too high so i can't take any more cities.
    how can i reduce their science boost while still giving them all the other buff.
    erascaling.sql:
    UPDATE ModifierArguments SET Extra=6 WHERE ModifierId="HIGH_DIFFICULTY_SCIENCE_SCALING" AND Name="Amount";
    from 12 to 6 fo example?
    So i'd reduce the Base Bonus of 84 to 42%
     
  5. Bitterman

    Bitterman Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    228
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Granada, Spain
    Can I ask why is this not on Steam Workshop?

    I'm sure that many more people would see it there.
     
  6. skodkim

    skodkim Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Location:
    Denmark
    Does this still work after R&F?

    \Skodkim
     
  7. RohirrimElf

    RohirrimElf Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Yes, finished a full game with it
     
    skodkim likes this.
  8. skodkim

    skodkim Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Location:
    Denmark
    I'm playing a game with Smoother Difficulties but have tried altering the values somewhat. Now I'm seeing two runaway civs with science output rising quickly over some turns to ~150 (may be an era shift but at least one of them have also done some conquering). I've always been leading the game, also tech-wise, so 'm worried that I may have messed something up. The civs are also from mods so I'm trying to rule out bugs/incompatibility.

    Problem is that I don't really understand how the numbers work, so I'm hoping for some help here.The numbers (concerning science) that I'm using right now are:
    UPDATE ModifierArguments SET Extra=11 WHERE ModifierId="HIGH_DIFFICULTY_SCIENCE_SCALING" AND Name="Amount";
    ('SCIENCE_SCALING_CLASSICAL', 'Amount', 'LinearScaleFromDefaultHandicap', 0, 4),
    ('SCIENCE_SCALING_MEDIEVAL', 'Amount', 'LinearScaleFromDefaultHandicap', 0, 2),
    ('SCIENCE_SCALING_RENAISSANCE', 'Amount', 'LinearScaleFromDefaultHandicap', 0, 3),
    ('SCIENCE_SCALING_INDUSTRIAL', 'Amount', 'LinearScaleFromDefaultHandicap', 0, 2),
    ('SCIENCE_SCALING_MODERN', 'Amount', 'LinearScaleFromDefaultHandicap', 0, 1),
    ('SCIENCE_SCALING_ATOMIC', 'Amount', 'LinearScaleFromDefaultHandicap', 0, 1),
    ('SCIENCE_SCALING_INFO', 'Amount', 'LinearScaleFromDefaultHandicap', 0, 1),

    And yes, they've been buffed because I've felt that the AI was getting behind in previous games, but maybe I just abandoned the game(-s) before the bonusses kicked in.

    The way I think it works is this:
    AI gets a flat bonus from game start based on "HIGH_DIFFICULTY_SCIENCE_SCALING x difficulty level" (I'm guessing there's a number for each difficulty level?)
    AI gets a bonus that scales AI era, difficulty level, number of cities (???), e.g."(SCIENCE_SCALING_CLASSICAL x SCIENCE_SCALING_MEDIEVAL times) x difficulty level x #cities", e.g. something like (1.04*1.02*3*10) with my scaling figures, difficulty level=3 and #cities=10

    Could someone help me clarify?

    EDIT: One of the AI civs went from 70 to 147 science/turn from turn 155 to 165 without increasing #cities

    \Skodkim
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2018
  9. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    I'd recommend leaving that code alone and just increasing the numbers at the top of that file:

    -- First set science&culture&faith flat from 8 -> 12
    UPDATE ModifierArguments SET Extra=12 WHERE ModifierId="HIGH_DIFFICULTY_SCIENCE_SCALING" AND Name="Amount";
    UPDATE ModifierArguments SET Extra=12 WHERE ModifierId="HIGH_DIFFICULTY_CULTURE_SCALING" AND Name="Amount";

    you could try 16 for both and then increase it more if you still feel they need MOAR science
     
  10. skodkim

    skodkim Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Location:
    Denmark
    THX!

    Went through the mods files again and compared the numbers there (incl comments) with the values in the opening post. As far as I can see I'm not that far off with the calculations, but number of cities isn't included in the modifier, right? (But it does of course influence the total science found in the end).

    \Skodkim
     
  11. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    yeah I'm pretty sure number of cities doesn't matter
     
    skodkim likes this.
  12. Leathaface

    Leathaface Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    What was your experience like? Was Deity tougher than Civ VI's vanilla deity? (despite Smoother Difficulty giving no free settlers to the AI)
     
  13. RohirrimElf

    RohirrimElf Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    I’ve currently turned smoother difficulty off as i’m playing quo’s mod now. I cant say if the game got any more difficult on deity. But it was a better experience then vanilla civ 6. I beleave smoother difficulty has 2 difficulties above deity. Like deity +2.
    I liked the fact that the AI was not expanding as fast in first era. It makes up with it on difficulty past the first 2 era’s. Which is great if you ask me
     
  14. KrumStrashni

    KrumStrashni Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Which files and values I must touch to have these percentage scaling decreased a bit? I want to try that. Specifically production bonus.
     
  15. Atomic Waffle

    Atomic Waffle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    This is probably my favorite mod, in conjunction with AI+ it actually makes the game hard on higher difficulties.

    Have you thought about uploading it to Steam? If not, I am somewhat interested in developing my own version of this mod and doing that, if that is permissible. :)
     
    RohirrimElf likes this.
  16. 7Marco

    7Marco Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    It doesn't work right with new addon does it?
    Enemies start with second settler on King.
     
    darosss and Atlas627 like this.
  17. darosss

    darosss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I had the same problem. Try delete this line: <Row Era="ERA_ANCIENT" Unit="UNIT_SETTLER" AiOnly="true" MinDifficulty="DIFFICULTY_EMPEROR" DifficultyDelta="0.5" OnDistrictCreated="true"/>
    in this folder:

    ...\Sid Meier's Civilization 6\DLC\Expansion2\Data\Expansion1_Eras.xml

    If it doesn't work check another DLC folders and search for line above.
     
  18. Jason Farber

    Jason Farber Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Has this mod been abandoned? I'd love to see it updated for Gathering Storm!
     
  19. Bitterman

    Bitterman Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    228
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Granada, Spain
    Yeah the game without this is garbage to be honest.

    It would be nice to fix the settlers thing.
     
  20. 7Marco

    7Marco Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the answer daross! But i dont know if the rest of the mod is working then too.

    I found another mod which seems to be similiar. It even deletes the fightbonus from the a.i. which i appreciate.
    Havent tested it much yet but the comments are saying its nice.

    It is called "Persistent Difficulty" and works with GS.

    https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1453194971
     

Share This Page