1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Star Trek Expanded modmod

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Star Trek Mod' started by apenpaap, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    I might have merged in the game speed stuff to the main mod.
     
  2. Giga-Gigan

    Giga-Gigan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    If you did, I can't tell that you did. I don't see any unusual game speed settings though.

    Will recreating the unique great people also mean having to make new city specialists who grant the appropriate yields?
     
  3. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    I would assume so.

    I remember at some point I merged in different gamespeed settings from someone. The turns are slow at the start for ENT, speed up after the founding of the Federation, slow down for TOS, speed up through the Lost Era, and slow down again for TNG/DS9/VOY.
     
  4. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,080
    Location:
    In orbit
    Any ETA? :scan:
     
  5. Sparrowsraven

    Sparrowsraven Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Awesome Mod, but one tiny Critisim.......Where is Q??????? My whole reason for loving Star Trek is the interaction between Janeway and Q and while I am psyched to play her, I want my Q!!! Any chance of a new version including him and the rest of the omnipotent race?
     
  6. thadian

    thadian Kami of Awakened Dreamers

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,288
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    file not found.
     
  7. apenpaap

    apenpaap Tsar of all the Internets

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    I have reuploaded a 7zip version of the mod to AtomicGamer. It's incompatible with recent versions of Star Trek, but if anyone wants to use the files to make it compatible with the newest version, be my guest. (sorry it took me so long to reupload; it's been ages since I last was here)

    http://www.gamefront.com/files/21291259/ST+Expanded.7z
     
  8. playaveli

    playaveli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    BC Canada
    File still not found. Can anyone reupload it?
     
  9. apenpaap

    apenpaap Tsar of all the Internets

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Amsterdam
  10. playaveli

    playaveli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Hey thanks really great mod, idk try to find an uploader that isn't ******** so everyone can benefit.

    good job btw
     
  11. cpt.tripps.2012

    cpt.tripps.2012 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    File not found again!!!

    Maybe upload to a different site? I recomend sourceforge.net

    I'm also working on a star trek mod and I'd love to take a look at it. Thanks!
     
  12. apenpaap

    apenpaap Tsar of all the Internets

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Amsterdam
  13. cpt.tripps.2012

    cpt.tripps.2012 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    Yup. It's working. Thanks! I'm looking forward to it!
     
  14. apenpaap

    apenpaap Tsar of all the Internets

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Great, I've updated the first post link to it as well.
     
  15. crossclayton

    crossclayton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Hi, Great mod, just getting into star trek myself, only just discovered all the series after I saw the modern movie this year, i wish they still had stuff like this on TV, guess i would have been a baby when it was on TV. Anyway, i was wondering if the Revolutions mod that is so cool with other civ4 mods can be incorporated into this star trek mod?
     
  16. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,080
    Location:
    In orbit
    I wouldn't know about that. I did notice a couple of things trying out the modmod:
    - the scenarios included still seem to have the modpath linked to the base mod
    - there's something odd going on with the score fonts (see screenshot below)
    - soundtrack seems to be missing (also the leader diplo screens have no sound)
    - original tech quotes aren't audible/missing (although some new ones are present)
    - cloaking device seems to be a permanent feature (I appreciate the need to actually buy a cloaking device for your ships, but once installed you can't turn it off; so a cloaked ship is useless for defense or capturing systems)

    Otherwise I obviously like the additional UUs and leaders...:goodjob:
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,080
    Location:
    In orbit
    Actually, correcting the modpath leaves them still unplayable with the modmod. I've been trying out various games and I also noticed that events seem to be missing as well (on purpose?).:confused:
     
  18. apenpaap

    apenpaap Tsar of all the Internets

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Well, the modmod is made for 2.37. It therefore plays by the rules of that version, though they have changed quite a bit since then. There were no events and the cloaking device worked differently. Not sure what causes your sound issues, though; but my guess is the location in which the sounds were installed has changed since that version. I remember all music used to have to be installed in the main BTS folder instead of the mod folder; if this has changed since, or simply its location in the main BTS folder, the music wouldn't work. Scenarios made for later versions probably wouldn't work either.
     
  19. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,080
    Location:
    In orbit
  20. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Yeah, that's why I re-implemented the scenarios "from scratch" (actually I used copy and paste a lot though) for 4.0 rather than try to update them normally. Kinda like updating a mod for a new expansion (fittingly, the version increments were designed to act like expansion packs for civ).

    If I remember right, they did indeed. I figured out that I could reference sounds from another mod folder so I started doing that.

    Same trick works for art, but since unpacked art is so much slower, I decided to leave it be.
     

Share This Page