1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Suggest City Name Maps changes in Google Docs

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Oct 17, 2016.

  1. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,571
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Byzantium has its own language (called "Byzantine" here for simplicity), which is basically medieval Greek. Using the classical Greek names would be anachronistic for them I think.
     
  2. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing King

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    I've uploaded an excel with CNM of China.

    The new CNM of China is in this .rar, I make a CNM on the base of City Name Maps I.xlsx. The red city names in this CNM are different with the origin version, while the black ones are same with origin. Also the change of China map is display in this CNM.

    Of course, it's needed to develop. This only the modern city name of China and some neighbouring countries.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 23, 2016
  3. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,571
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Thanks, will look into it.
     
  4. Genghis Khaiser

    Genghis Khaiser Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    501
    This is interesting. I made some contributions already and will do more once I have time.

    Could we have something like this but for Great People? I have seen some curious name shortages here and there.
     
  5. Steb

    Steb King

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    I noticed that the rightmost column on all maps (column DT) is wrong and seems to be a copy of column DS. It makes editing the Pacific islands more difficult.
     
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,571
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Good idea, I'll set something up when I have time.

    Weird, will look into it.
     
  7. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,671
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I noticed it too. I already fixed it.
     
  8. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,571
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Do you remember this thread? I do! Thank you for all contributions in the interim, I will hold off on integrating them until the HR techs branch is ready to be merged, and I hope there will be more in the meantime.
     
    Imp. Knoedel likes this.
  9. Steb

    Steb King

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    I've been updating this some more (esp. Phoenician, French and Mesoamerican maps). I noticed that the Aztec and Maya maps are almost identical. May I suggest that we remove all Maya names from the Aztec map and set Maya as a secondary language for them, and vice-versa? That way there's no need to copy changes to both maps. My comments in the files reflect that.

    May I also insist that you try again to paste the peak + river formatting that merijn_v1 made. I tried to do it in my own spreadsheet and it worked, and it would definitely help updating the maps.
     
  10. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,571
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Agreed on the Maya/Aztec languages. Many of these overlaps come from a time where secondary languages did not exist.

    I'll look at the map formatting but it seems like a lot of manual work. Is there a way to copy paste the formatting the without affecting the text entries?
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2017
  11. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,671
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    You can copy-paste my template into the template tab of your version. I made a small script which copies this overlay (from the active tab) to all other files in the spreadsheet. It only copies the overlay, not the text entries.

    My script: (Does include the copy-to-csv format script)

    Spoiler :
    Code:
    /*
     * script to export data in all sheets in the current spreadsheet as individual csv files
     * files will be named according to the name of the sheet
     * author: Michael Derazon
    */
    
    function onOpen() {
      var ss = SpreadsheetApp.getActiveSpreadsheet();
      var csvMenuEntries = [{name: "export as csv files", functionName: "saveAsCSV"}];
      var csvMenuEntries2 = [{name: "copy overlay", functionName: "copyOverlay"}];
      ss.addMenu("csv", csvMenuEntries);
      ss.addMenu("copy Overlay", csvMenuEntries2);
    };
    
    function saveAsCSV() {
      var ss = SpreadsheetApp.getActiveSpreadsheet();
      var sheets = ss.getSheets();
      // create a folder from the name of the spreadsheet
      var folder = DriveApp.createFolder(ss.getName().toLowerCase().replace(/ /g,'_') + '_csv_' + new Date().getTime());
      for (var i = 0 ; i < sheets.length ; i++) {
        var sheet = sheets[i];
        // append ".csv" extension to the sheet name
        fileName = sheet.getName() + ".csv";
        // convert all available sheet data to csv format
        var csvFile = convertRangeToCsvFile_(fileName, sheet);
        // create a file in the Docs List with the given name and the csv data
        folder.createFile(fileName, csvFile);
      }
      Browser.msgBox('Files are waiting in a folder named ' + folder.getName());
    }
    
    function convertRangeToCsvFile_(csvFileName, sheet) {
      // get available data range in the spreadsheet
      var activeRange = sheet.getDataRange();
      try {
        var data = activeRange.getValues();
        var csvFile = undefined;
    
        // loop through the data in the range and build a string with the csv data
        if (data.length > 1) {
          var csv = "";
          for (var row = 0; row < data.length; row++) {
            for (var col = 0; col < data[row].length; col++) {
              if (data[row][col].toString().indexOf(",") != -1) {
                data[row][col] = "\"" + data[row][col] + "\"";
              }
            }
    
            // join each row's columns
            // add a carriage return to end of each row, except for the last one
            if (row < data.length-1) {
              csv += data[row].join(",") + "\r\n";
            }
            else {
              csv += data[row];
            }
          }
          csvFile = csv;
        }
        return csvFile;
      }
      catch(err) {
        Logger.log(err);
        Browser.msgBox(err);
      }
    }
    
    function copyOverlay() {
      var range, format, targetSheet;
     
      var ss = SpreadsheetApp.getActiveSpreadsheet();
      range = ss.getRange("A1:DT68");
      var targetSheets = ss.getSheets();
      for (var i = 0; i < ss.getNumSheets(); i++) {
        targetSheet = targetSheets[i];
        range.copyFormatToRange(targetSheet, 1, 124, 1, 68);
      }
    }
     
  12. Steb

    Steb King

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    Yes, you can copy the whole map with peaks and rivers, and then do special paste -> paste only formatting. Then it's just a matter of repeating over all maps (or use merijn_v1's script).

    I don't know if you changed anything because it was so long ago, but now the DT column is missing altogether. It's there on merijn_v1's maps.
     
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,571
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Update: finally improved the formatting of the language sheets, adding merijn's mountains and rivers and changed the font to Calibri to improve readability.
     
  14. Alexius08

    Alexius08 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,105
    I'm now manually editing the city name maps to reflect many of the suggested changes in this thread. You can track my progress here.
     
  15. BenZL43

    BenZL43 awkward cat

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Indonesia
    How can I never aware of this thread haha. This kind of thing I was trying to create using excel spreadsheet 7 years ago, perhaps back then Google Sheet weren't this connected yet (or existed.) I'll try to check it out and help as I can when I get to my computer.

    In the meantime, if it still exists, how do you view the Arabian Tell el Dab'a etc (literally just burial mound/archeological site). Would you rather have it updated to its nearest major city (in this case, perhaps Domyat)? At least it'll give Arabia proper city names that aren't just excavation site in 3000BC scenario.
     
  16. h0spitall3rz

    h0spitall3rz Grand Vizier of Your Mind

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hanseong, Great Korean Empire
    Can this be transferred on Excel Online or Google Sheets? It makes editing easier, plus those who want to contribute can do so. They can be exported to CSV files for incorporation into Python, anyway.
     
  17. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,571
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    None of these names appear in the Arabian city name map, they're only translations of cities founded by previous civs.
     
  18. Alexius08

    Alexius08 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,105
    The first post already has links to some Google sheets. The whole file had to be split into three separate sheets.
     
    h0spitall3rz likes this.
  19. BenZL43

    BenZL43 awkward cat

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Alright, I just started commenting. I'm mostly working on Southeast Asia region name, commenting on Indonesia, Arab, Tibet, English.
    Do you prefer current "Al-Quds" as it is or the more commonly used in its lowercase form "al-Quds" ?
    What is your opinion on Prato (in iLangChinese - it's just a clutter in Tibet), do you consider that an easter egg too?
     
  20. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,571
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I think city names should always start in caps. No idea what Prato is to be honest.
     

Share This Page