1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Terra Map

Discussion in 'Yet (not) Another Maps Pack' started by Gedemon, Oct 10, 2017.

  1. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,646
    Location:
    France
    Clipboard-28.jpg
    • A script producing a map with a "New World" and "Old World"
    • Size : Small to Ludicrous (at 2:1 ratio)
    • TSL : relative to Giant Earth coordinates
    • Auto City Naming : relative to Giant Earth coordinates
    • Resources placement: random, regional
    Features:

    • Option to spawn all Civilization on the "Old World"
    • Option for "TSL" relative to real Earth coordinates, using the Giant Earth table
    • Option for City auto-naming relative to real Earth coordinates, using the Giant Earth table
    • Option for resources placement by regions (similar to the Giant Earth exclusion/exclusive placement)
    • Option for Natural Wonders placement relative to real Earth position (with code to prepare some minimal terrains types around the NW)
    • All luxuries are placed on the map, with a few exclusives to the New World (when using "Old World" start, works better with the option for resource placement by region)
    • Multiple choices for the shape of the landmasses (two or multiples scripts) forming the Old World and the New World:
      • Earth-like
      • Pangea
      • Continent
      • Small Continent
      • Large islands
      • Islands
      • Small Islands
      • Sea
      • Random (two scripts only)
    • With the "Two Landmasses" selection, two additional options are available for the New World:
      • Custom Values: Select the script base values
      • Random Values: Randomize the script base values

    00_continent_largeIslands.jpg 01_smallcont_smallislands.jpg Clipboard-27.jpg Clipboard-25.jpg
    Credits:
    • cephalo (Attenuation factors code from PerfectWorld)
    • Firaxis (Island_Plates.lua)
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2017
  2. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,646
    Location:
    France
  3. Smity2k1

    Smity2k1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    This looks so awesome!
     
  4. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,646
    Location:
    France
    A few other screens, from an Earth-shaped "Old World" + Continent "New World"

    (it's also the map that has generated this starting position... but the logs have shown that it was the vanilla positionner that has selected this position, not mine, still planning a release *soon*)

    nw1.jpg

    nw2.jpg

    I like when something I've coded surprise me... I mean, that Galapagos Lake, wow, and 4 rivers filling it ! wait...
    nw3.jpg

    Spoiler :
    no, that's 2 going in and 2 going out !

    nw4.jpg

    in fact the "lake" was placed on 2 rivers path after they were generated... and now I'm pondering adding that as a general feature for map generation...
     
    qadams, Leyrann and God of Kings like this.
  5. Leyrann

    Leyrann Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3,581
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Rivers going out of lakes is perfect! Imo something Civilization has always missed.
     
    qadams likes this.
  6. Swedish Goat

    Swedish Goat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    US
    Running into an issue when attempting to select the map type "Terra" where the game crashes. Sometimes with a locked screen, but always crashing. Is it not fully updated on Steam? It has these settings without manual download from your link above.
     
  7. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,646
    Location:
    France
    Could you post your lua/modding/database logs in the bug reports forum please ?

    -> https://forums.civfanatics.com/forums/bug-reports.574/
     
  8. Nigel_Tufnel2

    Nigel_Tufnel2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    641
    Location:
    Great Plains of North America
    This has been a really fun addition, thanks! I am partial to Earth maps, so being able to adjust settings so things are only semi-recognizable is fantastic.
     
    Ferocitus likes this.
  9. duchovka

    duchovka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Really love Terra Map, thanks a lot! I enjoy mixing up the world for a bit of surprise.
     
  10. petemcpete

    petemcpete Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks so much for this, I stopped playing Civ 6 until a Terra map came out, I really cant get into any other map type. Can't wait to play at the weekend!
     
  11. Ferocitus

    Ferocitus Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,009
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Bon Jovi, Terrans!
    I have come across an occasional glitch, where once in about every 8 fresh game
    starts there are no luxuries on the Ynamp Terra maps.

    I am only using Ynamp and some Add-On mods, specifically:
    More CS for World, Cliffs of Dover Yield Tweak, Closer Cities,Smaller Map Blip.

    I can provide screenshots and log files if that would be useful. (Of course, it
    might be partly due to problems with the Fall patch.)

    Apart from that minor annoyance, the game is very stable at new ludicrous size.
    The maps are also great fun, and some are quite beautiful. (I suspect Gedemon is
    not actually French, but Magrathean, like the award-winning luxury planet-
    builder, Slartibartfast.)
     
  12. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,646
    Location:
    France
    Thanks, I'd like the logs when this happens, yes.

    Always at Ludicrous size?
     
  13. Ferocitus

    Ferocitus Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,009
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Yes. And with all civs and dlcs, and abundant resources, which might be messing it up.
    Do you need lua.log and modding.log, or others as well?
     
  14. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,646
    Location:
    France
    Just the lua for a start TIA
     
  15. Ferocitus

    Ferocitus Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,009
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    I didn't get a screenshot of the entire revealed map, but this shows that there
    are no luxuries in a very wide area. (If I find one under autoplay, I'll attach
    one another time.)

    20171105092322_1.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,646
    Location:
    France
    Bad luck maybe, here's what's on the map from the log:
    Code:
    RESOURCE_CITRUS        placed = 18       
    RESOURCE_COCOA        placed = 18       
    RESOURCE_COFFEE        placed = 9       
    RESOURCE_COTTON        placed = 18       
    RESOURCE_DIAMONDS        placed = 9   
    RESOURCE_DYES        placed = 8       
    RESOURCE_FURS        placed = 18       
    RESOURCE_GYPSUM        placed = 11       
    RESOURCE_INCENSE        placed = 8       
    RESOURCE_IVORY        placed = 11       
    RESOURCE_JADE        placed = 17       
    RESOURCE_MARBLE        placed = 17       
    RESOURCE_MERCURY        placed = 9       
    RESOURCE_SALT        placed = 9       
    RESOURCE_SILK        placed = 11       
    RESOURCE_SILVER        placed = 17       
    RESOURCE_SPICES        placed = 8       
    RESOURCE_SUGAR        placed = 9       
    RESOURCE_TEA        placed = 17
    RESOURCE_TOBACCO        placed = 11       
    RESOURCE_TRUFFLES        placed = 9   
    RESOURCE_WINE        placed = 8       
    
     
  17. Ferocitus

    Ferocitus Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,009
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Thanks. I also noticed those entries in the lua.log file.
    I thought it might be unusual to get such bad luck once in every 8 to 10 games.
     
  18. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,646
    Location:
    France
    Yeah, if you were using the "exclude" option for resources, it could have pointed to a potential problem in the mod with your starting region (if you use TSL and Australia "every 8 to 10 games"), but from the log it seems that the option was of.
     
  19. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4,710
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    @HadrianLP created a Let's Play using the Terra Script:

     
    Gedemon likes this.
  20. Ferocitus

    Ferocitus Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,009
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Of course, RNGs create "clumps", not homogenenous scattered points. I do get a
    lot of starts with no luxuries nearby, but there are locations elsewhere with an
    over-abundance.

    OTOH, after hundreds of starts and dozens of games, the ludicrous size maps seem
    rock stable. It was a very good decision to wind the size back to 200x100 hexes.

    Most importantly, they are great fun, especially if you like exploring (and
    don't mind losing 95% of your games at emperor level).
     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop