The East Indies

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by CivLucas, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. CurryAztec

    CurryAztec Uncle Hồ

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    you should do that CivLucas. The more civs, the funner this mod will be. I can't wait for this mod to come out, since it will be like a better way-improved version of my mod. :)
     
  2. master_akura

    master_akura Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    I just downloaded the version 2.11, and I came across a bug. The Europe and Revolution buttons don't seem to work. Even the F2 and F3 functions, respectively, don't work for those.
     
  3. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    If you're going to expand this mod to the entire Asian Colonization period, perhaps a new subforum would be in order in the future? Mare Nostrum has one, and it's pretty much the same thing (Colonization in different time period).


    Found the same thing as Master_Akura. Note that no European Water feature exists (on a Hemispherical Islands map), nor does the "Sail to Europe" button appear on the unit control panel (this is probably because the sailing to Europe command is impossible with no sailing-to-Europe area, and thus the game doesn't even show the button.) Thus, I assumed it was a feature. Is it a bug?
     
  4. I-am-a-panda

    I-am-a-panda

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ireland
    It could just be like sending a colonist to a native camp and training them, and you get a veteran (In this case a Gurkha) soldier. The bonuses should be Ranger I + II, to give them a territorial advantage. Or it could be the alternative to a veteran soldier for a converted native.

    Not every country can have this bonus, as long as you want to be historically accurate. The Gurkhas could be the English colonial unique unit, and the redcoat could be the King/Queens. Although this is hard to incorporate into all the colonies, it can be done.

    The Danish colonies could have a beefed up Privateer (+1 strength and cargo space) due to their piracy affiliations.

    Just some food for thought.

    By the way, Ove Gjedde wasn't really a Danish leader as much as an explorer, A good explorer founding father though. May I recommend Peter von Scholten. He built schoolhouses for overburdened slaves, so I would give him this trait:

    Liberal: Free Schoolhouse in all settlements
     
  5. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    Hadn't seen there was already a second page in this forum :p Version 2.12 will be up soon, I played it and seems to work fine, the Europe and Revolution screen are accesible. There are still some flaws though (one missing button, city names, etc.). I'm going on holiday tomorrow so don't expect any further changes the coming weeks. :)
     
  6. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    I will look into it when I get back :cool:
    I thought I had read that Ove Gjedde was the founder of Trankebar, which was the main colony of denmark. About peter von scholten, he was governor-general of the west indies, which is in the caribbean area. ;) Danish East Indies were in India
     
  7. Gomer_Pyle

    Gomer_Pyle Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Are there no East Indies map yet? Only randomly generated ones?
     
  8. I-am-a-panda

    I-am-a-panda

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ireland
    Just a suggestion. Good 'ole Ove did find Trankebar. But he was like a Danish Vasco da Gama.
     
  9. KJ Jansson

    KJ Jansson Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Danish? I guess you just misprinted.

    Vasco da Gama was a Portuguese explorer, one of the most successful in the European Age of Discovery and the commander of the first ships to sail directly from Europe to India.

    Details: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vasco_da_Gama
     
  10. I-am-a-panda

    I-am-a-panda

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ireland
    Lol, I said he was like a Danish Vasco da Gama (i.e. Ove Gjedde was to Denmark what Vasco da Gama was to Portugal)
     
  11. Inspector Javert

    Inspector Javert Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    Any chance we can have an opium resource (sorry if it was already added and I missed it.)
     
  12. I-am-a-panda

    I-am-a-panda

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ireland
    An opium resource would be good. Though it should have its penalties (e.g. if you store opium in a city, you get -1 hammers, yields, crosses etc.)
     
  13. Huayna Capac357

    Huayna Capac357 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,194
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    But make it yield a crap load of money to compensate.
     
  14. boutit17

    boutit17 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    How would you add the 2radius mod to this one?
     
  15. Kailric

    Kailric Jack of All Trades

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,099
    Location:
    Marooned, Y'isrumgone
  16. KJ Jansson

    KJ Jansson Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    509
  17. historybuff88

    historybuff88 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    sounds awesome. i cant realy think of any recaomndations, that's how good it is.:goodjob:
     
  18. CivLucas

    CivLucas Governor-General

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    There was a wrong link in this forum, it's correct now :) I'll do the Opium after the holiday. What about Papaver as raw recource and then Opium as refined resource? Does anyone know if there's Opium in Rise of Mankind, because I could then use those graphics. :)
     
  19. I-am-a-panda

    I-am-a-panda

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ireland
    Idk. Opium should be:

    - Rare/Uncommon
    - Low Yield
    - High cost
    - Work penalties for havign it in the city.
     
  20. Aymerick

    Aymerick Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Ville de Québec
    World Of Civilization 1.20 has an Opium resource...
     

Share This Page