1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Iliad

Discussion in 'Civ4 - PitBoss Games' started by Bolkonski, May 14, 2007.

  1. Bolkonski

    Bolkonski Prince Bolkonsky

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    This is a minor housekeeping matter.

    Unfortunately there have been several instances recently where players have not appeared to exit to the Main Menu on leaving the game. Generally I do not mention it when this occurs but of late the frequency of occurances has increased.

    When leaving the game please remember to exit to the Main Menu first.

    Thank you all for your consideration.

    Bolkonsky. ;)
     
  2. JMaltman

    JMaltman Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Markham, Canada
    Back, after a little delay. Sorry.
     
  3. classical_hero

    classical_hero In whom I trust

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    33,262
    Location:
    Perth,Western Australia
    What is happening to scooter?
     
  4. karayanev

    karayanev Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Yes i would like to know that too!

    It has been i think 5 turns now, Bolkonski will you turn him to Ai on the 6th?

    Thx
     
  5. Bolkonski

    Bolkonski Prince Bolkonsky

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Yes. Scooter has been sent a warning that he will likely loose his civ if he does not play a turn.

    Bolkonsky. ;)
     
  6. karayanev

    karayanev Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Thank you, at least he could have let us know what's going on.
     
  7. Bolkonski

    Bolkonski Prince Bolkonsky

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Scooter missed six turns and has been kicked.

    Bolkonsky. ;)
     
  8. Bolkonski

    Bolkonski Prince Bolkonsky

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    There appears to have been a problem with CivStats v. 1.0.5.0 at 0AD

    I have returned to the previous version and it seems to be working properly.

    There are approximately five hours left on the clock until the end of this turn.

    Hopefully this will not cause any players to miss a turn but if it does please let me know. I have saved the game at the time of writing just in case.

    Bolkonsky. ;)
     
  9. whiplash_CDC

    whiplash_CDC King

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    939
    Location:
    America's Dairyland
    I am forced to request a reload to a prior turn. This will be somewhat complicated, but it's pretty clear that we have clock manipulation going on here.

    Here is the civstats report for the prior turn for Nero:


    9/27/07 10:56 pm A new turn has begun. It is now 140 AD
    9/27/07 10:56 pm Nero Finished turn
    9/27/07 10:53 pm Nero Logged in
    9/27/07 8:29 am Nero Logged out
    9/27/07 8:29 am Nero Finished turn
    9/27/07 8:17 am Nero Logged in
    9/27/07 4:13 am Nero Score increased to 385
    9/27/07 4:13 am A new turn has begun. It is now 125 AD


    Somehow, Nero played 2 turns between 125AD and 140AD.

    He was the last to play the turn at 140AD and remained in the game when I entered at 10:59. When I entered shortly after the turn roll-over I got the message of "connecting to peer Nero". He clearly conquored a city of mine during this time span. He did this in the short amount of time from the roll-over with him still in the game to the time I entered at 140AD.

    Effectively he had 3 turns to my 1.

    I think it's rather cheap to hang around waiting for the turn to roll over then jump in to make decisive moves. At 140 AD civstats shows me finishing the turn before Nero, but he had made all of the decisive moves before I even entered; he just hung around until I ended my turn. Note that civstats doesn't show Nero joining after the turn roll-over to 140AD because he was there when it flipped. It shows him leaving after the turn roll-over.

    Here is the entire transcript:


    9/27/07 11:22 pm WarningU2 Logged out
    9/27/07 11:16 pm Kmac33 Logged out
    9/27/07 11:16 pm Kmac33 Finished turn
    9/27/07 11:15 pm Nero Logged out <--------------------
    9/27/07 11:15 pm Nero Finished turn
    9/27/07 11:15 pm Kmac33 Score decreased to 297
    9/27/07 11:14 pm Kmac33 Score decreased to 307
    9/27/07 11:13 pm whiplash Logged out
    9/27/07 11:13 pm whiplash Finished turn
    9/27/07 11:13 pm Kmac33 Score increased to 310
    9/27/07 11:11 pm Kmac33 Logged in
    9/27/07 11:11 pm whiplash Score decreased to 435
    9/27/07 11:10 pm whiplash Score decreased to 442
    9/27/07 11:09 pm Nero Score decreased to 388
    9/27/07 11:08 pm WarningU2 Finished turn
    9/27/07 11:05 pm WarningU2 Logged in
    9/27/07 10:59 pm whiplash Logged in
    9/27/07 10:57 pm Nero Score increased to 392
    9/27/07 10:57 pm whiplash Score decreased to 445
    9/27/07 10:56 pm Nero Score increased to 388
    9/27/07 10:56 pm JMaltman Finished turn
    9/27/07 10:56 pm amh52 Score increased to 544
    9/27/07 10:56 pm Krum Score increased to 806
    9/27/07 10:56 pm maydrock Score increased to 429
    9/27/07 10:56 pm pinchak Finished turn
    9/27/07 10:56 pm WarningU2 Score increased to 499
    9/27/07 10:56 pm namliaM Finished turn
    9/27/07 10:56 pm the oob Score increased to 612
    9/27/07 10:56 pm Bolkonsky Score increased to 484
    9/27/07 10:56 pm A new turn has begun. It is now 140 AD
    9/27/07 10:56 pm Nero Finished turn <------------------
    9/27/07 10:53 pm Nero Logged in
    9/27/07 10:41 pm WarningU2 Logged out

    We need a reload.
     
  10. the oob

    the oob Retired PTBS host

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    [ deleted ]
     
  11. Rycheman

    Rycheman Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    ? what does this mean ?
     
  12. the oob

    the oob Retired PTBS host

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    It means I wanted to delete my post but there's no delete post button.
     
  13. Bolkonski

    Bolkonski Prince Bolkonsky

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Regarding the post above from Whiplash CDC about possible turn manipulation and request for a reset I will contact Nero to hear his side of the story.

    If any players besides Whiplash CDC and Nero can shed some light on this issue I would be pleased to hear from them. Please contact me by PM.

    Meanwhile the game will continue although players should be aware that there may be a reset.

    Bolkonsky.
     
  14. bbfrancis

    bbfrancis Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Murray, Utah
    I doubled turned him because the round before he double turned me.
    It was not 3 to 1 please.
    I want a reload from when he double turned me!
    What kind of person double turns someone then complains the next round when he is double turned?
     
  15. classical_hero

    classical_hero In whom I trust

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    33,262
    Location:
    Perth,Western Australia
    But there is going to be complications with a retake of the turn, because I have a war with Kmac and if things do get taken back and how far, then it could be bad for my opponent in our war.
     
  16. bbfrancis

    bbfrancis Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Murray, Utah
    Check out what whip is up to in another game.
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=237972&page=7

    I have looked around and there is no reference to anyone doing triple turns.
    Whip just pulled that out of his ass because he didn't like the result of the last turn.
    Yeah I logged in as soon as could to pay him back for the double turn.
     
  17. whiplash_CDC

    whiplash_CDC King

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    939
    Location:
    America's Dairyland
    The turn before? You mean this one:

    9/27/07 10:56 pm A new turn has begun. It is now 140 AD
    9/27/07 10:56 pm Nero Finished turn <-----------
    9/27/07 10:53 pm Nero Logged in
    9/27/07 8:29 am Nero Logged out
    9/27/07 8:29 am Nero Finished turn <-----------
    9/27/07 8:17 am Nero Logged in
    9/27/07 4:13 am Nero Score increased to 385
    9/27/07 4:13 am A new turn has begun. It is now 125 AD

    How do you explain finishing a turn twice?

    As far as my alleged double move; I play at the same time every day, once before work in the AM and once in the evening. You will see this pattern in every game I play (except possibly weekends). I don't check the moves of the other players. So, if there was a double move I didn't even know it.

    Regardless, I'm ok with a reload of the turn beginning at 125 AD.
     
  18. bbfrancis

    bbfrancis Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Murray, Utah
    When you double turned me isn't on the logs any more and I didn't point it out or make up stories about triple turns because I'm not a cry baby.
    Don't give me the crap about double turn being an accident, the double turned saved some cites for you.
     
  19. oyzar

    oyzar Have quit civ/forums

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,923
    Location:
    Norway
    it does show you finish turn twice if you are logged in on turnchange...


    4 Civilizations will be allocated on a random basis with three Civilizations held until 3700 BC. Regular players will note that there are no rules about declarations of war before a certain date or double moves. This is deliberate in order to keep the rules simple and to avoid policing as much as possible. However, in case anyone is unfortunate enough to loose their Civilization before 3700 BC they may have a second chance, as the AI will run three Civilizations until this date. If more than three people have been eliminated the first to be invited back will be the first to have been eliminated and so on. If any Civilizations are unclaimed after 3730 BC they will be allocated to the players on the reserve list on a first-come first-serve basis.

    AND there is even a rule about double turns beeing allowed in the game. nice one ppl
     
  20. bbfrancis

    bbfrancis Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Murray, Utah
    Ah so it is a civstats programming bug.
    It is good to get your facts straight before you start accusing other people of being cheaters.
     

Share This Page