There's always something new

Osvaldo Manso

Warlord
Hi! I find amazing how this game still suprises me and I've been playing the original Sid Meier's Civilization since late 1992.

It all started when I demanded tribute to the Indians. The Indians are my neighbours. They occupy a continent north of my own. Both continents are separated by a very short distance (I can reach "India" using Triremes). For a long time, we lived in peace and even though their cities are not huge or very far, I decided to establish trade routes linking my cities to theirs. I also established an Embassy and so I am aware that the Indians own a reasonable amount of funds.

When they invaded my own continent while we were still at peace, I considered it a very rude thing to do. So, when we met they offered to remain at peace and I naturally demanded tribute for my patience. They did not accept that and instead they declared war on me.

I immediately came up with a plan to quickly win that war - I decided to use a Diplomat to capture a small (thus cheaper) Indian city on their own continent. That's what I successfully did. It was not a big investment because I found some money and the city was equipped with a Granary wich I promptly sold in order to recover some of my investment. It all went as planned - after Calcutta was in my hands, the Indians surrendered and we were once more at peace.

There were no trade routes in Calcutta. In the following turns, I did not have the opportunity to establish trade routes with the neighbouring Indian cities like I did for my mainland cities. In fact, I had more pressing matters, like preparing an adequate defence system (at least a Phalanx, a Catapult and a Diplomat) for Calcutta.

Now, the awkward thing is that a few turns later, when I checked the city window, there was a trade route between Calcutta and a German city. I did not have any contact with the Germans... and I did not receive any message informing that a trade route has been established.