1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

"Trivial" query...

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Technical Support' started by Von Naumann, Feb 18, 2020.

1. Von Naumann

Von Naumann Chieftain

I've been playing Civ III (Complete), now, for many years, but there is a small annoyance that has cropped up. Whenever I start up (new OR exixting) a small window pops up advising me to reset SCREEN RESOLUTION to 1980 x 1020. It's already at that, and I cannot access the window to say so, or tell it not to adsk me that again. Is there a solution to this?

2. tjs282

tjs282 Socially isolated since 1975

...just here for the job/ handouts/ woman
    I'm curious, because in >5 years of playing Civ3Complete, I've never seen this: Is this pop-up generated by Windows, or by the game itself?

If it's a Windows(10?) notification, you may need to go into your "display-settings" menu to check that Windows is actually still using the correct resolution for your monitor (because it's possible that e.g. a recent update may have reset it without notifying you). If it's a Civ3 pop-up, then the following information about my setup may help you narrow down/solve your problem:

I have a download-version of C3C from GamersGate, first installed on an old WinXP laptop with a 1280*800 screen, and later also on a Win8.1 desktop using (initially) a 1920*1080 monitor, and (now) a 1600*1200 monitor (with the widescreen-monitor demoted to secondary).

For WinXP, the game is in the default installation location in C:/ProgramFiles/Firaxis/...