[BTS] Trying to beat Deity! (Sitting Bull shadow game)

dfg26

Chieftain
Hello everybody! This is my first time doing a forum game, tell me if I'm doing it wrong :cool: I've had some previous failed games on deity, this time I really try to consider my each move carefully.

I've chosen Sitting Bull as a leader - I really like PHI, and the fact that I can get barb defense without any hassle.

Map settings: Fractal, standard size, normal speed, no huts, no events.

The start:

Spoiler :

Decent looking start on the first roll. I don't see a reason to move the settler at this point. I'm debating whether to move my warrior to NW or SW. Somehow my hunch tells me there might be tundra in the north :scan: so I move him to SW.

Settled:

Spoiler :

Moving the warrior reveals another corn, decide to settle in place. My hunch about the tundra was right :lol:

First 15 turns:

Spoiler :

T0: Worker first. Mining --> Bronze working seems like an obvious first tech choice. I decide to research the wheel first, so my worker doesn't run out of things to do, and I can start making a road to my second city. And I'm not in too much of a hurry to get to BW, since I don't need to reveal copper.

T2: Discover elephants SW of Cahokia. Might come in handy later.

T5: Border pop reveals silver to the north of Cahokia. Gonna go check out if there's any seafood next to it.

T9: We have fish next to the silver. I think I'll put my second city 4N1E from Cahokia.

T15: Well well, what have we here...

Marble, stone and a PHI leader. I think some wonder whoring could happen during this game :shifty: I still haven't met anyone else, and I see a coastline. I begin to suspect I might be isolated. That would suck, especially since I haven't done any isolation games on deity. I hope this is some kind of sneaky continent instead, and the AI's just haven't reached me yet.