1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

v22 bugs and crashes

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by strategyonly, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,445
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Please post bugs and crashes from version 22 of Caveman 2 Cosmos here. It helps us keep better track of things. ;)
     
  2. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,445
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    So i take it Promotions pay a bigger part of the pathing movement now??

    One thing i have 'definitely" noticed is the turn times (this is a Giant map) but are down quite a bit??

    Explained in 2 page, thx Koshling.
     
  3. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Promotions have always influenced (AI) pathing somewhat, but probably more now. Whe you say turn times are 'down' do you mean 'up'?
     
  4. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,445
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Oh, ahahaha yes:blush:
     
  5. Hanny

    Hanny Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    IOW UK
    text display for Hittite volcanoe active and dormant is displayed very frequently ( playing as Hittite) but no volcanoe in visable plots, is the event being triggered and not fireing?. Is everyone seeing this for the civ they are playing?.

    Save game posting tommorrow, when im back at home.
     
  6. DRJ

    DRJ Hedonist

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Had it in last game, not this one though. I guess when I saw that bug I had it I was not playing on GEM but now on GEM volcanoes works (a bit too much in my taste as playing Japan lol). Well... maybe it's not true, I also remember I was playing as England once on GEM and had the volcano message bug as well, whereas I was not that concernced as England is not that volcano country, anyway...
    So bug confirmed, but volcanoes are working - at least on GEM 38 as Japan :D
     
  7. Filochard

    Filochard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Paris France
    The AI declare war to another AI opponent. The attacker have a big stack and there is only one slinger to defend the city but next turn they retreat without fighting.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Ok, this is a monumentally huge bug (thanks for finding it so fast), which has been present for a couple of weeks in the SVN version but somehow went un-noticed! I'm testing a fix now, and once I've verified it I will upload a fixed DLL to the patch thread (as well as SVN of course)

    Edit - fix now uploaded to both SVN and patch thread.

    @SO - suggest you re-upload v22 replacing the DLL with the latest from the patch thread so that anyone downloading v22 from now on does not have this issue (ideally relabelled as v22.1 or something)
     
  9. DRJ

    DRJ Hedonist

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Great finding!



    I just thought about why the AI is so stupid in terms of trade. I know you tweaked the evaluation of resource and tech trade but one fundamental thing is that the AI even tries to have gold if it already has enough of it. So if I would be techleader and had 100 k :gold: in the bank even a 10000 :gold: offer for a tech would be neglected.
    So what if the AI would stop to trade for gold if it has enough of it in the bank? The money obviously would lose it's value if the AI it wanted to rush buildings with it because inlfation would take a big hit on the economy then. [an example from the recent history: China has lots and lots of $$$ and doesn't want any more of them from the US, rather something of real value. In civ terms: if a nation is fed up with :gold: it refuses to take anymore of it but only takes res/tech and gives some change.]
     
  10. WimpyTheWarrior

    WimpyTheWarrior Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Very minor
    I got a Great Wonder movie for just building a Wall in my city. But only for the first city the Walls were built in.
     
  11. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    The Heal function is still messed up (it was in V21 too, reported at least once for it as I recall). It is apparently doing a Sentry while Heal (which has a separate button) instead of a Fortify while Heal since it keeps waking up when it should never do so until the unit is healed. You really don't need two Sentry while Healing buttons.

    Grouping animals with units is now broken. I know you can't reveal new territory with an animal, but in v21 if the animal was grouped with a non-animal unit it would stay grouped and move with the unit even if the move revealed a plot. Now it ungroups the animal, leaving it behind, and only moves the non-animal if the move reveals a new plot (so you have to separately move the now ungrouped animal to the plot with the other non-animal unit on it, which it can now move to since the move no longer reveals a new plot because the other unit already revealed it; grouping it again is a waste of time if there are any plots that will be revealed the next time you move).

    As for the volcano thing mentioned by Hanny a few posts back, I noticed this in v21 but forgot to report it (repeatedly). The volcano messages always only use the player's civ name when it is clear they should be using some other civ's name (or "an unknown civilization" or some such thing if the nearest civ to the volcano has not been met yet). Example (which I have actually seen a couple of times): a volcano right next to the Russian capitol erupts and you get a message saying something like "The distant Persian civilization reports increased volcanic activity" when it is you who are the Persians (and are, therefore, apparently distant from yourself) - clearly it should say "Russian" in the message in that case.
     
  12. gcaliber

    gcaliber Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    I've noticed both of these as well, except the animal grouping one seems to only sometimes be a problem, and other times actually works fine.
     
  13. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Yeh, that was something I was planning to do at some point
     
  14. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    If one of you (or anyone else) can give me a save game (with inmstructions on what to move) that illustrates the animal ungrouping I'll fix it. Should be easy.
     
  15. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,290
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    This is a feature not a bug:lol:. If you are the first to build a wall or bath then you get a movie. Not sure if it applies to other buildings.

    I have been considering having all subdued animals instantly move back to the nearest city, just like the sea creatures do. The main reason is that I have seen stacks of animals with a hunter "never" going back to a city even when they pass next to their own cultural border.

    I think I will introduce it as an experiment in a few days so the SVN users can play with it awhile and then decide if it should be in for v23 later.

    Wont be necessary:mischief:
     
  16. Hanny

    Hanny Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    IOW UK
    Ah, thats expains it.


    Since automation is generaly good, this should be an improvement in performence terms , otoh i spend a fair amount of time escorting certain ones back to butcher at full cost so would miss that option., but certainly if only the AI butchered ( auto sent back to city for butcher/tales et al) in the wild it would solve the uber stacks we have seen.
     
  17. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,445
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    OK, i have to re-do the whole mod for that dll stuff, so it will take approximately 3 - 4 hours to fix, sorry everyone.:blush:

    Thx Koshling for the PM, otherwise i would have never seen it.
     
  18. Hanny

    Hanny Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    IOW UK
    Since the Dll is often patched, why not have it as a hotfix?
     
  19. AIAndy

    AIAndy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,408
    That is what is done in the patch thread.
     
  20. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,445
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    I was asked very politely to re-do the main mod, so i am, no biggy.:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page