1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] Version 2.7 release

Discussion in 'More Naval AI Modmod' started by Tholal, Mar 14, 2017.

  1. Devils_Advocate

    Devils_Advocate Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Well, that's something, anyway. Is that explained somewhere in the Civilopedia? Failing that, is there some sort of explanation of how hawks work in MNAI, like, anywhere? :p The restrictions probably wouldn't annoy me if I just knew what they were and maybe the reasoning behind them. I'd probably still dislike some of them, but you can't please everybody. ("Have you met everybody? They're very argumentative.")

    Ah, that sounds right! I think I remember several deals with various civs being cancelled at once sometimes. And I often make several on the same turn, so that makes sense.

    Quite so. I get a notification but no dialogue from the leader, which always happens normally I think.

    Sounds like you've probably found the source of the problem. Good to hear!
     
  2. fe79

    fe79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    The Sevopedia entry for Frigate says "Cargo Space: 1 (Carries Birds)".
    Unfortunately, frigates are made obsolete by the Man o' war in the late game.


    The behaviour of hawks has changed multiple times. You kind of need to sift through the changelogs to get a full picture, but i can try to summarize.
    • Hawks have a limited rebase range.
    • Hawks can rebase within your own territory, as well as that of your team members and vassals (and your master's territory, if you yourself are a vassal).
    • Hawks can rebase to units capable of carrying birds, even if said unit is outside your territory.
     
  3. Tholal

    Tholal Emperor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,676
    I'm having trouble seeing the bugfix within all the indentation changes. Can you show me where the issue was that was causing the AI to cancel deals?
     
  4. fe79

    fe79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    The bugfix is essentially just an indentation change.


    Look at the function CvPlayerAI::AI_doDiplo in CvPlayerAI.cpp.
    Find the part that looks like
    Code:
    if (bCancelDeal)
    {
        [...]
    }
    bool bEmbassyCanceled = pLoopDeal->isEmbassy();
    pLoopDeal->kill();
    if (bEmbassyCanceled)
    {
        [...]
    }
    It needs to be
    Code:
    if (bCancelDeal)
    {
        [...]
        bool bEmbassyCanceled = pLoopDeal->isEmbassy();
        pLoopDeal->kill();
        if (bEmbassyCanceled)
        {
            [...]
        }
    }
    Beware that you cannot assume that any of the braces are correctly aligned.
     
    swapoer and Tielby like this.
  5. Terkhen

    Terkhen King

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    912
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Granada
  6. Broken Hawk

    Broken Hawk Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,230
    Location:
    On a hill
    Thank you Tholal. Appreciate your hard work.
     
  7. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,829
    Location:
    israel
    hello tholal,

    does ffh2 + more naval ai works in mp game?
     
  8. Tholal

    Tholal Emperor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,676
    From what I have heard, yes it does. I believe all of the known OOS errors have been resolved as well.
     
  9. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,829
    Location:
    israel
  10. ciruela

    ciruela Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    174
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for keep maintain your mod!
    Is there a changed file list from V2.6.3 to V2.7?
    so I can update my mod manually
     
  11. Terkhen

    Terkhen King

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    912
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Granada
    You can get a list of changed files by using Mercurial on the code repository (https://bitbucket.org/Tholal/more-naval-ai/) and comparing the 2.6.3 revision with the 2.7 revision. If you are tired of doing merges manually, it might be worth the effort of learning how to use version control systems; that way Mercurial would take care of everything that can be merged automatically.
     
  12. ciruela

    ciruela Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    174
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks, I'll try this.
     
  13. Bungle

    Bungle Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Norway
    Hey Tholal,

    It seems your installer doesn't work on my computer. Might be related to my Windows 10 OS, or the fact that I'm running the GOG version of Civ4.

    The problem is that the "Install" button is grayed out, no matter which path I select. The normal FFH installer works fine. I had to download the repository, compile the DLL and manually patch my game :crazyeye:

    I couldn't find the source for the installer.. if you do make it available I'm sure I could figure it out on my own :)
     
  14. Sezren

    Sezren Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    For those who cant use installer: You can use 7zip to extract the files and manually move/write/overwrite them. Requires some tech skills but much less than compiling the DLL. Havent tested if the result works for 2.7 (and probably wont anytime soon) though.

    Good to know that the GOG version works with MNAI 2.7 otherwise.
     
    Bungle likes this.
  15. Bungle

    Bungle Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Norway
    Wow, I did not know that :-D Way easier than compiling, haha. Can confirm that the mod works perfectly with the GOG version.
     
  16. Bad Player

    Bad Player Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    (Bris)Vegas!
    :O That's pretty huge! :)
     
  17. swapoer

    swapoer Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    This is a life saver. It really annoy me when the open border are cancelled every 10 or 20 turns and I have to wait a few more turn to renegotiate the term.
     
  18. swapoer

    swapoer Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    Hallo, could you tell me how to install the patch?
     
  19. fe79

    fe79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Since it involves changes in the C++ source code, you would need to apply said changes to the source (either through something like git-apply, or by following these instructions) and then compile the DLL yourself (possibly by following these instructions).

    If recompiling the DLL is outside your skill-set, you will have to wait for someone else to do it. Presumably, a version 2.71 will be released at some point.

    Alternatively, you could go back to version 2.63 (which does not have this particular bug), although that has its own set of slightly annoying bugs.
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2017
  20. swapoer

    swapoer Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    Thanks for your timely reply.
    I have a look at the instructions and found it to be too complicated for my ability.
    I suppose I would take your advice and wait for a new update.
     

Share This Page