1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What do you do with workers when you have nothing for workers to do?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by charon2112, May 27, 2009.

  1. dennisg

    dennisg Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Norway
    Build trade network. Especially if I have RailRoad...
     
  2. Redcoat Captain

    Redcoat Captain Leader of the Redcoats!

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Sunny England!
    Wasnt there an option in Civ 3 to add dormant workers to a Cities Pop? That would be useful in Civ 4.

    Anyways, when i have idle workers, i tend to group them into two's and place them between cities ready for Railroad, so that i can connect all cities as quickly as possible once i have discovered the tech. Make mobilizing and form of attack or defence a lot easier. With workers grouped into two's (and the right civis) they will build a railroad in 1 turn, allowing super speedy railroad networking.

    If i really have nothing for them to do, i'll "sleep" the remaining workers somewhere safe until i need them. They quickly become important once you conquer a city or two, once peace is made get them there and improve the tiles.
     
  3. aday

    aday Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    What is this Monarchy bonus you speak of...?
     
  4. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,089
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    I typically automate them (press A) so that they find improvements that I have overlooked (typically, calendar improvements outside BFC). When I want them back (fort for ship canal, railroad or some other project), locate 1, select it, hold down the Alt key and hit 'cancel orders' (or backspace), that returns all workers to your control.

    I also have 'leave forests' and 'leave improvements' checked so those automated workers don't ruin my improvements.
     
  5. Unconquered Sun

    Unconquered Sun Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,462
    Pre-improve stuff you might need, stopping 1 turn from completion. That includes mines -> windmills; irrigations -> cottages or watermills, etc. Pre-chopping forests is especially useful.
     
  6. Rusty Edge

    Rusty Edge Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cheeseland
    Never mind, I must be thinking of a mod. :blush:
     
  7. jeffreyac

    jeffreyac Mostly Harmless

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    626
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I build them the 'batcave' - find a hill somewhere in the center of my empire where they all go, so I know where they are when needed... :)

    Unless I have an island empire - then I tend to keep a few on each land mass for emergency purposes (espionage sabotage repair, random events, etc)
     
  8. Blaarg

    Blaarg Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    519
    I'm constantly adjusting my cities, adding farms or cottages, later watermills, windmills and alchemy labs etc.
     
  9. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I was waiting for that question. He was speaking of the :hammers:/:commerce: yield bonus that HR gives for the mod HISTORY IN THE MAKING.
     
  10. bestbrian

    bestbrian Just this guy, ya know?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,344
    Location:
    NYC
    I grind them up into a fine powder and sell them to Mao as an aphrodesiac. :)
     

Share This Page