What is going on?

Pauliboy

Chieftain
I am New to Civ 4 and have been playing about a month. I have progressed to Noble and play random leader on Pangea. The problem is i keep getting wiped out by all and sundry. My usual strategy is to get a religion asap (i often get 2), concentrate my production on warrior(or other unit), worker, settler and expand to 4 or 5 cities not too far from each other and build culture and units. It seems no matter which leader i am or who i have nearby and what reigion they are to me i still get invaded by one or two of them and i am always behind in the tech race, as they seem to have either superior tech or superior numbers or both.

In my last game i was the chinese fella and managed to annex a penisula and fill it with 6 cities bordering France and the Aztecs. Louis inveaded early and regularly and although i captured one of his cities and burnt it in the hope it would reduce his production of units, when i had repelled him after our third war i was easy pickings for alexander from the other side of the continent. I started my first frigate as he parked his shiny destroyer off of one of my ports.

I must be doing something fundamentally wrong but i do not know what. Help!

I'm almost always doing the same thing as well. I can't seem to find what I'm doing wrong either because in my end everything seems to be going fine. My techs are often going nice and I am on the top in the list at the bottom-right.

But then, somewhere around 0-1000 AD it seems that the other civs around me are cheating, or something. Because they seem to have all kinds of cool technologies when I find myself struggling to get into the Medieval Era.

Often my economy is doing quite well, and I have a strong culture. But yet they overrun me.

TECHS:
you both should consider trading techs!
maybe you've seen that mansa musa is often tech leader, and that's because he's the one that will always trade

WAR