1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Your first computer

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by aimeeandbeatles, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. warpus

    warpus In pork I trust

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,970
    Location:
    Stamford Bridge
    ATARI 800XL



    With a tape drive, NO disk drive, and NO cartridge bay

    I can't find a picture of one just like that, for some reason all the ones I'm looking up have cartridge bays.
     
  2. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Night Elven Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,934
    Location:
    New Suramar City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    I don't know what you consider "your first computer". If going by paying out of pocket, It be a Gateway FX series computer (gaming desktop).

    Since technicaly, the first computer in my family would be a Packard Bell which ran on Windows 95. And that was purcased by my mother.
     
  3. LucyDuke

    LucyDuke staring at the clock

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    13,582
    Location:
    where mise
    Psh, the one in the FedEx facility in New Jersey right now :)gripe:) is the first one I've paid for outright. But I've had many "family computers" and until now all of my "*personal*" personal computers have been gifts.
     
  4. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,406
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    NO cartridge bay?!? I didn't think they ever made one like that. Even my final Atari, a 65XE with a 128M RAM add-on card still had a cartridge slot. How else would I plug in my SpartaDOS cart, or my BasicXE cart to do programming?
     
  5. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,068
    I thought you started programming with punch cards?
     
  6. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,406
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    I *started* programming with punch cards. That was years before I bought my own PC.

    :p
     
  7. Heffalump

    Heffalump Proboscidea Heffalumpus

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Niederkleen, Germany
    Commodore 64 with a whopping 64k RAM
     
  8. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    18,879
    Gender:
    Female
    I just found out my Aptiva's dead. The jerks we sold it to threw it on the floor. :(
     
  9. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46,206
    Location:
    US of A
    My 3rd computer was an IBM Aptiva. A pentium 100 machine with the first version of Win 95. It was a good machine. I think I used it for about 6 years before it broke down.
     
  10. carmen510

    carmen510 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,125
    Location:
    NESing Forums


    The good 'ol Zuse Z1. ;)

    In all seriousness, an old Windows 95 computer. I'm not even sure of the details anymore.
     
  11. J-man

    J-man Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,088
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    A compaq pressario. 133 MHz and 16 MB ram. I played warcraft 2 (a lot) Duke Nukem 3d (where is that sequel?) and many other games.
     
  12. Kyriakos

    Kyriakos Alien spiral maker

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    56,211
    Location:
    Thessalonike, The Byzantine Empire
    My first computer was an Amstrad cpc6128 with only shades of green colors.



    A few years later i got an Amiga 500 :)
     
  13. ParadigmShifter

    ParadigmShifter Random Nonsense Generator

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,810
    Location:
    Liverpool, home of Everton FC
    I think the shades of green were because you went for the green-screen monitor (cheaper option). It was colour capable that machine I believe (certainly the CPC464 earlier model had colour).
     
  14. classical_hero

    classical_hero In whom I trust

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    33,262
    Location:
    Perth,Western Australia
    Yeah, that was our first computer also. I still remember when megabytes was what the hard drive would hold. Not as ancient as other's but still very bad by modern standards.
     
  15. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    18,879
    Gender:
    Female
    My mom says the first computer she used (not owned) was a Commodore 64 with MS-DOS. I don't even think C64s had DOS, so I think she may be mixing DOS and command-line up, like I used to do.

    She says because the workplace she was at didn't have a monitor, they would use the TV.

    I have an old Canon adding machine, too. Because a small local college was closing down and they were selling everything off so I bought an adding machine just for novelty. It's like a big calculator that you plug into the wall.
     
  16. lndm

    lndm Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    Australia
  17. Kyriakos

    Kyriakos Alien spiral maker

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    56,211
    Location:
    Thessalonike, The Byzantine Empire
    Yeah the cpc6128 had color if you had the right monitor, but i had the other one. At the time it was thought that it would be better for my eyes.
     
  18. Moggy

    Moggy Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    The first computer I owned was a Commodore 64 I got as a Christmas present when I was a kid.

    The first PC was an ancient (even at the time :D ) 486 I got free at work when they were getting rid of their old machines.

    The first PC I bought was a Pentium 3, 400mhz, 64mb RAM and an 11gb HDD. :D I actually remember the salesman telling me that an 11gb hard drive was huge and it would be unlikely I would ever fill it up. :D
     
  19. Reno

    Reno The Studio Ghibli Fanatic

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,690
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    A 286 with Windows 3.1 (only a floppy drive, no cd), I forget the rest of the details for it. It was great for playing adventure games in, though there were no sounds save for what PC Speaker (We aptly called it PC Piipper) could provide.
     
  20. Fuzzz

    Fuzzz you

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    487
    This should be a poll. The C64 would be the absolute winner. I gave mine away about five years to a friend who collects old computers. He has an Amiga, a Tandy, a C64 (my first PC :lol:), and a bunch of other old skool computers.
     

Share This Page