1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

1.18 released

Discussion in '[MAC+WIN] Civ4 - History Rewritten' started by Xyth, Jul 1, 2012.

  1. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,052
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Damn. Was the error every turn again, or just once?

    Also, your Dido saved game crashes for me so I guess simply having the custom DLL renders saved games incompatible with Mac, regardless of using extra civs or not.
     
  2. wanderm

    wanderm Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Just once: hopefully there's a green shoot! It was every turn before the patch.
     
  3. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,052
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I was finally able to replicate and fix the core problem. I also found a nasty bug with the Colosseum and fixed that too. Patch is attached to the first post of this thread, easier to find there. The same two files need replacing, both in /History Rewritten/Assets/Python/.
     
  4. wanderm

    wanderm Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Thanks again: problem seems to have lifted from the previously corrupt save.
     
  5. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toulouse, France
    Xyth, in the thread "About HR" the dutch don't have a UB.
     
  6. NDCSPURS

    NDCSPURS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Found another python bug:

    Code:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "BugEventManager", line 361, in _handleDefaultEvent
      File "CvEventManager", line 2053, in onCityAcquiredAndKept
    AttributeError: 'int' object has no attribute 'isHasMet'
    Happens when you capture a wonder. I'm fairly sure I captured a city with a wonder yesterday, so this must be new since your last fix.
     
  7. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    There's an error with Bug in this version. If you turn on attitude icons, they don't show up. If you turn on number of cities at the same time, some numbers get bolded if you toggle attitude icons.
     
  8. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,052
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Fixed, thanks.

    Replicated this. It's harmless (no ill effect to a game, just a message that doesn't get displayed) so I won't upload a fix right now, I'll wait and see if anything else is reported first and deal with it at the same time.

    Ugh. That'll be a gamefont issue and a nightmare to fix.
     
  9. Azoth

    Azoth Inscrutable

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Did you change your mind about this?

    Also, another minor suggestion:
    • Inquisitors and the Fundamentalism civic have the same icon. I like it very much, but we probably shouldn't use it twice. Until you find a replacement, the old BtS icon for Organized Religion (a hand clasping a sacred text) would suit Fundamentalism reasonably well.
     
  10. Nightstar

    Nightstar Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    Probably as a side-effect of the same problem, the Foreign Advisor's Glimpse page now shows... absolutely nothing.
     
  11. wanderm

    wanderm Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Another error message (new game). Is it the same bug? Should I abandon custom DLLs or something?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,052
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I've updated the patch in the first post. Unless I messed something up it fixes all issues reported so far except the Colosseum -> Settlers problem. Instructions are also in the first post and it shouldn't break save game compatibility (but back up just in case).


    No, I just ran out of time. I'll do it for 1.19.

    I thought I used that icon somewhere else, but possibly not. Will check.

    Yes, another symptom of the same problem. Fixed in the patch.

    Unrelated bug but easily fixed. In the patch.
     
  13. Eucalyptus

    Eucalyptus Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    HR1.18: In the attached save file, Suryavarman of the Khmer is Imperialist but doesn't always get the "No Resistance in Captured Cities" bonus. A bug?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,052
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    The code for that is in the same routine as the error wanderm reported a couple posts up. I suspect that error is causing the entire routine to fail and thus preventing the Imperialist trait (and some others) working. Grab and install the patch from the first post of this thread, it should solve it. If it doesn't let me know.
     
  15. Eucalyptus

    Eucalyptus Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Thanks! I'll let you know if I see it again.

    Sorry, I had missed the patch --- I assumed that the re-upload included everything.
     
  16. coolchandan

    coolchandan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I am enjoying the game very much.:hatsoff:
     
  17. Nightstar

    Nightstar Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    Xyth, I've added save files for Colosseum and Brandenburg Gate issues to my last post in the 'Feedback: Buildings and Wonders' thread.

    Edit: Still getting random crashes in the Renaissance era.
     
  18. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,052
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I have updated the patch in the first post with a fix for the Brandenburg Gate movie and for the Colosseum. The latter should no longer give you the wrong unit and, more significantly, it should no longer cause a crash. There's been a hard to track down mid-game crash since 1.17 and hopefully that was it. Fingers crossed.

    I also altered it slightly so that you cannot build the UU of another civ unless that civ is also capable of building them.


    EDIT: Main download updated with this patch. You now only need the patch if you've downloaded 1.18 before the timestamp of this edit (see below my signature).
     
  19. Eucalyptus

    Eucalyptus Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Now I'm lost as to which patch is which! Isn't it simpler to attach a version number such as "1.18.3" to the versions rather than patching?

    No insult/complaint intended! I am enjoying this version!
     
  20. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,052
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I didn't want everyone to have to redownload the whole mod constantly. Hopefully there's no more critical errors requiring a patch. The main bug left that I know about is Villages and Workshops destroying Flood Plains but that will will be quite an extensive fix, affecting numerous files. It would thus require a reinstall and is likely to be incompatible with current saved games (I'll have to check) - may be best to leave it until 1.19.

    I haven't had this many bugs with a realease for a while, not surprising considering 1.18 contains a lot more custom code than any previous version. I apologise for the confusion with the patches and such. From 1.19 on I'm going to release a beta version and give early adopters a week or two to report bugs before announcing a stable release.
     

Share This Page