1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

1/5 of the map is not drawn (high resolution problem)

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Confirmed Bugs' started by BlindZenDriver, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. BlindZenDriver

    BlindZenDriver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Something like 1/5 of the screen on the right side is not drawn correctly. Yield icons, unit icons and city names are shown but on a Grey background.

    A screen shot can be seen here: http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/2112/greybar.jpg

    My gaming screen is a 27" with the new 2560x1440 resolution only found on a few screens so maybe that is why I see this error. It's not a very common resolution on PC's yet but the 27" iMac comes with that same resolution and it's also the resolution of the only screen Apple sells so more and more will have this.

    Civ 5, version 1.0.0.62
    =====================================
    System specs:

    Core i7-870
    4 GB Ram
    Radeon HD 4980 2 GB
    Realtek HD Audio
    Windows XP SP 3
    All drivers and Windows is updated.
    Screen 1: 2560x1440 (Playing on this screen)
    Screen 2: 1920x1200
     
  2. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    This seems to be a known problem for PCs trying to run the game at 2560 x ????. For example, see this thread at the 2K forum. You might try running at a lower resolution (under Video options from Options in the main menu). You also might want to try this workaround, but I have no idea if it works. By the way, looking at other posts here, it seems that the iMacs can run the game at this resolution. I'll add this to our bug list.

    Moderator Action: Moved to the Confirmed Bugs forum.
     
  3. BlindZenDriver

    BlindZenDriver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Thank you very much for the feedback :thumbsup:

    I followed the links you posted and also tried using a lower resolution and I can report the following:

    • The thread on 2560x???? at 2K forums seems to be about a different issue but it was worth a try.
    • I tried running the game in 1920x1080 and the issue of the grey background went away. Unfortunately it's not a very good solution for a 27" screen. Still worth a look and it did tell something more about the issue which should help finding a solution.
    • I tried the possible fix except I'm in DX9 mode so I manipulated the DX9-settings file. I got the effects with regards to slower loading and stuff mentioned in the workaround but unfortunately it did not fix the problem.

    I have a friend who runs the game in 2560x1600 DX11 mode and I'll have him test in DX9 asap. His machine is totally different though so it may not tell us much(Me: XP and ATI GPU, him Win7 and Nvidia).


    For the sake of complete documentation I have added my DXDIAG info.

    DXDIAG (General and display part):
    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 11/3/2010, 00:22:10
    Machine name: THESHEEP
    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.100427-1636)
    Language: Danish (Regional Setting: Danish)
    System Manufacturer: GBT___
    System Model: GBTUACPI
    BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 870 @ 2.93GHz (8 CPUs)
    Memory: 3580MB RAM
    Page File: 989MB used, 4470MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.5512 32bit Unicode

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor (0x9460)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9460&SUBSYS_E118174B&REV_00
    Display Memory: 2048.0 MB
    Current Mode: 2560 x 1440 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Plug and Play-skærm
    Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
    Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.7131 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 9/11/2010 02:42:48, 300544 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
    VDD: I/T
    Mini VDD: ati2mtag.sys
    Mini VDD Date: 9/11/2010 03:19:16, 5417472 bytes
    Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-D720-11CF-206F-12C1A1C2CB35}
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x9460
    SubSys ID: 0xE118174B
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D
    Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {3C5323C1-6FB7-44F5-9081-056BF2EE449D}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    Registry: OK
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled
    DDraw Test Result: All tests were successful.
    D3D7 Test Result: All tests were successful.
    D3D8 Test Result: All tests were successful.
    D3D9 Test Result: All tests were successful.

    Card name: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor (0x9460)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9460&SUBSYS_E118174B&REV_00
    Display Memory: 2048.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1920 x 1200 (16 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Plug and Play-skærm
    Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
    Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.7131 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 9/11/2010 02:42:48, 300544 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
    VDD: I/T
    Mini VDD: ati2mtag.sys
    Mini VDD Date: 9/11/2010 03:19:16, 5417472 bytes
    Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-D720-11CF-206F-12C1A1C2CB35}
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x9460
    SubSys ID: 0xE118174B
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D
    Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {3C5323C1-6FB7-44F5-9081-056BF2EE449D}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    Registry: OK
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled
    DDraw Test Result: All tests were successful.
    D3D7 Test Result: All tests were successful.
    D3D8 Test Result: All tests were successful.
    D3D9 Test Result: All tests were successful.
     
  4. digitalhen

    digitalhen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Seeing the same problem here, and I'm running it natively on the Mac (in OS X).
     
  5. drummermcjohn

    drummermcjohn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    I seem a little late on this one but I also get this problem on my 27" iMac with i7 and radeon 5770. Any fixes to this so far? The game runs fine on the 1920x1080 resolution but it doesn't look half as good as the 2560x1440 resolution (for the 4/5ths of the screen I can actually see).
     
  6. da96mdn

    da96mdn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I have the same problem on a new iMac 27", i7 on the resolution 2560x1440, tried that workaround when editing the ini file, but it didn't work.
     
  7. BlindZenDriver

    BlindZenDriver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    No new ideas here. At one time I did notice that setting all the in-game graphics options to a minimum made the grey area take up much more of the screen, so maybe there is something to be found there.

    It's interesting the problem is both on Windows and OS X. This tells me it's likely a simple programming error in the game, like say there is a few places where the game sets it self up to the screen resolution and in one of those spots 2560x1440 is simply not handled right. I'm guessing we are "lucky" the game does run (until those &#%&""### late game crashes that is).
     
  8. tx00824

    tx00824 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    BlindZenDriver, did you find out the solution to this bug??
     
  9. BlindZenDriver

    BlindZenDriver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    No solution. I have of course posted about this on the 2K foum (repeatedly but to no avail). I think it should be a fairly easy fix for the programmers as I expect it's simply some resource allocation calculations that do not take the resolution into account.

    I made one interesting observation while trying out all sorts of settings in the game. As it turns out when setting the video option "Overlay details" to "Low" the grey area is not the 1/5 of the screen on the right but more like 3/5 on the right and the 1/3 from the lowest part. In other words with "Overlay details" at "Low" and a screen resolution of 2560x1440 the world is only rendered in a box on the upper left about 1/3 of the whole screen area.
     
  10. wneubert

    wneubert Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    The workaround posted here did not work for me either. I figure since the game has been out so long this would be fixed by now and I'm just missing it.

    BlindZenDriver, I had the EXACT experience you did in fooling with it, including changing the settings so I got only the upper left 1/3.

    I just updated to ATI 11.8, which of course didn't help.
     
  11. BlindZenDriver

    BlindZenDriver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Thank you for letting me know. One question - what Windows version are you running? And what DirectX?

    I'm guessing we will never see this fixed but please do post about on the 2K forum anyway. At the very least it may warn others about this problem.
     
  12. wneubert

    wneubert Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    The problem is happening on Windows XP SP3. Directx 9 is the only one supported.

    I would like to think that Windows 7 would at least solve this problem but it looks like this problem can occur with any version, so I don't even have the option of waiting till I upgrade to a new machine and get that.

    What is funny is that Total Annilihation will run perfectly at 2560x1600 and it came out it 1997 and the company went under and the last patch ever was before 2000, and here we are in 2011 and a AAA game fails to support it. It ought to be scaling support so that it can run any size Windows drivers can support, even future standards like 2160p.

    Where do you post on 2k forums?
     
  13. BlindZenDriver

    BlindZenDriver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    I have posted here http://forums.2kgames.com/forumdisplay.php?86-Civilization-V-Support and here http://forums.2kgames.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?74-Civilization-V-General-Discussion and especially on the later one there has been lots of discussions on the many errors in Civ V.

    Compared to the AI problems and the issues keeping people from completing games(I have those also) what we have is small stuff but a fix really should be easy. I'm betting there is simply an error in how some resource is to be allocated and that the problem would light up like a Christmas tree on a debugger.
     
  14. Xink

    Xink King

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    Earth, for now
    I had not realised that this bug occurred, or was still present. However after getting my 27" monitor at 2560x1440 I was pretty miffed to find that it would give me these issues...

    http://forums.2kgames.com/showthread.php?125241-Graphics-corruption

    Hi


    I am experiencing some strange graphics corruption which can happen within minutes of playing...


    Spoiler :





    This was happening with the G&K install so I decided that it was time for a fresh install of Win 7x64.


    So PC Specs...


    3570k ran at 4.4Ghz (tried at std no difference)
    Corsair 8GB DDR 3 PC12800 RAM no overclock
    Asus Direct CU II 670 GTX no overclock
    2560x1440 resolution.
    304.79 NVidia drivers
    850 watt Corsair HX PSU.
    Gigabyte Z77 D3H board.
    SSD for OS and separate one for the game.
    All drivers up to date no issues within device manager.


    DX Diag...
    http://pastebin.com/LtEPyijp


    Using the Direct X 11 option. New install of game. Eye candy settings on high except tessellation set to low. Changing those does not seem to make a difference.


    Logging the system information and heat is not an issue. The GPU temp gets to around 65c at the very max. CPU temp on max is around 70c, 35c below TJ Max.


    When looping Heaven DX11 Benchmark 3.0 or Furmark all is well with no corruption at all. Playing other games and all is well.

    PC is Prime stable, memtest stable and loops IntelBurnTest fine.

    FWIW I do not know why but the Direct X 9 option (installed Direct X June 2010) will be corrupted from the start.

    Erased the games cache and allowed it to rebuild its options within the "My Games" subfolder.

    Info Addict and RED modpack used - both new installs of latest version. Next to try is a fresh game without those two. But the Direct X 9 option will be corrupted from the start with neither of those mods used.

    I might be tempted to erase the game and download it again from Steam.

    I did download the entire game again but the only thing which helps is to lower the resolution to 1920x1080. When that is done the game plays perfectly well and I can even run it under the Direct X 9 option if I wish.

    So 2560x1440 is a big no for me and sadly everything does look really big at the lower resolution on a 27" monitor.

    Annoyingly this was the game I was really looking forward to when I upgraded my PC.
     
  15. BlindZenDriver

    BlindZenDriver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    21

    I'm sad and annoyed to see there are still issues like this. It may not be the most common monitor resolution but more and more have this - and if they are still using that "solution" on the 27" iMac's I would VERY upset if I was Apple.

    Personally I longer have the issue but apparently that is more blind luck than thx to the game developers. The problem went away for me, along with the crash issue I was also suffering from, but only due to some major upgrading.

    I went from this:

    XP
    Radeon 4890 2 GB
    DirectX 9

    to this:

    Windows 8 Public pre-release trial.... or beta if you don't use PR terms.
    Radeon HD 7970
    DirectX 11

    which essentially means it's a whole different system.

    I don't know if the problem would be back on my system with Gods&Kings. Also from your screenshot and description what you're seeing is somewhat different, but it is clear it really come down to the game not handling 2560x1440 as it should so it means the developers really ought to fix the issue.

    I have not had a Nvidia graphics for some generations now but if I'm correct they do have some sort of "official" beta drivers one can try, maybe that will make a difference.

    Also if you're up to experimenting you could give Windows 8 a go. I would think one can still download the free "beta" and if it's like the one I have it won't run out till early in the new year. Dual booting Win8 and another OS is possible and supported by the Win8 install, but make a backup before you try that (especially if you wanna dual boot from different physical drives as that did not work for me - it killed my XP partition).


    I'm planning to get Gods&Kings at some time, but after 2K selling a beta of CivV rather than completing the game before release that won't be till G&K is found really cheap in a bargain bin.


    PS. Maybe you can go 1920x1200 rather than 1920x1080. It's not a solution but at least it is a little more pixels so it may be worth a try.
     
  16. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,938
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
  17. Xink

    Xink King

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    Earth, for now
    @The_J - I have applied that possible fix so I will see how it goes on, thanks for that.

    @BlindZenDriver - I understand that my issue is a variation of what you had as an issue but I could never understand why the Direct X 9 version simply would no longer work, which just so happened to coincide with my new monitor. Now, if I should need it, it works fine as long as I use 1920x1080. If I do use the 2560x1440 resolution the game loads but as soon as I move the mouse it smears all the yield graphics etc all over the screen, it is totally unplayable. Drop down one resolution and it is perfect.

    Unlike what some people were having with the 2560x1440 resolution and Direct X 11 I had a full screen but the terrain graphics will just vanish.

    I am hopeful that the possible fix might offer help but I posted what I did over at the 2k forum to raise the profile of such a long standing issue with a less than elegant solution, especially for the Mac owners with the 27" monitors.
     

Share This Page