1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

2nd UU & 2nd UB

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall Modmods' started by merijn_v1, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    here are my thoughts on the UUs:
    Spoiler :
    You should rename English Longbow to Yeoman

    a hoplite is just someone fighting in phalanx formation

    for mali, a Sofa (slave soldier) would be better IMO, with a bonus to attacks against cities and siege

    I suppose a boyar is acceptable for russia, but I would prefer a Streltsy (Musketman with bonus to city attack)

    For Carthage, you could name the unit an Atlas Elephant, which is one of the species they used.

    For Celtia, you could name the unit Carpentom, which may have been what the celts called them.

    Since most units cant enter jungle, part of the Phakaks bonus is useless.
     
  2. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Thanks for your comments. But I disagree with some:
    1. Ok. But "Yeoman Archer" is even better than "Yeoman", because yeoman isn't neccessarily the person that handles the bow.
    2. I know. I could change the name, but I also could change it into: Slinger (archer), Hypatist (swordsman) or Companion Cavalry (horse archer). But I prefer to keep this one and change the name.
    3. I keep the Trade Caravan. It combines the UU with their UHVs very good IMO.
    4. Funny. I wanted to ask everyone what they think of that. You were just earlier to propose it. (But I don't know some unique features of it. And should it replace the Musketman or the Rifleman. I suppose the last)
    5. In this case, I also should rename the Brave (native america) into Mustangs etc. I keep the name as it is.
    6. I'll change it.
    7. How do you mean? If they were any other type, you would have the same problem. And they only have first strike immunity right know. So I don't know which bonus would be useless. But I need a good feature, so if you have one, please say it.
     
  3. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    On the Streltsy: It should be a musketman, because Strelets used early firearms like arquebuses, not rifles. I suggested a city attack bonus because of this part of the wiki article:


    For 5, I mean that the name Carthaginian War Elephant replacing War Elephant seems kind of dull (especially because the game appends the adjective to the name when in combat anyways).

    For 7, i mean that since most units cant enter jungle, they cant really defend in jungle. Or was that only in the text?
     
  4. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I made the Streltsy replace the Musketman with +25% city attack and minor collateral damage.

    Which text? Do you mean in the Civilopedia? If yes, how do you get those texts? I only got the "Pedia" text and not the strategy. And yes, it only says it in the text if so.
     
  5. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ah. I actually opened the text files.

    For the Streltsy, there is a unit on the site, but its basically just a Janissary reskinned to have a red uniform.
     
  6. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I know. I'm already using it.
     
  7. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    V0.2 of the 2nd UU modcomp is up! Grab it from the 1st post. For the changes, see the changelog on the 1st post.

    Important note: It's now for RFCMarathon. It won't work for RFC anymore.
     
  8. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    Rename Streltsy to Strelets (that's the singular)
     
  9. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    EDIT: corovanrobbet is correct; Strelet is the singular. Odd. I always thought it was the other way around.
     
  10. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Poland
    It's not English, words ending with "s" are seldom plural :p Especially it ends wit "ts"
     
  11. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I named them Strelets first, but when mechaerik introduced them (although I would have done it myself if he hadn't), I thought they were called so. When I looked at wikipedia, the were called Streltsy. But I'll rename them to Strelets if you want that.

    (Actually, I call them Strelets myself, instead of Streltes, but again I thought that term was the official one.)
     
  12. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Currenlty, I'm trying to make the 2nd UB working properly. (And change some things to your suggestions) But I have some problems.

    1. Lone Wolf suggested the "Temple of the Sun" for the Incan 2nd UB. I found these options. Please pick your favorite. (If you found a better one, please give me the link)
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=7331
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=4390

    2.
    The Main Problem
    I don't know how it comes, but the 2nd UB's are acting if they are embassies. (except the German Rathaus and Babylonian Garden) This means you can't build your own 2nd UB. (Obvious, who would build a building that keep contact with themselves) Unfortunately, I don't know how to fix this. Could someone please help me? See the screenshot for more info.
     
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,128
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Did you update the Consts.py file according to your added buildings and units?

    In case you're not familiar with it, that file declares a lot of constants by which the Python code can access buildings etc. In vanilla RFC it should look like this:

    Code:
    [...]
    iUnitedNations = 140
    iSpaceElevator = 141
    iMilitaryAcademy = 142
    iArtemis = 143
    iSankore = 144
    iGreatWall = 145
    iStatueOfZeus = 146
    iMausoleumOfMaussollos = 147
    iCristoRedentor = 148
    iShwedagonPaya = 149
    iMoaiStatues = 150
    iCorporation1 = 151
    iCorporation2 = 152
    iCorporation3 = 153
    iCorporation4 = 154
    iCorporation5 = 155
    iCorporation6 = 156
    iCorporation7 = 157
    iApostolicPalace = 158
    iLeaningTower = 159
    iOlympicPark = 160
    
    iNumBuildings = 161 
    iPlague = 161
    iNumBuildingsPlague = 162
    
    iEgyEmbassy = 162
    iIndEmbassy = 163
    iChiEmbassy = 164
    iBabEmbassy = 165
    iGreEmbassy = 166
    iPerEmbassy = 167
    iCarEmbassy = 168
    iRomEmbassy = 169
    iJapEmbassy = 170
    iEthEmbassy = 171
    iMayEmbassy = 172
    iVikEmbassy = 173
    iAraEmbassy = 174
    iKhmEmbassy = 175
    iSpaEmbassy = 176
    iFraEmbassy = 177
    iEngEmbassy = 178
    iGerEmbassy = 179
    iRusEmbassy = 180
    iHolEmbassy = 181
    iMalEmbassy = 182
    iPorEmbassy = 183
    iIncEmbassy = 184
    iMonEmbassy = 185
    iAztEmbassy = 186
    iTurEmbassy = 187
    iAmeEmbassy = 188
    
    iNumBuildingsEmbassy = 189
    The numbers after each variable are the numbers of their buildings' entries in Civ4BuildingInfos.xml. So if you add a new building in the middle of the XML file, the numbers of all buildings below it have to increase by one. I strongly advise to put all new buildings right above the "plague" building (after Olympic park in this case), and increase all numbers below it by one (that includes "iNumBuildings", "iNumBuildingsPlague" and "iNumBuildingsEmbassy").
     
  14. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Yes, I updated it. (I even use the consts.py from your modmod to see how it is done when I included more buildings)

    EDIT: This is how it looks now.
    Code:
    iMoaiStatues = 150
    iCorporation1 = 151
    iCorporation2 = 152
    iCorporation3 = 153
    iCorporation4 = 154
    iCorporation5 = 155
    iCorporation6 = 156
    iCorporation7 = 157
    iApostolicPalace = 158
    iLeaningTower = 159
    iOlympicPark = 160
    iAmericanWildWestBank = 161
    iArabianNomadicSheepFarm = 162
    iAztecVenusTemple = 163
    iCarthageShipyard = 164
    iChineseFamilyAltar = 165
    iNetherlandsMolen = 166
    iEgyptianKu****ePyramid = 167
    iEnglishDungeon = 168
    iEthiopianGroupRanche = 169
    iFrenchChateau = 170
    iGreekAgora = 171
    iIncaNazcaLines = 172
    iIndianVedas = 173
    iJapaneseGeishaHouse = 174
    iKhmerSpiceStock = 175
    iMaliCaravanHouse = 176
    iMayaStoneHead = 177
    iMongolYurt = 178
    iPersianShalimarGarden = 179
    iPortugalExplorerHouse = 180
    iRomanCastra = 181
    iRussianKremlin = 182
    iSpanishTauromaquia = 183
    iOttomanBazaar = 184
    iVikingStoreHouse = 185
    
    iNumBuildings = 186
    iPlague = 186
    iNumBuildingsPlague = 187
    
    iEgyEmbassy = 187
    iIndEmbassy = 188
    iChiEmbassy = 189
    iBabEmbassy = 190
    iGreEmbassy = 191
    iPerEmbassy = 192
    iCarEmbassy = 193
    iRomEmbassy = 194
    iJapEmbassy = 195
    iEthEmbassy = 196
    iMayEmbassy = 197
    iVikEmbassy = 198
    iAraEmbassy = 199
    iKhmEmbassy = 200
    iSpaEmbassy = 201
    iFraEmbassy = 202
    iEngEmbassy = 203
    iGerEmbassy = 204
    iRusEmbassy = 205
    iHolEmbassy = 206
    iMalEmbassy = 207
    iPorEmbassy = 208
    iIncEmbassy = 209
    iMonEmbassy = 210
    iAztEmbassy = 211
    iTurEmbassy = 212
    iAmeEmbassy = 213
    
    iNumBuildingsEmbassy = 214
    
     
  15. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,128
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Then it's odd. A similar constant declaration also exists in the DLL (CvRhyes.h), but IIRC I was able to add new buildings without problems before I even started to edit the DLL.

    Did you test if it's maybe just a display issue? That the embassies still act as embassies, but your new UBs only have the wrong tooltip?
     
  16. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I didn't fully tested them. I only tested if I was able to build the 2nd UBs. (But I wasn't)
     
  17. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    Strange. I just added Kremlin as a new Russian UB, fit just above plague and everything under it plused by one. Lo and behold, Kremlin could be constructed with ease. First time that's happened.
    (Though to be honest, it used Citadel's graphics i.e. something already existing. Maybe your art files should be in the same order as in BuildingInfo files as well?)

    It doesn't seem to affect the embassies in any way or display Plague in Civilopedia, so that might be it. I'll post if there's something wrong with the embassies.

    EDIT: It DOES affect the embassies. After WB'ing a Great Spy to infiltrate China in 600 AD start, I could build only an Indian Embassy. So, what now?
     
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,128
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Bad news everyone!

    It's determined in the DLL if an embassy can be built (i.e. if you have contact and the required espionage points), which means you have to tell the DLL the building IDs, which means you need a compiler to make it work :(
     
  19. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    !@^#%^*&%$*#&^#*& :mad::mad::mad:

    I can't do that myself. Someone has to do it for me, otherwise this modcomp won't be playable.
     
  20. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,128
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    If the modmod is based on the latest version of RFCM, send me your Consts.py file and I'll translate it into the respective GameCoreDLL.

    Just make sure you have added all the buildings you want, because repeating this would get tedious ;)
     

Share This Page