1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Acularius' GEM for Caveman2Cosmos

Discussion in 'Maps & Scenarios' started by Acularius, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. chueche

    chueche Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    It is strange, i have SVN. When i copy the new maps inside, then after start it is fall out from game.
    When i look the maps with SVN then they have "?". What i can do?
     
  2. Acularius

    Acularius King

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I recommend this program in the attachment.
    I use it as a clean sweep, then I proceed to add civs through the text editor.

    As for the Nomad start, that is not my area of expertise at all, I just play around with the Giant Earth Map.

    As for a Europe cut out, that would be a LOT of work. I don't see myself having any time for that soon. Personally I wouldn't mind an Eurasia map getting ze touch ups.
    Maybe someone will champion the Europe cutout map.

    Can you be a little more specific, I don't really understand the nature of the question other than a possible CTD.
    First I would check 'properties' of the C2C SVN folder and make sure it is at LEAST 2959, or the last update that added in the Uzbek and Xiongnu civs.

    As far as I understand, you have a CTD on trying to load the map, and the SVN reads it as a different file.
    I would recommend extracting the files outside of the folder, tacking on a random number (like 06242012) and then cut and paste them into your 'privatemap' folder of the C2C SVN folder.
    [You could also rename them entirely as 'JOEBOB 50 CIVS' or so on and so forth]

    The above directions should solve your problems, if you continue to have further problems. Drop by with more questions, I'll do my best to answer them.
    Also, what civilization are you choosing?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. RidetheSpiral23

    RidetheSpiral23 C2C Map Team

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Thank you that will probably make me a lot less frustrated when working on that map! There is no easy way to just cut-out the appropriate section of the GEM map? Sorry, I thought it was possible I just don't understand how it is done.

    About nomad, I was just very interested in that. Hopefully some one will have some information for me. I just think it would really help the issue of the Standard map not having enough space for each civ to start.
     
  4. Acularius

    Acularius King

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada

    As far as I know, they are working on 'Multimaps' and then they will move on to Nomad, or they are working on both and I'm a confused man. :p

    Edit: I can't figure out why the Yue Civ does not work. I see it settled, I just don't know how I can get to play it. XD
     
  5. philipschall

    philipschall Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks acu for including all my changes. Once supply limits and nomad start are integrated, this will truly be the best map of CIV4.
     
  6. Acularius

    Acularius King

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I shall (not because philip manged to post before me) spam, but I swear in my GEM game I have going I have volcanoes just spawning and destroying resources at will...

    Playing Rome, but I've had my iron destroyed (replaced by obsidian), some other resource (replaced by rocky terrain and obsidian, and my coastal fish spot... was... you guessed it, replaced by a volcano.)

    Well... Rome is no longer a coastal city now.


    Is there a way to have volcanoes optional like storms? This is getting silly.

    @Philip
    The work was already done, so I figure I would just put them in. I tried to keep tabs on which were what you originally placed.
     
  7. RidetheSpiral23

    RidetheSpiral23 C2C Map Team

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Quick question, where about did you place the Goth civilization and the Maori?
     
  8. Acularius

    Acularius King

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Goths are not in it as far I as I can recall and I believe I put the Maori on New Guinea (Felt they would fare better there than on New Zealand, greater chance of expanding into the spice islands at least.
     
  9. RidetheSpiral23

    RidetheSpiral23 C2C Map Team

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Okay cool thank you. Would you have any opinions on where the Goths would go?
     
  10. Acularius

    Acularius King

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well, they came through Europe as a Migratory people, so you could theoretically place them anywhere along their expansion path although http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goth would help you out... generally anywhere from Poland to Hungary from what I can tell.
     
  11. philipschall

    philipschall Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Yeah, I just started up a game and within 40 turns 6 civs have had volcanoes spawn within their borders. I agree, ridiculous.
     
  12. Acularius

    Acularius King

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well, I haven't looked, but I would imagine if I looked around the world at the moment I would assure you that every civilization would have its own personal volcano.
    Which may work in the more active regions of the world, but as a resident of Ontario, which is pretty geographically stable... simply ridiculous in some cases.
     
  13. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Close to it, about 85% do, and since ori is gone for 3-4 weeks, i might have to take a look at it?
     
  14. Acularius

    Acularius King

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yeah, sorry about that, I just kind of thought it was a wee bit ridiculous as it currently was.
    Not that I don't mind the mechanic I just thought it was just a wee bit overkill as it was currently.

    Personally, (after reading the SVN update) see how the spawning event of the Volcano was reduced to 25 (?) and maybe increase the event to make the volcano 'dormant'.
    While increasing the time it takes for it to completely disappear.
    Dormant volcanoes would have a higher chance of erupting.

    Thanks, nonetheless, for the prompt response on the SVN. :goodjob:

    I'll see how it pans out when I return from work tonight. (To play an hour or so, before I go to sleep. )


    I also want to attempt a "Let's play" with the GEM scenario, what would be a good speed to play at? I tend to play on Eternity but that might be too slow until I reach the classical era.
     
  15. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    IMO eternity would be fine. The let's play doesn't have to be blow by blow of every turn - you can always edit to the key turns and events.
     
  16. RidetheSpiral23

    RidetheSpiral23 C2C Map Team

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    @Acularius

    Slightly confused by that worldbuilder cleaner. Ran it on a .wbs and it just caused everyone to be in contact. Any idea what I am doing wrong?
     
  17. Acularius

    Acularius King

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I use it to clean out all the units.

    Then I proceed to take a game. ((just myself paying on mastery for example))
    Take the code, paste it in.

    For 50 civs, I'll save you the process, cut out the old beginteam/endteam part and past in the code below.

    Spoiler :
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=0
    ContactWithTeam=0
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=1
    ContactWithTeam=1
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=2
    ContactWithTeam=2
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=3
    ContactWithTeam=3
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=4
    ContactWithTeam=4
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=5
    ContactWithTeam=5
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=6
    ContactWithTeam=6
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=7
    ContactWithTeam=7
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=8
    ContactWithTeam=8
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=9
    ContactWithTeam=9
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=10
    ContactWithTeam=10
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=11
    ContactWithTeam=11
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=12
    ContactWithTeam=12
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=13
    ContactWithTeam=13
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=14
    ContactWithTeam=14
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=15
    ContactWithTeam=15
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=16
    ContactWithTeam=16
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=17
    ContactWithTeam=17
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=18
    ContactWithTeam=18
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=19
    ContactWithTeam=19
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=20
    ContactWithTeam=20
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=21
    ContactWithTeam=21
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=22
    ContactWithTeam=22
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=23
    ContactWithTeam=23
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=24
    ContactWithTeam=24
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=25
    ContactWithTeam=25
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=26
    ContactWithTeam=26
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=27
    ContactWithTeam=27
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=28
    ContactWithTeam=28
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=29
    ContactWithTeam=29
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=30
    ContactWithTeam=30
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=31
    ContactWithTeam=31
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=32
    ContactWithTeam=32
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=33
    ContactWithTeam=33
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=34
    ContactWithTeam=34
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=35
    ContactWithTeam=35
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=36
    ContactWithTeam=36
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=37
    ContactWithTeam=37
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=38
    ContactWithTeam=38
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=39
    ContactWithTeam=39
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=40
    ContactWithTeam=40
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=41
    ContactWithTeam=41
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=42
    ContactWithTeam=42
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=43
    ContactWithTeam=43
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=44
    ContactWithTeam=44
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=45
    ContactWithTeam=45
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=46
    ContactWithTeam=46
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=47
    ContactWithTeam=47
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=48
    ContactWithTeam=48
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam
    BeginTeam
    TeamID=49
    ContactWithTeam=49
    RevealMap=0
    EndTeam


    I'm assuming you have the start position figured out so I would go into dealing with the 'beginplayer/endplayer'.
     
  18. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,675
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Started a new game on the new GEM map as Siam and it really is a work of art :worship:
    Looks bloody awesome :goodjob:

    --only gripe is this pesky volcano that spawned in the tile next to my capital and has destroyed 2 of my rice patties, elephant camp and seed camp 5 times!
    Nothing to do with the map of course. After the 5th time I rage world editor and deleted it and quit :lol:
    *betcha ori did it as a lark ;) ..Have fun guys im off for a few weeks :smoke:
     
  19. Acularius

    Acularius King

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Actually I'm pretty sure the volcano is bugged as it is at the moment. IT should only spawn on obsidian and sulphur resource whereas I know this is not the case. Siam for example is pretty surrounded by exisiting resources, so I'm pretty sure it destroyed a resource that is neither obsidian or sulphur.

    As for the volcano destroying improvements. I think it sucks, but I'll accept it as Siam as it is within the area of the 'Ring of Fire'. Makes the game interesting.
     
  20. DRJ

    DRJ Hedonist

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    yeah the stupid vulcano overreaction destroyed my game as Tibet as well.

    So I can't start another game as long as this persists --- or how can you disable volcano-events manually?

    A "tectonic" bug-option would be fine btw. maybe having choices of high, middle or low vulcanic activity, much like the units-per-tile-option.


    EDIT: btw my game crashed several times trying to start as the YUE --- however, when starting as Tibet, I think they were in the game. (SVN of the day before yesterday)
     

Share This Page