Alternative Civ2 style railroads

Soufie77

Chieftain
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
50
With the release of Conquests, I'd like to upload the final version of this graphics mod, which is basically a pixel level tweak of previous versions.

This is now the definitive railroad modification for me, as it seems the clearest and least obtrusive rendition of straight-type railroads and integrates relatively effectively with the original civ3 art. Although some would argue that these new graphics are far too linear and simplistic, I propose that it's just a matter of deprogramming those hideous clunky default graphics out of your head. Try it out - it just may grow on you! :)
 

Attachments

  • railroads.zip
    11.6 KB · Views: 989

Soufie77

Chieftain
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
50
Unzip and copy railroad.pcx to the art/terrain subdirectory of your main civ3 folder
 

Soufie77

Chieftain
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
50
Sample image: early modern era
 

Attachments

  • image2.jpg
    image2.jpg
    81 KB · Views: 3,578

Japes

Chieftain
Joined
Jan 9, 2002
Messages
14
Location
Iowa USA
What is the name of the file I need to overwrite in the terrain directory?
The file I downloaded is just called civ2 railroads.
 

Danners

Chieftain
Joined
Aug 29, 2002
Messages
29
railroad.pcx
 

kring

Asst Cook & Bottle Washer
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
1,199
Location
Wichita,KS,USA
I like it. Glad to see it updated. It is easier on my eyes.
 

Soufie77

Chieftain
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
50
Glad you like it

I'm currently testing it with other modpacks. It seems to work especially well with Snoopy's terrain modpack for C3C (shown here), with the railroads running along the irrigation lattices.
 

Attachments

  • image1.jpg
    image1.jpg
    90.1 KB · Views: 2,578

spincrus

sol invictus
Joined
Dec 6, 2001
Messages
1,084
Location
Europe
Well it's actually good that you've bumped this thread. I like it, but after a while when the AI starts to do a checkboard formation of mines and irrigation, then it would start to get annoying, I would think.
 

Soufie77

Chieftain
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
50
Those AI idiosyncracies seem to affect any railroad graphics mod (or even the default set for that matter) to an equal degree. Personally I quite like the look of occasional mines interrupting the repeating railroad tiles, as shown above. Try the new graphics set on a modern era map and tell me what you think.
 

Ankka

Deity
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Messages
7,299
Yes, it was hard to see sometimes on what tiles it went, especially on edges...
 

Twonky

King
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
671
Location
Hannover, Germany
:bump: Knock, knock - hello?

I really like these railroads! But I´ve found a smallish glitch:


It only happens where a tile has rails on it and only the southern of the 8 surrounding tiles has rails on it, too.

I would be glad and quite surprised if someone could fix it. :)
 

Mirc

Not mIRC!!!
Joined
Jun 27, 2005
Messages
15,825
Location
Düsseldorf, ->Germany, E.U.
This thread has been bumped so many times...
I like the raliroads, although I prefer the original ones.

BTW, I didn't know Snoopy's terrain existed in 2002! I'm such a newbie!
 
Top Bottom