1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

An odd reason for declaring war

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by EQandcivfanatic, Feb 19, 2003.

  1. Klikka Tulling

    Klikka Tulling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Norway
    I declared war on the mongols because they where in the middle of me and the Iroquois. It just suited this way.

    I got a Korea and China to Join Me against the Iroquois and I used the cities I got from smashing the mongols to Build settlers.
    I used the settlers to put around the Iroquois cities that the Chineese and Koreans took.
    This gave me around 8 new cities when Korea and china got 2 each all suronded by my new cities thats making temples fast.
     
  2. SuperBeaverInc.

    SuperBeaverInc. Groucho

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,923
    Location:
    British Columbia
    I don't know why, but for some reason in every single game I play, I end up destroying the French just for the fun of it.:lol:
     
  3. Tireur isole

    Tireur isole Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Heh I think I can beat you all. Once I declaired war on my allie China because their mood changed from Gracious to Polite and I just couldn't figure out why.
     
  4. Emperor_Reynald

    Emperor_Reynald Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Stevenage, England
    I declared war on the americans because I had a bad encounter with them in a previous game. Another time I declared war on the Aztec simply for the fun of watching their riflemen squirm under my tanks. :evil:
     
  5. andrewgprv

    andrewgprv Second Class Citizen

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,539
    Location:
    Idaho Falls, USA
    :lol: :lol: :lol:

    Some of thease are classics!

    Whenever I play as Arabia I like to take out Spain. I think of it as revenge for those damn spanish taking the Iberian pennisula away from the Muslums in Real History.

    Also if I'm Iroquis I like to take out America for similar reasons.
     
  6. Gladiatorat

    Gladiatorat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    chicago
    you know what i really like. i like it when i destroy the enemy from the first war i declare. that is why i have been playing monarch for some time. cause i can have war as long as a want. well i that's how i destroyed the zulu, complitely anihilated them. all that is left is slaves. right now i have razed nearly 1/3 of persia, which is the second larges after me. well i still have some 20 cities to destroy but that would be fun too:) those *****es should have known better to declare war simply cause i was taking their territory with ustoppable culture:) well they are gonna pay:) the only thing that has spared the other civs is that they are on a continent that would currently take me more than 10 turns to reach. but i would soon have air ports:))
     
  7. zeeter

    zeeter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,250
    I declared war last night because the Chinese wouldn't give me Aluminum. It was stupid on their part. They didn't have rubber or oil, which I had. I was able to trade for twenty turns with someone else for aluminum and rebuilt my army during that time. Unfortunately for the Chinese, though, they never got the oil or rubber for their own MA. I knew it wouldn't be a long war because we were both in democracy and they were pretty far away, so I set my objectives modestly. I went after their smaller continent which, oddly enough, had an aluminum deposit. Their most significant military action was to send two carriers at me protected by one battleship each. Easy pickings for my bombers. Now I have aluminum, and all others - especially the Iroquois and Zulus who wanted to charge me 300 GP per turn plus 2000 GP for the metal - must fear me.
     
  8. kmad

    kmad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    909
    Location:
    Vancouver
    I always declare war on the Germans early cause they're a pest later in the game
     
  9. zeeter

    zeeter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,250
    This is Muhammed Saeed al-Sahaf, the Chinese Information minister. Zeeter was completely incorrect in his previous statement. The Romans are nowhere near china. They lay dead on the beaches of Rome as embarrassments to their children and their children's children. You can see what is obvious that the Romans are not in China. God willing, we still hold the vast aluminum deposits near New Beiging. The Romans were slaughtered in the city - if they were there at all, which they were not.
     
  10. sorky

    sorky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Nantes
    One day i needed a mine to make settler come with the +1 citizen of a milk city near the capital. A roman settler was near, with a spearman... I declare war and build the mine just in time :D
     
  11. lawguy

    lawguy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Once, the Iroquois attacked me early for no reason (after making some sort of outrageous demand). For some reason, I get really peeved when civs do this and I tend not to forgive them. I won a couple cities in a short war, and gradually relations improved. By 1900, the Iroquois were gracious toward me, and I managed to get a couple techs for gold per turn. Little did they know I was still nursing a 4000 year old grudge...I negotiated RoP, surrounded their cities, and wiped them out in a few short turns. And was it worth the precipitous dive in reputation? Absolutely. ;)
     
  12. Alvin

    Alvin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    136
    I declared war once just to watch the A.Is fight in WW3, I just sent some ICBMs in to kill stacks in my terrotraiy? dunno/
     
  13. Bacon King

    Bacon King Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    I declare war because i'm going for a conquest victory........
     
  14. BigDork

    BigDork Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Ramstein GE
    Hi everybody....

    In my current game I'm about to declare war on Temujin and his Mongol horde because last game he got everyone on the continent into a war against me. But this game I have tanks and he doesn't.:slay:

    BigD
     
  15. Astorian

    Astorian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    By the Mersey
    I once declared war on the Egyptians because barbarians were passing through their territory to get to me and harrassing my cities, and the Egyptians were doing nothing about them. I thought of it as "harbouring terrorists"
     
  16. kaslks75

    kaslks75 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    I was playing the Americans and had no oil. Guess who the nearest civ was who had it? THE ARABS!! Sounds too close to real life for me!! ...went to war and took it from them. Right out of the Bush-Cheny playbook. :)
     
  17. Malta

    Malta Mediterranean Knight

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    I don´t recall any peculiar reasons for going to war, but I have several times considered declaring war unless "nation X" left my territory, only to discover that a unit moving around was my own. :)
     
  18. Rik Meleet

    Rik Meleet Top predator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    11,977
    Location:
    Nijmegen Netherlands
    I try to have a peaceful world so I tend to never wage war in the beginning. For some reason the AI then also never declares wars (or fewer wars at least). When I am strong enough I find a civ far away and gather allies close to that civ and declare war on them. If you have enough Allies and there are several MPP's in play the world is soon in total war, but my reputation still is fairly good. This way I am the only one really ready for war, I am not in danger of loosing cities, my rep is ok and I can safely pick out the civ's which declared war on me because of MPP's.
     
  19. superslug

    superslug Still hatin' on Khan Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    11,364
    Location:
    The Farm
    I like to kick Khan's teeth in just because they're ugly. His dentist should be ashamed.

    An odd reason for declaring war? Hmmm, that would probably be the last time I played the Aztecs. I was at war with EVERYBODY within 15 minutes of starting the game. All I did was build my one city and then pump out Jaguar Warriors. I didn't actually attack any cities, I just stole everyone's workers and murdered their scouts. Funny how far ahead I got in road building and techs...
     
  20. steviejay

    steviejay Now in Black and White!!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,343
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland

    hey, thats quite an original idea, I've not read that before. I'll need to try it tonight
     

Share This Page