1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Anno Domini Classic

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Rob (R8XFT), Mar 23, 2008.

  1. the Jack

    the Jack Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Turtle Island
    Anno Domini is back! I feel like it's my birthday!

    I played the original version of the mod on my last laptop and loved it, but between when I'd installed it and when I had to replace that computer, the creative team behind Anno Domini had taken the original version down to tweak it. And I was pretty busy last year and completely missed that it had finally been re-released until now. (On the upside, this means all (or hopefully at least most) of the bugs have already been found and fixed.

    I'm downloading it now, and will no doubt be spending time playing it this week, in between working on the mod I've been making for my fiancee (just a souped-up version of Rise and Rule tweaked to her play style), and playing a game we have running in the last stable version of that mod I did for her since we're sharing my computer at the moment. (Maybe, just maybe, I can tempt her into trying a game of AD with me...)

    Restricting the leaderheads to a single era is a great idea for reducing the size of the mod, and it's true that the second-era changes weren't hugely important to the enjoyment of the mod. I hope that the creative team has put the 2-era versions of those fantastic leaderhead animations back up somewhere -- or will consider doing so? -- for those of us who either would like to put them back in, want to use them in other mods, or both. Anno Domini has/had some of the very best female leader animations ever done for Civ 3. My fiancee and I (she was just my girlfriend the last time I posted here, so yeah, congratulations are in order) are always on the lookout for ways to get more ethnic and gender diversity into our Civ 3 experience, and Anno Domini's civilization/tribe choices went a long way towards letting us do that.

    On another note, with reference to people looking for a good Earth-based map to play Anno Domini on, IIRC The Ancient Mod comes with a couple of very nice ones, covering from the east coast of Ireland to the southern edge of the Sahara and at least as far east as Alexander's armies made it to -- nearly ideal for this mod. And the forums are full of people who can explain how to import rules from one scenario into a map from another, for those who haven't done that before.

    And now the first download is complete... two files to go before I can get playing!

    Thanks again to Rob, Hrafnkell and everyone else who put the time and work into making this incredible mod!

    (Sorry for all the !s, I promise I'm not 12, I'm just really excited that Anno Domini is back.)
     
  2. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    I'm pleased to hear that you're looking forward to playing the mod. Don't forget to download the updates (in the first post) as well. For the full experience, also download "A different dawn" which is an expansion pack and includes 8 new civs, including three Chinese ones.

    The "team" consists of.....me with a lot of suggestions and feedback from Hrafnkell, Blue Monkey and lots of others. Hrafnkell was working on a map over on the "different dawn" thread.

    Link to "a different dawn" thread

    Thanks as well, Blue Monkey, for helping others get started a few posts back ;).
     
  3. Zorglub

    Zorglub Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Hello Muzbang and R8XFT,

    Looks like a great mod but I have exactly the same error message and have not your expertise to correct the pedia file. Could you please let me know what the 2 lines required are and in which file/where to add these?

    Thanks!

    Zorglub
     
  4. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    First thing, this request for information is being posted here instead of the Mac Civ III forum because it involves finding a file. Because C3C for the Mac does things differently there are times when files aren't where the game looks for them. That is the problem in this case. The file the game can't find is "art\advisors\PE_all.pcx". The was another file---"art\advisors\AF_all.pcx"---missing, but I found that in the MEM directory.

    Herewith follows a list of the "_all.pcx" advisor files I currently have in the ADC directory:

    AF
    CL
    CT
    DH
    DM
    DU
    DL
    EL
    FD
    FR
    LI
    MA
    OF
    PA
    QI
    RD
    ZK
    FR

    Where might one find the _all.pcx advisor files that might be missing?
     
  5. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Went and downloaded fresh files and did a fresh install of the mod. This worked and soon I was trying the fantasia out. Most recently I was going great guns as the Jutes when there was a Pediaicon.txt error. Seems said txt file can't find "Aniname_PR_Celtiberian_Settler". The pertinent file has a creation date of 10/05/2008
     
  6. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Got A Different Dawn up and running. Was going great guns as the Etruscans when a file showed up missing. Namely, "Peltast\HopliteAttackAPike.wav". So I searched the hard drive and found the file in the Meditera directory. In the Anno Domina Classical directory, in Art/Units, I found a "HopliteAttackAPikex.wav" file. Are my suspicions currect and is pike in the latter case spelled incorrectly?
     
  7. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    All of the issues reported thus far have now been corrected and patch v2.01 is available in the first post of this thread. This includes the files for the Pericles leaderhead and files from the previous patches.

    The Hoplite files looked correct, but I have changed them in any case to different sound files, so it should work fine.

    I'm sorry it's taken so long to reply; I was moving house at the time of the above posts and didn't notice them until now.
     
  8. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Do the rooms keep moving on you?
     
  9. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Sorry, I don't understand what you mean...
     
  10. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Does the layout of the house keep changing?

    BTW, thanks for reminding me of a great mod. As the Anglo-Saxons I'm currently doing pretty good, and as of the 5th century BC had one Goth city flip in my favor.
     
  11. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    No, but the layout of the address has ;).

    Thanks for your interest. Currently, I'm playing as Iona in "A different dawn" and doing okay. I'm a peace-loving builder though and Offa of the Anglo-Saxons is on the next little landmass and has started demanding things....
     
  12. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Which reminds me, I seem to have spaced how to install A Different Dawn, could you help?

    For my part a second Goth city has just flipped, and the Harappans have gotten antsy over some boats. First time that has ever happened in a game. I'd worry if they were next door, but they're a continent away.
     
  13. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    Have you posted an appropriate notice in the DD thread, in case someone overlooks the one here?
     
  14. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    You need to download it to CivIII/Conquests, then "extract here". The mod will extract into the scenarios folder automatically.

    DO NOT confuse the above directory with CivIII/Conquests/Conquests.
     
  15. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Not on a Mac, there you have to do it by hand.

    BTW, on my machine the path is ... Documents/Civilization III Complete/Scenarios/Anno Domini Classic/ ... While some say it shouldn't work for me it does.
     
  16. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    In that case, extract it or copy it into Documents/Civilization III Complete
     
  17. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    That doesn't work properly. OSX is going to replace the whole folder, not selected contents as XP, etc. do.

    Moderator Action: And before anyone starts, no discussion of the merits of one OS or hardware design over another. Unless you want warnings / infractions.
     
  18. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    In that case, I'm not sure, as I've never used a Mac...maybe other Mac users can help? Sorry, but I really wasn't aware that it would not copy in the same way that a PC would.
     
  19. mythusmage

    mythusmage Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Done and did,once I downloaded it. It helps to download something you'd like to install. :D

    To address Blue Monkey's point, with the Mac when you replace one folder with another the contents of the older folder gets deleted. So if the new folder has only the INI file you lose all the files in the old folder.

    Since the Different Dawn download includes new files for ADC my recommendation is to extract to the desktop, then manually transfer the DD folder and BIQ to Documents/Civilization III Complete/Scenarios.
     
  20. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,879
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Hum, not a single screen shot to give us a little tease? No info on what the mod is about, other than the civs in it. I guess I will have to DL it cold.
     

Share This Page