1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Babylon Info

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by HG_CassiusA, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Lord Arska

    Lord Arska Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Finland
    Nebby looks so cool. Please tell me when someone uploads his diplomacy animations to YT.
    Babylon's unique bonuses are very nice too. Too bad I preordered the regular edition. :/
     
  2. anandus

    anandus Errorist

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,855
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    They'll probably make it available as a DLC later on.
     
  3. The_CatSnack

    The_CatSnack Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    This guy rocks! Love the green fire on either side of his throne :)
     
  4. homan1983

    homan1983 King

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    London
    sounds a bit stupid if u ask me.

    so basically you can get writing and use the free scientist to bulb philosophy and get the oracle for free, long before the egyptians and their +20% wonder will even begin to START the wonder...

    Whats more you get +100% great person (scientist) production for the rest of the game.

    Then there's the bowman that has the same melee str as a warrior and 8 ranged str...

    so you got a civ that has both military and scientific bonuses at the start, how is a civ like ottoman supposed to compete? 50% chance of 25gold and a galley? i mean its not even 100% just to add insult to injury...
     
  5. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    Keep in mind that the Bowman won't be able to attack, so you can't replace Warriors with Bowmen except on defense.
     
  6. JaeChunDaeSung

    JaeChunDaeSung Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Location:
    Korea
    As much as I often vie for Scientific victories or emphasize research, are Steam or D2D a better deal than the retail, just by virtue of having Babylonia?
     
  7. Lancor

    Lancor Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    Wasn't it clear that some people gonna complain about the first "alternate content"? :D
     
  8. Isntprepared

    Isntprepared Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Was there ever any confirmation that Babylon / extras will be available as DLC? I only got the regular version, and I'm suffering from buyer's remorse of a sort that I didn't get the deluxe ;)
     
  9. ichibang

    ichibang Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Firaxis would be smart enough to use this ways to get lots of cash.;)
     
  10. Ahriman

    Ahriman Tyrant

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    13,266
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    ?
    Why would you need to attack? Ranged attack works just fine on offense. Do you just mean for the last move to capture a city with zero hp? Are we really sure a ranged unit can't do that?

    The only advantage of a warrior is lower cost, but I can't see myself building any warriors if I had bowmen available.
    Also worth noting that bowmen are potentially better counters to chariot archers than spearmen.

    No.
     
  11. huserib

    huserib Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Hope so. I'm receiving the collector's edition, hopefully today if Amazon plays their part, as a birthday gift. Ozymandias be damned!

    Anyway, I don't think it comes with the DLC, which I'd really like more than the metal GDR, but I'll not look a gift horse in the mouth, so to speak.
     
  12. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Yes, we are very sure a ranged unit cannot do that. I've been avoiding speculation, but seeing as it's playable now.... Free to discuss what is actually in the game. :lol:
     
  13. tom2050

    tom2050 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    Well, if Babylon is not made available to everyone, it will be the first thing custom modded and distributed once the tools are available!
     
  14. Ahriman

    Ahriman Tyrant

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    13,266
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    So, you'd need one single warrior for city capture purposes.

    For every other warrior, you'd still be better off with a bowman.
    There is no reason why you can't use bowmen offensively.
     
  15. Feyd Rautha

    Feyd Rautha Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    BTW for a discussion of a 6 melee 8 ranged unit look at some of the stuff in the "Contemplations of Ghandi" or the "UU a day" threads when it comes to India's War Elephants. Basically they're the same unit.
     
  16. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Sure.... So long as you don't use the art used in the DLC, there. :p Lawyers would get on you if you distributed that for free.

    No so sure about that. From my experience, the Bowmen are squishy. One or two spearmen can route you. Keep at least a few melee units with them to protect them.

    Main reason being that if a unit comes up fast... They can't really do much about it other than sit there and let themselves be attacked. You'll get one shot off, and that generally isn't enough.
     
  17. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,047
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    We should be able to discuss whats publicly out now. From what I remember when I take a city it never gets to 0 hp but to 1 hp so you need a melee or mounted unit to take it. Its part of 1upt and makes you think of operating in unit teams instead one-man armies and SoDs. You gotta use tactics! :lol:
     
  18. homan1983

    homan1983 King

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    London
    sure they can't engage melee. But they can just move back 1 tile and then attack with 8 str.

    What I dont understand is why, if an archer at 4/7 was deemed too strong and hence nerfed to 4/6 did the bowman not go down to 6/7. I would still find that more than worth for a UU.

    I mean an immortal has +1 STR but it somehow seems so excessive that the cost is increased by 10 above the base spearman.

    Here we have a bowman with +2 melee and +2 range str and somehow it gets the pass. Do we need another civ4 rome that ruins the gameplay?

    Personally I'd rather not judge until I've tried it out... but it certainly raises some eyebrows.
     
  19. kattana

    kattana Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    from page 60 of the actual user manual

    any unit that has a ranged attack value, ONLY uses ranged attacks, so they cannot take cities, though they can drop them to 1hp so a warrior could take it then
     
  20. CoZe

    CoZe Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    hideously overpowered ability. congrats to firaxis for breaking their own game with the first extra content :lol:
     

Share This Page