1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BUG LIST] DoaNE bugs

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Dawn of A New Era' started by Isabelxxx, May 17, 2012.

  1. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    This thread will contain a compilation of all the known bugs as well as any discussion to fix them.

    Please report any bug in this thread so we can easily locate and fix it. Green bugs are already solved (in the next patch), red means unsolved yet.


    Known bugs for DoaNE 2.0:

    • Automated Exploration not working properly for the player.
    • Sailor (UNIT_SAILOR_EXPERT) can found a city.
    • Agronomist can found a city.
    • In some difficulty levels the AI is not getting a Colony Builder.
    • Illogical trade proposals when trading with the Natives.
    • Europe Cost when recruiting and unit display strange random values.
    • Maps given by Native Chiefs ("ask to speak with the chief") and goody huts are not stored, since they are not given to the unit.
    • Fur trapper doesn't work properly. The amount of fur given is not modified.
    • Native Raids are performed even when you defeat the native units.
    • Wrong graphics for all Native units & Marauder in Civilopedia.
    • Cristoforo_Colombo & Marco_Polo buttons with green borders. Wrong sizes in buttons.
    • Python exception when opening Europe Screen (0).
    • Expert Farmer working in the sea gives more food than Expert Fisherman.
    • Previously added new worldsize types were not being used by map scripts.
    • Python exception while creating the map in a new game due to missing worldsize types in the dll.
    • Interface.You can't choose a land unit group with ALT + Click when naval stay with the land stack.
    • You can't choose a unit group that already finished move.
    • Set Cannons and repair ships popups are not closed if you close the europe screen.
    • Set Cannons and repair ships popups appears multiple times if you click multiple times in the buttons of the Europe screens.
    • Found colony disabled while the ship is in a citiy.



    See next post for more details.
     
  2. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Detailed explanation of all the known bugs:

    1. Automated Exploration not working properly for the player (not sure for the AI): with the addition of maps the tiles are not revealed before returning the unit to a city. Automated exploration makes the units to go over and over again the same tiles because they are considered as not revealed...

      Possible workaround:
      Change the way Automated Exploration works. The unit should explore a few tiles and automatically return to a city, then explore again. That would make the explored tiles revealed and our unit could explore new lands.​

    2. Sailor can build colonies in any place without pack-builders. I'm currently working on it.

    3. Illogical trade proposals while trading with Natives. I offer 20 tools to natives and I ask for 20 food. Natives refuse it and ask me to give them 16 tools and they give me 20 food. They suggest to obtain less resources in the transaction?!!

    4. Wrong graphics for all Native units & Marauder in Civilopedia.



    5. Cristoforo_Colombo & other buttons with green borders



    6. Python exception when opening Europe Screen (0): Opening the 1st Europe Screen (docks) returned a python exception without major consequences in gameplay.

    7. Expert Farmer working in the sea gives more food than Expert Fisherman: Expert farmed need to have bSeaChanges=0 to Zero and Expert Fisherman needed to bLandChanges=0. Also, the bonus in food given is now fixed and not a percentage.



    8. Agronomist can found a city.



    9. In some difficulty levels the AI is not getting a Colony Builder.






    10. Europe Cost when recruiting and unit display strange random values.



    11. Native Raids are performed even when you defeat the native units.




    12. Fur trapper doesn't work properly. The amount of fur given is not modified.If you place an Expert Fur trapper in forest or tiles with fur bonus the amount of fur given doesn't change according to what you have set in the XML file. They never give +3 fur for ex, but only +1 or +0 (nothing). This also happens when working in a tile with fur bonus.

    13. Maps given by Native Chiefs ("ask to speak with the chief") and goody huts are not stored, since they are not given to the unit: The map is not given to the unit that asked to speak with the chief, therefore with the map system featured in the mod, that map is simply revealed the first turn and then it's lost forever. Returning the unit to a city will not count those tiles as explored.

    14. Previously added new worldsize types were not being used by map scripts: In previous versions 2 more worldsize types were added to map generation: WORLDSIZE_CONTINENTAL & WORLDSIZE_PLANETARY
      These were not really being used by the map script even if you selected them in the option screen.

    15. Python exception while creating the map in a new game due to missing worldsize types in the dll: In previous versions 2 more worldsize types were added to map generation: WORLDSIZE_CONTINENTAL & WORLDSIZE_PLANETARY
      These were not listed in the DLL as new worldsize types leading to python exceptions while creating the map.

    16. Interface.You can't choose a land unit group with ALT + Click when naval stay with the land stack.

    17. You can't choose a unit group that already finished move: You have to select a unit one by one.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Good idea! I think it's important to have this thread. Very useful!

    I think I fixed it, you can check with the git version I sent you. This is the last version of DoaNE, but you can't really play with it. I added debug elements useful for me but that makes the game unusable.
     
  4. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
  5. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    I think you uploaded the old DLL, it's not debug and it seems to work exactly as before:

    I propose 20 tools / 20 food and they counter-propose me 16 tools / 20 food. Still the same.




    They are natives, no fools ;)

    Also, this give me an idea I will explain you later.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    It is not an old dll, I corrected some bugs with the trade, but not this bug.
    A new task to add in asana :).
     
  7. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Oh... thank you M07. Take your time, don't worry.

    About this, I thought that apart from being fixed for ALL the natives we could create a new trait.

    "Fair trade"

    Native leader with this trait could still offer that "fair" counter-propose even when they could gain more with your 1st one...

    The rest should have the proper behavior.

    What do you think?
     
  8. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
  9. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    I have been tidying up the Art\Units\ folder so now each type of unit is clearly sorted according to a pattern. Then changing all the references in XML. You will see the result in the repository.

    While doing this I found 2 things:

    A bug in civilopedia graphics. In professions: Marauder & all native units are using dummy standard graphics. This is due to the use of Unit Art Styles specific for native tribes... so the unit itself has not a default skin in Civilopedia. About the Marauder, I'm not sure... there is a Marauder unit, a Marauder profession, but I don't see the problem.





    Dutch_East_India_Man & Maraudeur2 graphics folders are unused yet but added to the mod (?). No problem, I need the 1st for a new ship I created and the second will be useful too.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Fixed the bug in civilopedia graphics. Now all the professions without a default unit have an unit assigned. It's easier to implement than the python changes required to make Unit Art Styles work in civilopedia and the other Pedia Fix available in this forum.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Nice work Isabelxxx! Sorry, now I am working on my student project, so I don't have any time to consecrate me to the mod.
     
  12. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    @M07 & Dazio:
    Check in the repository the file Change-log DoaNE.pdf, there I'm explaining all the changes I have made up to now.
     
  13. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Fixed a bug in python files that provoked a python exception in game when opening the 1st Europe Screen (docks).

     
  14. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Fixed error that provoked Farmer giving more food than Fisherman when both were working in the sea.


     

    Attached Files:

  15. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Updated with the bugs of this thread

    I have tried to fix the Fur trapper bug, but the error doesn't seem to be in the XML (at least in the yield changes tag). Not sure if it's related to the DLL or the unit info has something wrong in other place...

    The Europe costs bug is related to the DLL.
     
  16. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Maps given by Native Chiefs ("ask to speak with the chief") and goody huts are not stored, since they are not given to the unit
     
  17. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Crash on start
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Previously added new worldsize types were not being used by map scripts: In previous versions 2 more worldsize types were added to map generation: WORLDSIZE_CONTINENTAL & WORLDSIZE_PLANETARY
    These were not really being used by the map script even if you selected them in the option screen.

    Python exception while creating the map in a new game due to missing worldsize types in the dll: In previous versions 2 more worldsize types were added to map generation: WORLDSIZE_CONTINENTAL & WORLDSIZE_PLANETARY
    These were not listed in the DLL as new worldsize types leading to python exceptions while creating the map.

    SOLVED.
     
  19. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Native Raids are performed even when you defeat the native units.



    Now no raid is performed in the city if the defender won the battle.

    SOLVED.
     
  20. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Fur trapper doesn't work properly. The amount of fur given is not modified.

    Solved.
     

Share This Page